We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely park. Lots to do and see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Park

Hermann Park
6201-A Hermann Park Drive, Houston, TX 77030
713-524-5876
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$35*
and up
Houston from Above and Below: Chase Tower and...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Running, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The first public park in Houston provides a wooded site with picnic areas, running trails, lots of on-leash dog walking areas, the Houston Zoological Gardens, a public golf course and an outdoor theater featuring plays and live music.
Scotland
Level Contributor
288 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Lovely park. Lots to do and see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Although I didn't manage to see the whole park on my visit, what I did see I really liked.
Lots of open spaces which meant although the park was busy it didn't appear crowded. I visited on a beautiful sunny October Saturday and lots of groups of families and friends were picnicking and having fun. The lake was beautiful with lots of people out in boats. The water fountains are a great feature and I can imagine are well used and enjoyed when the weather is really hot.
The only problem we encountered was trying to find a parking space as it was very busy.
I would definitely return and spend more time there.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    180
    40
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Big park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Pretty big park. It also very popular. Always busy due to the different attraction in the area. Nonetheless, its still a great park and when though its busy its still big enough for everyone to enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice park in the Museum District, right by Rice University campus and Museum of Natural Sciences. The park is relatively quiet on the weekend we visited (second week of September 2013). It has a small lake like in the center and several water features for children, including a mini train running around the peremeter of the park. The grass is green, well cut and of decent quality. There is also a wide walk trail around the park, of about 3 mile long. The width is interesting for a city trail, with crusted granite, as it is really wide - of at least 15 to 20 feet wide. But there is not many trees along the trail itself, therefore if you'd like to walk or run under the shade, the Rice University trail across the street is much more appealing, though much narrower (about 5-6 feet across) , unless you'd want to do both trails!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun with Caution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This park has a wonderful picnic ground and outdoor garden that is great to peruse in the evenings. However, beware of the homeless population there. Unfortunately, on more than one occasion, my students have witness inappropriate scenarios. In addition, the water sprinklers can be dangerous with so many children playing on slippery, wet concrete. Beware!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Always packed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hermann park is a nice place. We went there to kill some time and fed the ducks before we went to the Zoo. Tons of people everytime we go...not the park to go to if you're trying to unwind....more along the lines of a place for kids

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann Park also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hermann Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.