We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent south african fusion restaurant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peli Peli

Peli Peli
110 Vintage Park Blvd., suite P, Houston, TX 77070
+1 281-257-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peli Peli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 7,273 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Louetta
Description: Peli Peli, Houston's only South African restaurant, features steak, chicken & seafood cuisine with a "twist" by Chef Paul Friedman - 2013 Wine & Food Week Chef Of Chefs Award Winner & The September 2013 Cadillac Culinary Master. OpenTable Top 100 American Restaurants in the US Award Winner Best Atmosphere & Service - Houston Press Readers' Choice Winner (2009, 2012) 2010 Click2Houston winner - Best Romantic Restaurant
Venezuela
1 review
“Excellent south african fusion restaurant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

We are glad we choose Peli Peli to celebrate our 2nd year anniversary. The service was excellent as expected; our server Patrick really took care of us and explained every detail about the food and its south african flavors, really unique!. We started with the bobotie, it was a delicious appetizer with many different flavors. I recommend you try this one specially on your first time to Peli Peli Our entrees the spetada and the south african mixed grill had both really unique and delicious flavors that went well with our wine recommendation..By the way, we did not know when we came in, but every Monday you can enjoy their wine selection half price off so not bad at all!..For our anniversary, we also got complimentary drinks and our picture taken that we took home as souvenier.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    60
    29
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Who knew? Bobotie AND Russian beer?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

A great 'find' in the Houston area!
Mallory June's personality and attention made our first meal (of this trip) exceptional;
thanks Ms M!
Bobotie (the pastry alone is worth the drive and my suggestion is to serve this as an entree - double-yum!!), Kingklip and the flavors of South Africa helped us relive our visit to Africa earlier this year...
If you've never had Russian beer, order one if for no other reason than to watch the spectacle of 'the pour'...
Approximately 40-45 minutes from downtown Houston, I'm looking forward to the new spot near the Galleria, for selfish reasons.
A round of applause for stepping outside the box and onto the veld!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Over the Top Food and Service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

Love, love , love this restaurant and service was second to none!! Our server Matt went above and beyond to accommodate our group and we were all given a complimentary glass of champagne. Appetizers and entrees are so flavorful and the desserts are to decadent++ Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014 NEW

I don't remember ever saying "Wow!" over the flavor of my food as many times as I did in my latest visit to Peli Peli for dinner. It began with the stuffed mushrooms, continued with the flavors of South Africa (filet medallions with various sauces) and ended with the sticky toffee pudding. My friend & I said "wow" with the first bite of everything we tasted. Service was excellent, including good conversation with the waiter about the restaurant. Definitely will return.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very Good Food, Great Service, Poor Hostess Reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 NEW

The food was wonderful and our server was very helpful and attentive. Our only complaint was with our hostess, Maribele. She was rude to us and seemed more interested in flirting with a male server. While we were waiting for our table she spent her time on her cell phone. We felt that she was very unprofessional

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tn304, Owner at Peli Peli, responded to this review, 6 days ago
SHAME ON YOU! This is the second review that you have posted in an attempt to get us to terminate our hostess as a result of her break up with your son. I am sorry about the relationship between your son and our hostess but you are an adult and its time that you act like it. It is highly inappropriate that you continue to harass and call our hostess 10+ times a day both at her place of work and on her cellphone. Please be aware that we will cooperate with her parents in their attempt get a restraining order against you and I will contact the authorities and media in regards to your unacceptable behavior.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peli Peli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peli Peli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peli Peli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.