We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need a break from walking...take the train!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Park

Hermann Park
6201-A Hermann Park Drive, Houston, TX 77030
713-524-5876
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 174 Attractions in Houston
Type: Parks, Golf Courses
Activities: Running, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The first public park in Houston provides a wooded site with picnic areas, running trails, lots of on-leash dog walking areas, the Houston Zoological Gardens, a public golf course and an outdoor theater featuring plays and live music.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
117 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Need a break from walking...take the train!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

There is so much to do in Hermann Park, your feet can definitely get tired. A nice and relaxing 15-20 minute train ride is the perfect break. Tickets and the train station are located right next to the main zoo entrance. And at only $3.25 it's definitely the best deal in the park.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    118
    25
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Huge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This place is huge, and there is do much to see...easily a full day could be spent here. This is where the zoo is, there is a train the kids can ride, a playground, all sorts of stuff.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Lovely park. Lots to do and see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although I didn't manage to see the whole park on my visit, what I did see I really liked.
Lots of open spaces which meant although the park was busy it didn't appear crowded. I visited on a beautiful sunny October Saturday and lots of groups of families and friends were picnicking and having fun. The lake was beautiful with lots of people out in boats. The water fountains are a great feature and I can imagine are well used and enjoyed when the weather is really hot.
The only problem we encountered was trying to find a parking space as it was very busy.
I would definitely return and spend more time there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Pretty big park. It also very popular. Always busy due to the different attraction in the area. Nonetheless, its still a great park and when though its busy its still big enough for everyone to enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice park in the Museum District, right by Rice University campus and Museum of Natural Sciences. The park is relatively quiet on the weekend we visited (second week of September 2013). It has a small lake like in the center and several water features for children, including a mini train running around the peremeter of the park. The grass is green, well cut and of decent quality. There is also a wide walk trail around the park, of about 3 mile long. The width is interesting for a city trail, with crusted granite, as it is really wide - of at least 15 to 20 feet wide. But there is not many trees along the trail itself, therefore if you'd like to walk or run under the shade, the Rice University trail across the street is much more appealing, though much narrower (about 5-6 feet across) , unless you'd want to do both trails!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann Park also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hermann Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.