We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for a Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Marriott Energy Corridor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Houston Marriott Energy Corridor to your Saves list
Houston Marriott Energy Corridor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16011 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #119 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent for a Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Appreciate Marriott's attention to detail when it comes to design and decor.
Due to my status we were upgraded to a Deluxe room. Very nice extra large room with a garden tub and two person shower. I like the extra sized hall ways plush carpeting. Our room was very quite and the bed was very comfortable. Marriott a cut above Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our friendly staff was able to provide you with an upgrade. We appreciate your loyalty, and we hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    55
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
9
9
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very large room with king bed, sitting area, and desk. Spacious bath with separate shower and to, with double sink arrangement. Conveniently located to shopping and offices on west side of town. Concierge lounge offerings left a little to be desired.

Room Tip: The end corner rooms are extra large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I have been sure to pass on to the staff your comments and have discussed new ideas with the Chef for the Concierge offerings. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is just right for business. Good size rooms, comfy beds, decent location, nice gym, very good concierge lounge and good reliable internet.

Room and Hotel is all new, no wear and tear. The location makes for easy access to transportation (as the real estate agent would say). The service in the concierge lounge is second to none, it serves full breakfast and a very decent evening meal. I tried the full breakfast on a Sunday in the restaurant and there was really no difference.
The Gym is well appointed, again all new, par my points below. The pool looks nice, and there is a hot tub. If you like you can eat lunch in the bar/lobby.

This would have been 5 stars, but:
First, traffic noise. It is obvious that the close vicinity to the I-10 is going to be noisy. This is not loud noise, but none the less consistent all the time. Even at night.

Gym is located through the outside of the hotel, so if you go to the gym during the early hours of the morning (european with jet lag) you have to exit the back door of the hotel and enter the gym. Safety wise this not an optimal solution.

The lobby has recently been remodelled. I have not seen the previous design, but this is sort of up-beat lounge with a mix of cafe/jazz house with intense light and loud music. It might work for the leisure traveller but I kind of expect the warm quiet(!) welcome from the Marriott hotels. Of course this might just be me, but it is different.

The last quibble is the internet log on mechanism. If you have to pay $ 9.95 (ex.tax) per 24 hours, why can you not access with more than one device? It is close to rib off for one device, but $ 9.95 per device is daylight robbery.

Room Tip: I would say stay as close to the back of the hotel as possible, but in reality there is little diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our hotel and friendly staff made you feel at home. I have been sure to pass on to the staff your wonderful comments. Our hotel is still very new and has not yet undergone any renovations, we are happy to hear how new and refreshed you felt it to be. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

When we travel, be it for pleasure or business , we look for home like feel without the efforts. Maybe a bit of unique identity and fun would complete it and make it all perfect.This hotel does that and a bit more.
The decor has a bright, summery and eclectic feeling with a waterfall that you look out from the bar.The combination of this and friendly front desk people makes you look forward to comming back at the end of the day. Apart from this a restaurant in the hotel offers healthy choices, 24 hours fitness centre, free parking & 3 elevators (they are in handy when you are in a rush).
Due to the proximity to energy corridor there are a lot of businesses around and restaurant. This also keeps the occupancy and rates high. I paid $349 a night when Houston had a few conventions in town.What I disliked is that hotel charging. 9.95 for WiFi on top of the prices. Reason why I dont believe you get best bang for buck.

To sum up a wonderful place if you have unlimited budget.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our hotel and firendly staff made you feel at home. I have been sure to pass on to the staff your wonderful comments. We are glad to here you were also able to find a great variety of things to do. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is located off 1-10 and Katy. The hotel is in the middle of great dining, shopping and just a short trip to downtown Houston. The hotel lobby is modern, chick and very clean, The staff is friendly and willing to accommodate guest. The rooms are large, very clean and decorative. We stayed on the concierge level and had a wonderful breakfast and nice hors d'oeuvres in the evening. I personally love clean hotels. I felt like I could relax, sleep and enjoy my stay knowing this Marriott cared about their customers. If I have to return to this Houston I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed on the concierge level and enjoyed every minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our friendly staff made you feel special throughout your stay. I have been sure to pass on to the staff your wonderful comments. We are glad to here you were also able to find a great variety of things to do. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is only three years old which is definitely a positive. This is a great place to stay if conducting business off Route 10 and there are plenty of restaurants close by. The rooms were just fine and typical for a Marriott. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. No charge for parking which is always a plus. Starbucks coffee is served in the main area but disappointingly not in the concierge lounge where other Marriott concierge lounges do. This is a business hotel and not a family one. I would suggest requesting a room away from the freeway for noise and view.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. We are pleased to know our property is conveniently located for your business needs. We're happy to hear that our friendly staff made you feel special throughout your stay. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossroads, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

In town for a state tournament with the hubs and kids, plus extended family and a TON of other groups just like ours. Ran into an issue right off with a king bed for 4 people. Was told there were not rooms available and no way to fix it. Can't understand how they can't tell there are 4 people in a room and how are we supposed to share a king bed. Turns out the restaurant manager took pity and comped us breakfast - which was good since I was not impressed with the $14 executive bkfst.
Also was disappointed with the "Starbucks" they claim to have in the hotel lobby bar. Not sure about cocktails, but they made the worst capuccino.
One great thing about this hotel is the pool area. There is an amazing firepit with cushy outdoor furniture and a great spot under an arbor. didn't actually try the pool, but it looked nice. The gym was great with fresh whole fruit and an entire circuit of machines available.
Nice hotel, but the lobby is super small for a full-service Marriott. I expected more from this usually impeccable brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatherineWest, Front Office Manager at Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to provide us with such great feedback. I have been sure to pass your comments on to our staff. Your feedback is very important to us in our drive for customer satisfaction, and we are glad a member of management was available to address any concerns throughout your stay. We hope you'll be back the next time you're traveling to or through Houston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Houston Marriott Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houston Marriott Energy Corridor

Address: 16011 Katy Freeway, Houston, TX 77094
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#110 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Houston Marriott Energy Corridor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Houston Marriott Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Houston Marriott Energy Corridor Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Marriott Energy Corridor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.