We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't even stay to eat” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Straits

Straits
800 Sorella Court, Suite 940, Houston, TX 77024
713-365-9922
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Straits is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,423 of 7,487 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Come dine with us at Straits at our new location in Houston!
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
“We didn't even stay to eat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I met 4 of my best friends for a reunion in Houston. It was a nice day so we wanted to sit on the patio. It should have been a red flag that the restaurant was almost completely empty. The place across from it was packed. We walked in and asked for a table for 5 outside on the patio. The hostess grabbed 3 menus and took us outside to a seat in the shade. There was one other table on the patio. We asked if we could sit at a table in the sun a few tables away. The hostess Literally rolled her eyes at us and huffed and took us to another table. We sat at the table for a few minutes. We were so put off by the hostess attitude that we left and went to ruggles green which was fabulous with friendly staff and awesome food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Went there with a 8 business colleagues and got a nice table in the back. The interior is very spacious and it has high ceilings thus taking up a lot of the noise that is going on at the entrance (bar with louder music).

The food was about average. It's a big odd that they only have about two vegetarian dishes. So if you're not in the mood for vegetable curry or fried rice (with very small tofu cubes) you are our of luck.

They could do better especially in the service area (don't hire 18 year old personal or then train them!) But the overall experience is pleasant.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Asian Fusion at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went on a weeknight and was not busy at all like other City Centre bars and restaurants. Excellent food and drink.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A new fave...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

My family and I visited Straits in City Center and were extremely pleased. The food was delicious (we had the Tiger Menu) and the service was attentive without being overbearing. It was a delightful evening!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Upscale feel with good drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Fun, laid back atmosphere, but it gets super crowded in the late evening. Calamari isn't crispy and is served with ketchup and ranch. Wasn't a fan of the calamari, but the drinks were delicious.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Straits also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Straits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Straits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.