We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermann Park

Hermann Park
6201-A Hermann Park Drive, Houston, TX 77030
713-524-5876
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 171 attractions in Houston
Type: Parks, Golf Courses
Activities: Running, Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The first public park in Houston provides a wooded site with picnic areas, running trails, lots of on-leash dog walking areas, the Houston Zoological Gardens, a public golf course and an outdoor theater featuring plays and live music.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Pretty big park. It also very popular. Always busy due to the different attraction in the area. Nonetheless, its still a great park and when though its busy its still big enough for everyone to enjoy.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    115
    24
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nice park in the Museum District, right by Rice University campus and Museum of Natural Sciences. The park is relatively quiet on the weekend we visited (second week of September 2013). It has a small lake like in the center and several water features for children, including a mini train running around the peremeter of the park. The grass is green, well cut and of decent quality. There is also a wide walk trail around the park, of about 3 mile long. The width is interesting for a city trail, with crusted granite, as it is really wide - of at least 15 to 20 feet wide. But there is not many trees along the trail itself, therefore if you'd like to walk or run under the shade, the Rice University trail across the street is much more appealing, though much narrower (about 5-6 feet across) , unless you'd want to do both trails!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun with Caution”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This park has a wonderful picnic ground and outdoor garden that is great to peruse in the evenings. However, beware of the homeless population there. Unfortunately, on more than one occasion, my students have witness inappropriate scenarios. In addition, the water sprinklers can be dangerous with so many children playing on slippery, wet concrete. Beware!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Park, Always packed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hermann park is a nice place. We went there to kill some time and fed the ducks before we went to the Zoo. Tons of people everytime we go...not the park to go to if you're trying to unwind....more along the lines of a place for kids

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I love to pack a picnic and come to Hermann Park on the weekends. We typically relax near the reflection pond and there are plenty of perfect spots under the huge trees to throw down a blanket and get comfortable. It's so nice to people watch and enjoy nature. We always bring a couple of things to do (Frisbee, football, dominoes, etc.) and spend a couple of hours out there. The Miller Outdoor Theater is extremely close and there is always something going on and it's typically a free event. Sometimes the parking lots fill up so try to get there a little early (we normally park by the gardens) and if that is full there is always the parking garage connected to the Museum of Natural Science. Whenever we are out there we always notice a few homeless people but never enough to feel uncomfortable and there are plenty of families nearby so I suppose everyone else feels comfortable as well. There are a bunch of things to do nearby (zoo, golf, museums, outdoor theater) and within walking distance. Bring a camera because there are lots of nice spots to snap photos. Great spot to visit for both locals and visitors!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hermann Park also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Hermann Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermann Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hermann Park to your Saves list