We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth checking out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azuma - Downtown

Azuma - Downtown
909 Texas Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
7132230909
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #584 of 7,288 Restaurants in Houston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Main
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth checking out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Went here based on trip advisor reviews. I find the reviews pretty on par. I went with 4 other people and we ordered a bunch of different rolls. Some cooked but most uncooked. I also had the udon. It was hot and had a nice flavor. Would say its worth a try if your downtown.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good sushi downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Living close to Azuma, I had to check it out. Service was fast and friendly and the place has good atmosphere. Sushi selection was good and the sushi was fresh.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Liked it so much, I ate there 2 nights in a row. Excellent, fresh sushi, creative rolls and many other choices. Hot rocks beef was fun and delicious for my friend. Good noodle dishes for those who don't do sushi. Nice atmosphere and good service

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another badly overpriced trendy sushi spot”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The yuppie crowd and nice but excessively flashy interior design should have been a dead giveaway. Sushi and sashimi were fine but way overpriced, and portions were small. Uni pasta was actually pretty good and reasonable. Seemed pretty snobby in a number of ways-for one- lots of helpful, hardworking Latino workers, whereas the servers we had and saw seemed stuck up and put out to do anything-maybe just our bad luck.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Azuma chicken yummo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Azuma chicken was terrific and the sushi was fresh. I don't think you'll be disappointed if you're looking for a great sushi spot in downtown.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azuma - Downtown also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Azuma - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azuma - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.