We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15222 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #72 of 451 hotels in Houston
Tyler, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here after our United flight was canceled. My first impression from the outside was this was going to be a nightmare. I was wrong. The motel is older, but the employees were OUTSTANDING!! These people were the friendliest, most helpful, pleasant bunch that I have experienced in some time. Starting with the front desk and including the restaurant staff........they were great! Kathy and Salvadore waited on us in the restaurant and did as good a job as I have experienced. They should be commended. Our meals were delicious.
Hats off to the hiring and training staff!! In a world where service is virtually non existent, what a pleasant experience at this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback about our staff. I believe we have a really good team that tries its best to be friendly & helpful, and we're glad it showed. You can be assured that the employees named will be recognized for their efforts! I hope you can find a way to stay with us again, although not due to an airline delay. Thank you again & continued good travels to you! Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    113
    52
    23
    13
See reviews for
50
56
29
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Last minute trip so i booked this hotel and I would advise to check around first... Hotel staff was nice and friendly Pamela was very nice and she would remember the subway sandwich?? The room was average ad the bed was wonderful. Food was good I thought the Salmon would be bigger since I was in Texas?? Server was great.. Maybe if the price was lower then it would be a great 3 star Inn..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest; we appreciate the feedback, and are very glad that you found the staff friendly, particularly Pamela. We appreciate also knowing that the bed was wonderful, the restaurant food good & our server great. As a hotel and a brand we strive to be reliable and consistant for our Guests, but most importantly friendly and helpful. We're glad that you stayed with us. Your comments are being shared with the staff! Thanks!
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night because we had a layover at the Houston airport. I'm glad we only paid the reduced hotwire price because it certainly isn't worth the regular price. The airport shuttle was important to us, but when we tried to call them from the phone at the airport they would not answer the phone. Another customer was also trying to reach them on his cell phone and also could not get through. I finally just let the phone ring and ring for about 10 minutes. Once they finally picked up the phone they told us the shuttle would be there in 15 minutes - and it was. When we got to the hotel I realized why it took them so long to pick up the phone. Only two people were working on the front desk and they were very busy checking people in. They needed more people working or maybe someone else should be responsible for answering the shuttle phone. The shuttle GOING to the airport is much better as it leaves every half an hour starting at 4:30 so that was very convenient. The hotel restaurant was decent and the service in the restaurant was very good.

The room was VERY noisy. The heater/airconditioning unit was very loud and clunked on and off all night (not consistent white noise). Our room was on the front of the hotel and there was a lot of street noise and then noise from people outside waiting for the shuttle starting around 5:00. I basically got no sleep and we took the 6:00 shuttle to the airport (instead of the planned 7:00) just to get out of there.

If your purpose is to get a good sleep before a long flight, don't stay here. Maybe rooms at the back of the hotel are better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests, thank you for the feedback. While we're glad that you found us and enjoyed the restaurant in particular, we wish to apologize for the noisy situation from your room. The hotel is large and there are many other room locations that are more quiet. We can appreciate that sometimes early risers step outside and near some rooms. Regards the intermitant noise from the AC, which turns off when cooling is not needed, it is a function of the newer energy saving units. Those that run continuously, from AC to fan, still predominate this hotel provides the 'white noise' you describe and prefer.
We hope you will give us another chance. We can certainly work with your needs as described and insure you will enjoy your stay.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is surely in the mecca of hotels.. there are just too many to choose from. I was put into this one by my agent looking for a deal.

The Pros.
The hotel is close to the airport but then again so are the dozens around.... :)
The shuttle service was prompt when you call the airport rep.
They do have free communication center in the lobby with 3 -4 computers with a printer for use.
The restaurant has a unique way of serving their margaritas with a bottle of beer in it.. liked it.
The rest. staff were friendly
The breakfast Chef exceeded my expectation, when inquired if they had any croissant (which wasn't on the breakfast spread), he got me one from the kitchen.... surely he was rewarded for his kind gesture.

The Cons.
The driver of the shuttle cared less on greetings and helping with bags... and boy! he was expecting a tip.
The rooms were mediocre but livable... The houskeeping could surely step up here.

To sum up..
You get what you pay for... It a good hotel for the price and bearing in mind it's close to the airport you can't go wrong with this one, but then again there are just too many to chose from...

