We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In A Time Of Need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Houston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International
1600 Holcombe Blvd., Houston, TX 77030 (Medical Center)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 447 hotels in Houston
Maalaea, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“In A Time Of Need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Managed by Marriott Corporation, The Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International is owned by MD Anderson Cancer Center. All guests are there for cancer treatment or to support someone who is receiving cancer treatment. While the rooms are in need of superficial improvements, the mission is clear; the entire staff is intent on making the experience as pleasant and peaceful as possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    19
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
13
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

When I first startred visting MD Anderson with my mom for her lung cancer treatments, we did not take advantage of staying at the Rotary House. We paid much higher rates for accomodations close to the hospital. Not only were the rates higher, but hotel parking was usually difficult and inconvenient. Once we discovered the Rotary House - we haven't looked back! It's the most convenient and hassle free way to stay close to the hospital. I would highly recommend staying here. I can't say enough good things about the staff (helpful and friendly); the rooms (clean and well kept); parking (valet or garage attached to hotel); and proximity to hospital (skybridge to main hospital and Mays clinic- including golf cart ride for those who need it). Great place!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

When caring for a patient that has come to M D Anderson for care this hotel is idle.
The shuttle going in the morning to whole Foods or other shopping centers is very helpful.
The hotel was wonderful. The restaurant could use some direction. Many people have
Dietary needs and it does not seem the wait staff understands that.
If I ever need to come to M D Anderson again, I will come back for the convenience.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Rotary House which is managed by Marriott is prefect for MD Anderson patients. Direct Access via the skybridge to the Main Building, Mays Clinic, Pickens Tower & the Faculty Center Building. What I really liked about this place is that their rates are fix through out the year(starting from $115). For many years now i used to stay at the galleria area but now I decided to stay at Rotary House. I could say that for a longer stay the Rotary House is more convenient. Free wifi covers the entire hotel & parking fee is $5/night

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Rotary House on my first trip to MDAnderson. It is perfectly convenient directly across the street from the main building and connected by a sky bridge. There were no single rooms available so I took the suite. The price would have been reasonable if I took advantage of the kitchenette but I did not. They do provide a free shuttle bus to resaturants and shopping. There is also a patient concierge in the hospital but for a first time visitor their friendlness and information packet becomes overwhelming will all the information provided seperately by the hospital. Kindof nice to have a place to get a copy of your appointment schedule but all of that information is easy to access on MyMDAnderson also. Long story short, if you are mobility restricted, this is THE place to stay. If you are still mobile and have the energy to get around and see Houston beyond the hospital, you will probably want to stay somewhere else as there is nothing but hosptial within walking distance. Breakfast buffet was very good but a little pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don Lorenzo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are ill MD Anderson is the hospital to go to and if you do Rotary House which is an integral part of MD Anderson is the place to stay. The rooms are spacious, spotless, very comfortable and relatively inexpensive. The staff overwhelmingly pleasant, knowledgeable about hospital operations, and anxious to help in every way possible. Perfectly situated for easy access to the hospital, you simply cannot find a better spot in Houston. The food prepared in a most pleasant restaurant setting is outstanding. A series of in-house events including, speakers, artists and musicians help to alleviate boredom. Moreover the hotel provides bus service to nearby attractions such as Rice University viillage which abounds with shopping and dining options. Reservations should be made as early as possible since the hotel generally has a full house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just returned from a trip with a friend who had an appointment at the clinic at MD Anderson. From the moment you are greeted at the door, you know this is a special place. Everyone was so pleasant and accommodating. Best of all, there is an MDA office off the lobby of the hotel, which is connected to the center. The hotel is managed by Marriott, I believe, so it has all the usual amenitites. The room was large and comfortable with two sinks and a small kitchen area. The beds, with down comforters and great sheets, were very comfortable. The free shuttle to nearby shopping areas and restaurants was a real bonus.

The only negative - I think the bathroom faucets could be updated soon - a little old and worn, but a minor concern.

Trying to navigate around the expansive clinic can be tricky (so allow plenty of time when going for a first visit).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International

Also Known As:
Jesse h. Jones Rotary House International Hotel
Jesse h. Jones Rotary House International Hotel Houston
Address: 1600 Holcombe Blvd., Houston, TX 77030
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Medical Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Houston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#55 Business Hotel in Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jesse H. Jones Rotary House International to your Saves list