We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 456 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed here during the NBA All Star Game.

Great Points here:
1. Complimentary breakfast and happy hour.
2. Excellent gym facility
3. It was too cold to use the pool, but it looked great. And, I would've swam there if it was warmer.

Not so good points (but not a deal breaker)
1. Room service is not 24 hours. So, if you want late night food, you have to use a local service that delivers.

2. The complimentary shuttle service agent is not very helpful. Sure, he'll drop you off somewhere but if you need a pick-up don't count on them. Basically, the driver said (in so many words), "I have no problem dropping you off but you are on your own to get back." With a caveat like that, why even use the shuttle. The agent just didn't seem to helpful. It was disappointing to hear a response like that. And, this was after all the NBA All Star hoopla.

Overall, it's an average 4 Star hotel. Would I stay here again, Yes!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AustinHTDN, General Manager at Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear TravelJunky312,

Thank you for taking the time to send us a review. We’re very sorry your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards with regards to the shuttle service and 24 hour room service request. We’ve addressed the specific problems you mentioned with the shuttle service with the valet manager and staff. Thank you again for taking the time to alert us to this issue, it's guest feedback such as yours that helps us continue to improve our service and amenities. I hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area as you mentioned in the review and please contact me directly when making your reservation!

Best regards,
Scott Austin
General Manager
Scott.Austin2@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    124
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
151
75
10
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I "accidently" ended up at Embassy Suites downtown as my regular hotel was overbooked and was moved here with no choice. Was very much surprised as it was absolutely the nicest Embassy Suites I've ever been at. The hotel was very up to date in terms of decor and amenities, both in the room and common areas. And the staff was great, as good as any 5-star hotel I've been to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, AR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a gymnastics competition, and the hotel met all my expectations. The rooms were very clean and breakfast was very good. Valet service was excellent, however, front desk wasn't as friendly. We had issues with our key the second day and had to come to the front desk 5 times before we could get a key that would work. We wasted 25 minutes going back and forth to our room and the front desk to get new keys. We were tired and hungry, and ready to get into our room. After the 5th trip, the gentleman at the front desk rudely snapped at the bell hop to escort me up to ensure the key worked. Poor guy, I felt bad for him and it certainly wasn't his responsibility to apologize, which he did as we went upstairs. Someone from maintenance met us there and fixed the lock. A simple apology from the lady or gentleman at the front desk, or any display of sympathy would have been nice. Other than that, the stay was very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Very good situated, in walking distance from the GB Convention Centre and the Toyota Centre, making it possible to mix business and pleasure . Staff is excellent and room are spacious. A bedroom and living area with sofa, microwave oven, fridge and coffee maker . Internet is free and they have a good buffet breakfast. The staff even made a warm breakfast for a colleague who is a vegetarian. Several good restaurants are in close proximity. A visit to Underbellies is a real experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed hear for 3 nights last April to watch Rockets & Astros. Rooms great size, breakfast first class and just a few minures walk to Minute Maide Park and the Toyota Center. Would stay her again! Spent a good bit of time in the swimming pool which was of decent size. Asked at reception for some help re directions a few time and always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We loved this funky downtown hotel. Very friendly staff. The suites were very spacious and extremely clean and comfortable. The location was great, overlooking Discovery Green and close to the stadiums and convention centre. Even the aquarium was only an easy 20 minute walk (there is a hotel shuttle if you are not walkers). If you are a steak-lover definitely have dinner at Morton's which is just a couple blocks away.

Breakfast was delicious with lots of selection. We hope to come back to Houston and stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on one of the top floors and ask for a room overlooking Discovery Green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The staff was very helpful when we arrived, late at night. The suite we had was very spacious and the price was outstanding. The parking was a bit stressful, but if you pay to valet park you won't have to worry. There is no designated parking garage/area for this hotel, so if you choose to park your own car, you will have to pay the meter....we were lucky enough to find one right in front of the hotel. We purchased a Meter "hopper" which gives you 6hrs and you can park at any meter. This was helpful. I will definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and will stay here when we are in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.