We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you are deaf” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE to your Saves list
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Sorella Court, North Building, Houston, TX 77024   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 457 Hotels in Houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel if you are deaf”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel and we were impressed when we came in especially since it seems like such a bargain compared with similar hotels in NYC. Amenities and rooms are nice and staff are excellent. HOWEVER, it is ridiculous that they have a bar with live music open every night on the second floor and our room was on the third floor overlooking the bar, so we got to listen to the music all night. Also, in the mornings we had the pleasure of hearing the people above us walking around on their floor and the people next door showering, drying their hair, and talking on the phone. It's too bad because the hotel has clearly made efforts to be green and has a lot of great qualities, but don't skimp on insulation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. Our live music offered Wednesday through Saturday has proven to be very popular with our guests. If you are sensitive to noise, we will work to find a room that you find satisfactory. Please feel free to contact me directly rgullion@valenciagroup.com.

Thank you,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    122
    38
    8
    12
See reviews for
45
122
28
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came here for a nice evening to celebrate our anniversary.

It is a beautiful hotel and very tastefully and decorated with modern finishings.

The check in staff were especially curteous, welcoming and helpful. Upon check in, we were upgraded to to a junior suite and it was simply beautiful, in absolutely perfect condition and had a great layout. I love the charging station for our devices! The bed was so comfortable as well and I had a very sound night's sleep.

There is a mini fridge but you cant put anything in it, as it fully stocked with items for purchase.

I really liked the shower-larger than normal and a good water pressure, but it did take a little while for it to heat up.

Along with the bed, our room had a nice table and chairs in the middle as well as a sectional sofa in the corner, perfect for relaxing. We also enjoyed views from both the citycentre and the energy corridor.

We enjoyed a drink and a snack at the Bistro bar - the bartender was very friendly, the food was great and the atmosphere was nice and subdued. We headed up to the room to refresh before heading out again and were surprisingly greeted with a bottle of champagne and strawberries. Such a nice touch and very appreciated.

Was a little disappointed that by the time we hit the Monalissa bar at about 8:30 (one of the reasons I was immediately inclined to stay here), there were already no seats available and we could not stay and enjoy the ambiance. It looked fun and nice, with a fireplace on the inside and nice cabana-type seating on the outside next to the pool.

We already had breakfast plans, so we didnt partake in the continental breakfast, but I observed on the way out, that while there wasnt a huge array of items, I saw a beautiful array of very fresh fruit items.

Overall, the area is nice. you can staty at the hotel and have plenty to do, all within walking distance. A little on the "upscale" side but nice. Nice shopping, food options, Studio Movie Grill, a great outside plaza for just relaixing and unwinding and several night life options - two just downstairs and two right in the hotel.

Other than missing out on Monalissa and the length of time to get the shower to my liking, it was a great stay and made our anniversary night very special. I am sure we will be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased to learn that you had such a great time. We will focus our efforts on addressing the deficiencies you noticed in advance of your next stay.

Cordially yours,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a 2 week business trip. Location is great, right on the I-10 and Beltway 8, with the hotel adjoining a car park. I had never driven in Houston before, but this made it easy! The hotel rooms are nice, large and comfortable. Large TV. Plenty of towels. Free wifi. Continental breakfast was good but only served from 6.30am. To get the European feel right, they should provide saucers with the coffee cups, and improve the quality of the coffee. The cappuccino was really nasty! Also the croissants were served without jam. These are minor points but would improve the overall experience, which was otherwise pretty good. However, this all comes at a price. There are certainly cheaper options in Houston.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve our product for our guests and appreciate you assisting us in this regard. We look forward to you staying with us again when your travel plans include Houston.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised staying at this hotel. The rooms are large and comfy. Location is excellent, right in the middle of restaurants, shops, a theater. Service was excellent. They went out of their way to help with our requests.
The bar was crowded and noisy and the hotel restaurant was closed by midnight but overall, a very good experience. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are anxiously awaiting your return.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We don't live far from the Hotel Sorella, but my wife had a work related conference there so we had the option to stay. It was short, but the hotel and surrounding area are nice and they've really developed it well. Check-in was fast and the room/bathroom was very sharp - has a modern flare to it, but without being cheezy. The bed was super comfortable. Considering how many shops and restaurants there are that surround the hotel, noise was never a factor. The property has numerous restaurant options available, all within a 30 second to 5 minute walk from the hotel. In all candor, I'm not sure the hotel even has a restaurant of its own due to everything that surrounds the property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to learn you had a great stay, although you should make it longer next time…..

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

While the location of the hotel is fun, the hotel itself is a bit disappointing. First, the rooms, while they are modern are very cold - the wood floors make it seem more like a room that should be near a beach. It doesn't make for a cozy environment. Second, the wireless is nearly useless. I was never able to log-in for more than few minutes before it kicking out. Third, I was confirmed for a room with a king bed and ended with two fulls, not even queens. When I asked to move they moved me to a "deluxe" room - which was no bigger than the first one - it just had a view of a courtyard. FInally, I arrived late as many business travellers do to find that room service closed at 10 pm. I arrived around 11 and was out of luck. There were no places that delivered that late either.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I have followed up with the team regarding late night arrivals, we should have offered to assist you in finding something to eat upon arrival. We typically don't have any arrivals that late at night and yours shouldn't have presented us with an overly challenging situation. Thank you again for letting me know.

Sincerely,

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Clean, nice room and hotel. The best burgers EVER at the bistro. We had a nice time shopping and spending time with each other. There wasn't a bathtub in our room, but the shower was nice and large. It was actually preferable over a small shower/tub combo.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Address: 800 Sorella Court, North Building, Houston, TX 77024
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.