We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE to your Saves list
Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 Sorella Court, North Building, Houston, TX 77024   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 Nights | 3rd Free
Ranked #14 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Modern with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I recently stayed at Sorella Hotel in Houston for 4 nights. Its a busy hotel and my agent was only able to get me a twin queen room despite booking a month in advance. The beds have a wooden frame around them which I constantly banged my shins against. The beds themselves are OK but rather soft. Hotel was quiet - I stayed on 8th Floor. Room has an ipod type dock which is handy and a flat screen TV. No bath but a decent shower. Toiletries were also reasonable, but no shower gel, only soap bars. These may be minor niggles but left a "not quite there" impression as far as a 5* review would merit.
Breakfast was self servcie and included in room rate. Lots of fresh fruit and pastries with cereals and yoghurts, plus coffee.
Location is great - near the I10 with lots of nearby shops and restaurants and even a cinema. The Yardhouse was a favourite of mine - lost count of how many beers on tap - I think about 100 !
In conclusion its certainly one of the best hotels in houston and the price reflects this. A couple of small impreovements and it would be a 5*

Room Tip: I was on 8th floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    130
    41
    10
    13
See reviews for
52
142
31
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san antonio,tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The standard room was very nice, modern and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the amenities very nice. Even though the hotel was full the weekend we stayed there, our room was quiet and relaxing. It was in a great area and everyone there was courteous and professional. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here in February whilst on a business trip to Houston. It is part of a recent new development and surrounded by shops restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The rooms were very modern, comfortable and high speed Internet was complimentary. Breakfast was ok, but no waiter service. I would definitely stay here again, it's a good location.....even Billy Gibbons from ZZ top was in the bar next door...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we can't wait for you to join us again.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at. You have plenty of places to eat at around the hotel and you have several places for entertainment i.e Studio Movie grill. One thing I hate about this hotel is that they dont allow outside alcohol in their hotel, but they do have an expensive mini bar.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay!

We hope you don't stay mad about the alcohol issue, it's actually a state law and we could lose our permit to sell alcoholic beverages if we allow our guests to break it.

Please hurry back!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for about 4 weeks during a business trip to Houston.

This is the go to hotel for me and several of my coworkers when staying in Houston, if it's available that is, this place gets full quite often it seems and I understand why.

Friendly and efficient staff at check-in and otherwise.

The rooms are spacious and clean, the internet is complimentary and the complimentary breakfast is just great; fresh cut up fruits and yogurt without an excessive amount of sugar is a good getaway from the tired old breakfasts served at most hotels.

It's situated right by the Houston City Centre area which is great because I can get to plenty of good restaurants and stores ranging from pub/bar joints to nicer restaurants without having to take the car which is quite unique for Houston.

The dry cleaning service was cheap and swift as well.

Will recommend this place to anyone going to Houston.

Room Tip: Book in good time if you are traveling outside of holiday season since it's a popular place for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate it. Please tell all of your friends in Sweden about us, I'm sure they'd love our "winter weather"!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times on business and with family, and have found it to be a really fantastic choice for all situations.
This hotel is part of the chain that owns Valencia in San Jose which is a go-to hotel for high-tech businesses in that area. Sorella sits in CityCentre, a relatively high-end mixed use development that is full of action. A broad mix of restaurants and shopping provides everything you need during your off hours.
The hotel itself is trendy and comfortable. The rooms are a nice size with all of the appointments you would expect. There is a continental breakfast each morning (I believe), full of fresh fruit, pastries and a lady making espresso drinks.
My only complaint about this property is the amazingly slack workout room. Either it was forgotten until the last moment or they are abdicating that resource to the Lifetime Fitness across the street.
Note: I just pulled this off of their site and may explain the lack of a decent workout room:
"CITYCENTRE Life Time Athletic offers fitness, sports, family recreation and spa services all in one place, as well as expert trainers and programs to help you meet your fitness goals. The club also offers amenities such free use of towels and lockers. In addition, for $15 per day, Hotel Sorella guests* can gain access to the largest Houston-based fitness facilities."

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the CityCentre courtyard. I've never had any issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great feedback! We are sorry you don't like our fitness center. Lifetime Fitness is a world-class facility that we feel is a great option for our guests. Please hurry back and stay with us again.

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

When I have to head to CityCentre Houston on business, I always stay at Hotel Sorella. It is centrally located in the lovely CityCentre complex, with a terrific selection of restaurants, Studio Movie Grill for movies and dinner is a step away, and there are great shopping options. The hotel overlooks the central plaza on one side, where there is always something going on. This visit there was a wonderful duo playing in the square and the weather was perfect. We enjoyed a beverage while waiting for our table and the area on a Wed & Thursday night was buzzing with people and activity. The rooms are well-appointed, comfortable, and large. Nice bathrooms with lovely amenities, and parking is a breeze. You can park in the multi-story next door, or valet park, whichever you prefer (no charge for the multi-story).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SorellaGM, General Manager at Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Please hurry back and see us soon!

Ryan Gullion
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE

Address: 800 Sorella Court, North Building, Houston, TX 77024
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Houston's Energy corridor and the Westchase district, in West Houston's CITYCENTRE development, Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE is a sophisticated modern boutique hotel. Ideally located, and within steps of sophisticated retailers, dining, entertainment and nightlife and nearby outdoor adventure in the form of jogging trails, biking paths, parks and recreation. Hotel Sorella offers 266 guest-rooms, suites and Penthouse suites. Hotel Sorella offers luxury and sophistication and is the perfect choice for for a romantic getaway, a short or extended business trip, or a group or conference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sorella CITYCENTRE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.