We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to rave about” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Branch Water Tavern - CLOSED

Branch Water Tavern
510 Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77007-5349 (Washington Ave./ Memorial Park)
713-863-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Washington Ave./ Memorial Park
Cross street: Gibson
Cypress, TX
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing to rave about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went to Branch Water Tavern after reading all the reviews that were very positive. The restaurant itself is beautifully decorated and very nice. The music was extremely loud so it was hard to hear anybody talking next to you. Since this was voted one of the more romantic places in Houston, I was surprised it was so loud. Its a very "see to be seen" place. The food was average- I had the rotisserie chicken and it was very uninspired. My husband's food was way better, though. He had the salmon with corn pudding. My friends seemed to enjoy their meal. If you know anybody who likes whiskey, they have a huge selection. One of the biggest I've seen at a restaurant. The wine menu was ok.
Overall, I'd probably not visit again. Was not blown away by anything.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The food we had here was completely unbelievable it was so good. We went for Houston's Restaurant Weeks and had their set menu. It was so incredible that we definitely want to go back to try more of their food. The ambiance was very comfortable classy, sort of like a high class pub. Their is regular dining or a very swanky looking bar area with thick leather chairs. We were nervous to go because we had to bring our infant, but they were so nice and accommodating about that too. We definitely want to go back just as a couple though. It would be great for any type of occasion (work, celebration, family, date night, etc.).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quaint restaurant with a twist!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I tried brunch here last Sunday. The experience was wonderful. We both tried the salmon egg Benedict. It was like nothing we had ever had before. After finishing our divine meal, we walked to the other side to finish our mimosas and listen to the dj. It was really an unique experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“There is always something good here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Drinks were great, sazerac and a fountainbleu. The fried olives are a must for any fry-a-vore. I had the shortribs, which to me, were nothing better than an average pot roast. My wife had the chicken and it was very good. The toffee bread pudding is a must have. Service is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Nice! The happy hour & bar menu is fun and priced really reasonable. Had dinner in the main dining room, enjoyed the seared scallop, braised short ribs & sea bass special. These menu items were very good, the sauces were excellent, but the starches were warm to cool. Service seemed new and need a bit more training.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Branch Water Tavern also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Branch Water Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.