We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit different but oh, so good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peli Peli

Peli Peli
110 Vintage Park Blvd., suite P, Houston, TX 77070
+1 281-257-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Peli Peli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 7,200 restaurants in Houston
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Louetta
Description: Peli Peli, Houston's only South African restaurant, features steak, chicken & seafood cuisine with a "twist" by Chef Paul Friedman - 2013 Wine & Food Week Chef Of Chefs Award Winner & The September 2013 Cadillac Culinary Master. OpenTable Top 100 American Restaurants in the US Award Winner Best Atmosphere & Service - Houston Press Readers' Choice Winner (2009, 2012) 2010 Click2Houston winner - Best Romantic Restaurant
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A bit different but oh, so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had dinner with family members on a recent Saturday evening. Made reservations and there was a slight wait, but nothing to complain about. Live music was nice to listen to while waiting. Only problem was that it was rather dark at our table and a bit difficult to read the menu. Service was top notch and the food delicious. Loved the carrot ginger soup. My filet was wonderful - blue cheese topping, but not overwhelming. Roasted potatoes as a side were quite tasty. Dessert - sticky toffee pudding, was great and a perfect ending to the meal. I'm already looking forward to my next meal at Peli Peli. This is an excellent place for a meal - don't pass it up if you are in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    168
    45
    16
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Well worth a visit. Food is delicious and service is friendly. Good lunch menu. Would eat here again

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem is understated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is not just a neighborhood gem, it is a beacon for miles around! The Woodlands, Houston, Spring, Magnolia - there is nothing like this anywhere. You can take any picky eater to this restaurant and please everyone at the table. Staples for our group - carrot ginger soup, flatbread, sticky toffee pudding, espetata! The decor makes this an extra surprise - night time looks the best. But lunch is very reasonable w/ smaller portions and smaller $$$. The South African flare of Chef Paul cinches it. Have him tell you the one about the...no never mind.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Groupon try...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A friend and I gave this one a try after I bought a deal on Groupon. Definitely worth it! The place is beautiful and romantic, although I did see some tables with 6+ people so it can go either way. The small two person music band was playing kind of jazzy, fun music which kept the atmosphere just right. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass w/ Carrot Braedie and Mango Coleslaw. Absolutely delish! Usually this type of place gives you a "dot" of food, which in Texas is a no-no. Well, it was not Texas sized but well above average. I was stuffed when I left. My buddy ordered the Sweet and Spicy Peli Peli and raved on it as well. The stuffed mushrooms as an appetizer were good, but along the lines of some other places. The waiter was very attentive, friendly and very knowledgable of the menu items. Without the Groupon I probably would only eat here on a special occasion as it was a little pricey for my budget. But we did have a great time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Order lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wanted to sample as many of the dishes as possible on our visit, since we live a great distance from the restaurant- the dinner menu is somewhat pricy so we went in for a late lunch and ordered 3 entrees for 2 of us. The entrees which each come with 2 delicious sides were more than enough for us to have a great meal. The lamb chops were awesome and our server was so helpful.
Reason I gave it 4 stars was because the South African sausage ( Boerewors) was a little on the dry and crumbly side when cut- more like a ground beef instead of a compacted sausage. As a former South African, I am very familiar with the real deal.
Other than that the restaurant is highly recommended

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peli Peli also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Peli Peli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peli Peli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.