We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for House of Blues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Athens Hotel Suites

Save Saved
You added Athens Hotel Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Athens Hotel Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1308 Clay St, Houston, TX 77002 (Formerly Rainbow Inn) (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #263 of 451 hotels in Houston
Albany, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for House of Blues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Only 1 block from House of Blues, Easy walking distance to main street ,shopping,staff was helpfull with directions

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    8
    6
    23
See reviews for
6
10
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Charming rooms with kitchen, fridge and - of course - air conditioning! :)
little but nice fitness room and terrasse.

the hotel is very well placed as it's downtown and pretty right by the metro, shops and museums.
I kept an excellent souvenir of this place and if I go back to Houston in the future, for sure it would be here!!!
Indeed, we've been very touched by the kindness of the people working down there and by all the information given to know better the city and things to do.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed at the Athens with a collegue for a professional conference. The first room we were shown smelled like fried fish and was nauseating. We were offered another room, which was okay, but we were distressed by the porter's comment, "I don't know why they let the winos clean the rooms." we decided we wouldn't need maid service. The kitchenette is equipped with stove but bring your own pans if you plan to prepare anything. There are cups, plates, and silverware. Parking was a nightmare. The hotel staff were downright unhelpful about locating an economical place to park. We parked on the street and fed the meter most of the time. One night I went out to dinner with some friends and my colleague stayed in alone. About 9:00 pm someone knocked on the door and then proceeded to try to enter the room. They said it was hotel staff, but didn't bother calling up from the front desk to say they were coming up. Luckily she had the door chained and the person went away. Also there is a person who lives downstairs behind a metal fence with Tourrette's who yells profanity and paces around his area after dark. I saved a few bucks staying here and it was certainly an adventure. Safe to say I won't be allowed to pick the next hotel next time we travel together. I forgot to mention that the free wifi was not reliable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Staff were among the best I've seen anywhere, so helpful, location is handy to anything downtown, and it's 5 minutes away from downtown, the only drawback is the lack of eating options close by.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I and two colleagues stayed at the Athens Hotel for 7 nights. It was very comfortable, and we appreciated that they had a kitchen with full fridge, oven, etc. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It was only a short walk to the Convention Center, in a very safe neighborhood, with lots of restaurants (and the Houston Pavilion) within walking distance. The staff had good dinner recommendations.

We saved a lot of money by staying here over the Hilton, Hyatt, etc. It seems to be family owned and operated, and all of our needs were well taken care of. If you are driving in, just be prepared to pay for parking, but it was very inexpensive in the nearby lots.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel very highly, especially for budget travellers who don't like the high costs associated with larger chains and for those who like to support the "little guys."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was a miserable experience. The staff was rude, unfriendly and often not at the front desk. The breakfast was nothing more than stale cereal, lukewarm milk and spoiled fruit. One of the two queen beds in the room blocked the door so that I needed to open door, step behind the bed and then close the door before being able to enter the room.

The hotel offers no parking but points you in the direction of a nearby lot which offers 12 hour parking options. Each day we parked around 7pm and had to wake up at 7am to fed the meter or else run the risk of a ticket.

The hotel is walking distance from Minute Maid Park and the Toyota Center, but the area gets sketchy at nightime and is not near any other major areas.

I would not stay here again for any price,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rainbow23, Public Relations Manager at Athens Hotel Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
We at Athens Hotel Suites regret that your stay here was not pleasant. Our hotel staff strives to make every effort to accomodate a guest's needs and requests. The Hotel is located in the heart of the convention centers of downtown Houston, allowing visistors easy access within walking blocks of the venues and also the light-rail that runs in and out of Downtown Houston. Any visitor to Houston enjoys the local "green" park for relaxing and jogging all times of the day or night, and the local restaurants and meeting places are buzzing late in the evening with locals. We offer a continental breakfast that is placed out every morning at seven A.M. and we only use fresh food and beverages, the breakfast closes at ten A.M. All rooms at the Athens Hotel Suites are equipped with full size beds, some double, some single, a full kitchenette, and bathrooms. Sometimes some of the furniture may get moved in the cleaning process and we will certainly address any concern or inconvenience that a guest brings to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

I stayed in this hotel while I was in Houston for a 5 day conference. Rooms were a good size, separate kitchen area (stove, fridge, microwave, kitchen sink, coffee maker, cooking pans and place settings, table with 2 chairs). Room was clean and fresh smelling. (While we were there, they shampood the carpets! )
Breakfast included with your room (cereal, toast, bagels, cream cheese, jam, hard boiled eggs, Tang)
Hotel staff very friendly, and accommodating. Walking distance to 1) Convention Centre, 2)downtown shopping (mall and Maceys), 3) Aquarium, 4) To the rail link to get to a grocery store (only $1.25 for the rail). I'm sure there is more, but we ran out of time! Rainy days, they will call a cab for you.
We had to take a cab from the airport ($44.50), but the rail link will go as far as the airport by the end of January 2011 (you get off at Bell Stn.) Be sure to confirm that, Future Travellers.

I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Athens Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athens Hotel Suites

Address: 1308 Clay St, Houston, TX 77002 (Formerly Rainbow Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 451 hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Athens Hotel Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Athens Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athens Hotel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.