We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was okay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Greenway Plaza East, Houston, TX 77046 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Renovated in July 2014!
Ranked #108 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It was okay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel was clean and nice decorated. The bed was comfortable and lines clean. The a/c was making a rattling noise when we arrived. We complained to the man who brought us room service but no one came to do anything about it.The next morning we complained AGAIN about it to the front desk person. The food was good and room service came quickly. You have to pay for the internet and there is no free breakfast as with some hotels. The parking is also very confusing we parked in the Greenway parking and were charged 10 dollars for the night. We were also charged 14 dollars for parking in the hotel parking lot. When we complained about the a/c she did take both parking charges off our bill.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    122
    82
    41
    13
See reviews for
62
59
28
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

This hotel is not in the downtown area and doesn't have much of a bar scene but the staff are really nice. I got in late and needed food and the van driver volunteered to drive me to get sushi. He also picked me up there when i was done eating free of charge. Not having a rental car in houston made life difficult but the staff at this hotel really helped me get around that.

They also drove me to my business meeting the next day which was a 5 min drive from the hotel but a VERY far walk. Overall this is a great hotel for business travelers who need to be in the area. If you are visiting for pleasure, it is still a good hotel but perhaps you would want to be closer to the downtown area where there is more going on.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Good hotel overall and the bar with waiter "Wayne" excellent. Two points are noteworthy that let this hotel down
1) Parking although plentiful has terrible height restrictions so if you drive a SUV you cannot park in the multi story parking and must use valet
2) left bags with bellman when checking out but when wanted to collect them it took 40 minutes and then had to go and collect them myself.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

The staff is incredible and I have really enjoyed my long term stay here. The only downside is that the rooms and TVs are a bit dated. However, the bed and gym are all great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenHouston, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
Dear "Amazing Service" Guest,

We read your review and are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Renaissance Houston Greenway Plaza Hotel and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Houston. I am please to inform you we will be placing new flat screen into our guest room in the fall.

Sincerely, Matt Jones, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Really fabulous rooms. Spacious, clean, friendly staff, and the bar was great. Location is near the center of downtown and city activities. Thumbs down on the hotel parking - $7 dollars in and out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

A nice location only if you're on a business trip and your office is located in Greenway Plaza, as the hotel is connected to the underground corridors. Going out even to the barber or shopping spots across the highway is a challenge with such a hard time finding sidewalks!
Service was great throughout my stay especially in the restaurant, that had such a friendly and considerate staff.
Rate $110/night excluding breakfast & internet

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

Stayed through priceline - 2 rooms. They were nice and got us adjoining rooms. Rooms were nice. Location is in the middle of a business highrise park hard to find the first time, nothing nice nearby, no grounds. Valet parking only, expensive, but not as bad as downtown.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza

Address: 6 Greenway Plaza East, Houston, TX 77046 (Formerly Renaissance Houston Hotel Greenway Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Houston
#36 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#102 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Houston, TX, offers spacious, club-style guest rooms, all with floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of downtown Houston and River Oaks. All of our rooms have modern amenities and feature plush furnishings, sumptuous bedding, WiFi, a walk-in closet and luxury bathrooms with a separate shower and granite vanities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Houston
Houston Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Houston - Greenway Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.