We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learn some courtesy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Saucer

Flying Saucer
705 Main Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
713-228-PINT
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 7,276 Restaurants in Houston
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Learn some courtesy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I never remember a time when the service was outstanding or even tolerable at the Flying Saucer. After having had been a good customer here and purchasing a lot of drinks and food, I had to send a single beer back that I ordered because I had it before (first time - my mistake). All of a sudden, the manager Brandon had the nerve to walk over and try to "advise" me about how much that would cost the bar. Get a life - they spill more beer in 2 minutes than sending that beer back costs the Flying Saucer. The bar staff are stuffy and not attentive. Go elsewhere - I sure will.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    85
    32
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deer Park, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere for a night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to hang out with friends and have a few drinks- this is it! Huge selection of beer, and the walls are plastered with people who have accepted and and met the beer challenge.
I have been there twice, and both times, I felt the service (for dining) was slow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent beer selection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Came to the Flying Saucer after an Astro's game with some friends and was not disappointed. The beer selection is immense and they were running a special which all Texas pints were $3. Coming from the northeast, what a deal! Whenever I travel I enjoy to try the local brews so this seemed to be the place to settle in for the remainder of the evening. However, there is a 6 beer limit here so this was not possible. Regardless this place has excellent local beers and a knowledgeable, friendly staff right in the heart of downtown Houston.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beer Beer Beerrssssss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Woah how many selections of beer you can have? I was amazed with all the list and explanation. I think the widest selection must be stout. All you can try from different places. Very busy place and noisy but ya good decoration, very unique and such a popular place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good Beer, Good Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went here yesterday and was suprised at this gem right in the city. I only had some cheese fries and a German Beer, but I liked what I had. I would definitely be coming back here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Saucer also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Flying Saucer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Saucer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.