We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #6 of 456 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersGold level
san antonio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Very nice hotel in downtown Houston. Great staff, new rooms. Good breakfast. Expensive parking. Great location. Good pick

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    124
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
151
75
10
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

In short: the entry/foyer/"atrium" (if you know Embassy Suites) is not much to speak of in comparison. The in-house store was never truly stocked. The staff were amazing, great smiles, friendly attitude, and seem like they enjoy themselves. I would compare this properties staff to the genuine and amazing people in San Antonio at the Riverwalk location. They are both cut from the same professional cloth. Breakfast was good, although the space is a bit smaller than expected. I stayed three days and the lady cleaning my floor was pleasant and helpful. I had a great converstion with Kim at the Front Desk, again very pleasant. The valet staff could be more personable. The location is ideal if you are attending a convention or just wish to be in the downtown area of Houston and not deal with the crowds othwerwise associated with the city central hotels. Thanks to this team for a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a "park view" just know that if there is concert going on you won't sleep. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

From the very warm and welcomming greeting by all of the hotel staff, you felt comfortable knowing that the hotel was to be a good one. Taking one of the several lifts to my 17th floor level took seconds. On entering my room which was a Double Queens Suite with park view, I was not disappointed at the size of the rooms and the quality of furnishings. After such a long flight from the UK, it was great to have a choice of either a quick shower or a longer soak in the bath. The complimentary toiletries allowed me to have a good wash and tidy up without having to start unpacking any cases. down to the Manager's Happy Two Hours of free drinks certainly helped to continue with the hotels friendliness.
At breakfast, another warm welcomefrom the catering staff who guided me along the large display of breads, cereals and choice of cooked to order breakfasts. After enjoying my morning feast, down to first floor level and a quick chat to a duty manager who showed me to the complimentary internet booth. This proved invaluable in allowing me to keep in touch with family and friends before venturing out into the large city.
Well, as with all good things, they always have to end. I was dissapointed on only staying one week. Perhaps next time, I will book in for a longer stay.
Thanks to all of the staff who took care of me and helped when things got tough :-)

Room Tip: Park side suites allow the Sunshine in most of the day time. Waking up to another warm day was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Clearly very new, this hotel had some pretty good features at a very reasonable price. The "managers special" gives you the two free hours of drinking and eating I'm sure this chain is famous for, but the bar and restaurant were nicely decorated and felt roomy and comfortable. The rooms were similar in appearance and size, there was enough room for the whole family with extra crib for the little one. If I had any concerns, the bathroom door ran on hinges across the top - so the little one could pull it away at the bottom - and it didn't lock. There was also a bar tender who's attitude was a little out of check, but it was Christmas Eve so I'll let him off!

Room Tip: The hotel must have been fairly empty when we stayed there as there was no noise at all. The views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uvalde
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

rooms were modern and clean. place is about a year old. breakfast was ok and the managers reception was ok too. no waffles few options.
the bathrooms doors slide, no lock and when you go to close it ... it opens up. you have to close it slowly. this suck if your sharing other than your spouse.
yao,chinese retaurant was close by and it sucked. dont waste your hard earned money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011 via mobile

It was our first stay in Houston and loved the Embassy Suites. Rooms are huge and clean. The staff was great. The best was the breakfast and the cook to order omelettes. Excellent value overall.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The breakfast was good, valet was good and check-in/check out was good. Service at restaurant was fine but the food was bland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Houston Downtown

Address: 1515 Dallas St, Houston, TX 77010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Houston
#3 Family Hotel in Houston
#5 Business Hotel in Houston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Houston Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're an all-suite, urban high-rise hotel overlooking Discovery Green and adjacent to the Houston Rockets' Toyota Center. The hotel is conveniently just steps away from the George R. Brown Convention Center, Houston Astros’ Minute Maid Park and the Houston Pavilions shopping and entertainment complex.We offer free cooked-to-order breakfast, free WiFi and free evening cocktails at our nightly reception with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Houston Downtown Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.