Room Tip: make sure you call the hotel as soon as you reach Houston, to make sure the hotel staff dispatches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for the nice overall rating. We're glad for the positives; prompt shuttle, free wifi & lobby computers, and really enjoyed hearing the nice compliments about the Good Eats Grill for drinks & breakfast. We're excited to share this with the staff. Thank you also for sharing the comment about the shuttle driver. We will insure a discussion takes place & look for immediate improvements.
Glad you found us among all the competition. We value your business and hope you'll return.
Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would rate it as zero if possible! Too expensive fr the quality!
We waited 30 minutes for the stupid shuttle to arrive and pick us up from the airport (it takes only 10 minutes to the hotel) and it happened because they have only one shuttle. The lady kept saying that it will be there in 5 minutes and we were standing outside in the cold weather. And we arrived NOT a single word of we're sorry!!!
Room was OK but the PILLOWS were not actually pillows. They were more like small decorative cushions you put on your bed when not using it. Awe-full and uncomfortable! I would not call it a *** hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest: Thank you for letting us know about the difficulties surrounding your stay- particularly the shuttle & the room pillows>We should have had two drivers, and if over 20 minutes delay we are to offer to pay a cab for you. These are standards and I'm very sorry that we did not get it right. Regards the pillows, The 20X24 pillows are Holiday Inn standard, 4 per bed with two being soft and two being firm pillows. In addtion we have a pillow menu. Located in the directory we list three other types of pillows that can be delivered for your comfort. I hope you'll forgive us and try us again. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

There were really only two things that were average about this hotel, the bed and the TV. Everything else was below average. Cold water in the shower, which looked like it hadn't had a proper cleaning ever. Room decor was out of the '60s. Since we were only there overnight to catch an early flight out of IAH it was fine, and the price was reasonable, it served the purpose, but we won't be back. There are other SPG properties, including right next door, that are newer and probably much better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for your feedback. While we're glad the bed and TV met your satisfaction I wish to apologize for the issues with the water, cleaning & decor. Having recently had all three boilers given their annual check up, we are disappointed to hear this- I hope you let us know the room number so we could identify & check this closer and also about the cleaning so we can check & correct any particular room cleaning. As with the decor, our designer did take a 60's/70's theme (plus airplanes) with freash modern colors- and while liked by many, we understand that it can be controversial. I hope you might try us again. We appreciate your business. Respectfully, Dennis Miller, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing special about this Hotel. They seems a bit overwhelmed by the number of people staying there. I stayed here because of a ftlight delay which they seem to get alot of customers from the airlines. In the room was a sign saying they had toothbrushes but at the desk they said they had been out for a few days, next day none again. Wifi is spotty, shower/tub plumbing was in poor repair. The room was clean and comfortable. The exercise room was nice and the out door pool looked good too. Resturant food was run of the mill, served day old rolls and freezer burnt butter, main course was better.
I would not choose to stay here but with the airline paying for the room it was acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOUAP6804, General Manager at Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest; we appreciate your feedback and glad to learn that many aspects of your stay were good. However, we also appreciate you sharing that some nights such as yours, when we receive delayed airline guests that it can sometimes be a bit hectic. We have continguency plans in place to help displaced travelers when this occurs and will continue to look for ways to respond better. Sincerely, Dennis Miller, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport

Address: 15222 John F Kennedy Blvd, Houston, TX 77032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Houston
#63 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience relaxation and renewal at the newly renovated Holiday Inn hotel in Houston, Texas.With a casually sophisticated atmosphere, first-rate facilities and a welcoming staff, Holiday Inn Houston - Intercontinental Airport Hotel offers the very best in Texas accommodations. Leisure and business travelers alike will appreciate our Houston hotel's convenient location off I-45 and Beltway 8 as well as our complimentary shuttle services to the IAH Airport, which make transportation trouble-free during your stay.These modern accommodations provide easy access to many popular attractions, including H&H Ranch, the Astrodome, Sam Houston Race Park and SplashTown Houston. Our hotel is close to great shopping at Deerbrook Mall and the famous Houston Galleria, as well.Lodging at our upscale Houston hotel provides corporate travelers with top business services like a 24-hour business center, free Wi-Fi and flexible meeting space. From a beautiful ballroom to an intimate boardroom, we have the perfect facilities for your next Houston event. Our accommodations are also near major corporations like Halliburton, Continental Airlines, ExxonMobil and Nat'l Oilwell Varco.We go beyond ordinary Houston hotels to offer the best in traditional hotel hospitality and services. Relax in the outdoor pool and enjoy your favorite comfort foods at our ranch-style restaurant. Discover premium comfort and affordable rates at the Holiday Inn Hotel in Houston, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport Hotel Houston
Intercontinental Houston Airport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Houston Intercontinental Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.