We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Houston, right in downtown-convienent, close to convention center and GREEN.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 452 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay in Houston, right in downtown-convienent, close to convention center and GREEN.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was a great trip and staying at the hotel was nice- cute decor and nice people- who could ask for more. The Super Shuttle picked me up and dropped me off, eliminating the rental car hassle! Love Houston, so clean and GREEN!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    117
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
143
70
9
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Downtown Houston is pretty lame but this hotel was great if you at the George Brown Convention center. It is a block away and you walk through a lovely park to get there. The hotel is clean and super cute the way it is decorated. Kind of a modern theme with some country accents here and there like the white bathroom furniture and oddly shaped mirror. I will definitely stay again when I go to Houston for a convention.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Really fun decor, beautiful large modern rooms. Very clean. Breakfast was outstanding and the muffins may be the best muffins I have ever had. And they offer Diet Coke in to-go cups! (every other Embassy Suites uses cocktail glasses). Also, the breakfast stations were spread out so you were never waiting for people in front of you, even though they had a large crowd. Lots of seating also. Very comfortable. Front desk staff was terrific, polite and efficient. The only thing not great is that pulling up to the hotel, there is no room at all, you just stop on the street. But, I have to give credit to the Valet guys as they were fast and friendly and seemed to enjoy the challenge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Discovery Green Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Most hotels in downtown Houston seemed to have cancelled their airport shuttles - meaning you need to take a $50-60 cab each way or the SuperShuttle. Their hotel shuttle that goes thru downtown Houston was excellent. Nice ride in an Escalade wherever you wanted to go downtown. Saved on cab fare. This hotel is 2 years old and gave us everything we asked for. We used our Hilton points for a 3 night free stay and were treated with style and grace. We needed extra towels androbes - got them in minutes. We needed the sofa bed made up - got it fast. Grab bar in shower was loose - no problem. Fixed while we had breakfast. The suite had plenty of room, nice closet space, plenty of drawers, good location. The Happy Hour included real alcohol, not just beer and wine like other hotels. It had cut up veggies, pepper poppers, chips and hummus and dip, salsa, excellent. Breakfast was superb. Freshly made omelets, bacon, pancakes, sausage, bagels, bread, cereal, juice, coffee, even soda. Excellent clean up service too. Elevators were rather slow - that is my only complaint - that and their person hotel shuttle stopped running at 10:30. Houston just gets going at 11!!! But otherwise, this is a great hotel with everything we needed. Employees remembered our names in one day. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great place.

Room Tip: Anything away from elevators and stairs are fine with us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I just got back after spending 4 nights at this hotel for work. The rooms were sufficient; the free drinks were good; and the free breakfast was very nice. Check-in was very efficient. After staying there, though, I'm a bit surprised that the hotel is the #1 hotel in all of Houston simply because there was nothing special about the hotel. My only complaint about the actual hotel was that the pillows were super thin and basically provided little to no support.

The area around the hotel is dead after 7pm unless there's a basketball game or concert nearby. Without a car, it was a little difficult to find good places to get a quick and inexpensive meal at night. Would I stay here again if I was in Houston for work? Yes. Would I be thrilled with needing to stay in downtown Houston? Not so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The free breakfast saved alot of money, and the made-to-order omelettes were great! Location is terrific - right across from the park, next to the convention center, 2 blocks from shopping plaza and the bowling ally and movie theater. No walgreens or cvs closeby in walking distance, but complimentary shuttle service provided by hotel got me there! The employees were ALL helpful and friendly, very personable, and made every guest eel welcomed. I will certainly stay there again when I'm in Houston.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I chose this hotel because we purchased the Houston City Pass for the Aquarium, Zoo, and Arts and Science museum after coming from Kemah. You are like 5-8 minutes from everything. This hotel was amazing we stayed on the 19th floor close to restaurants and the Toyota Center is walking distance for basketball games. The rooms were clean and refreshing and the complimentary breakfast was awesome. The chefs prepared whatever you would like. My family and I will definitely return back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend top floors for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#3 Business Hotel in Houston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.