We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going the extra mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton University of Houston to your Saves list
Hilton University of Houston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #46 of 468 Hotels in Houston
New Braunfels, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Going the extra mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

I made our reservation over the internet and somehow the room preference request didn't go through.

I showed the young man at the reception desk my confirmation from the website, which I had printed out that morning. As he apologized, he asked to copy my print out and said he would correct the error. Then, he led us to a large hospitality suite as a substitute for our room. We had a kitchen, a large living and dining room, two huge closets and doors to a large balcony. The living room and bedroom each had large plasma screen TV's.

I appreciate the effort and interest in making us comfortable and correcting the mistake.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    77
    22
    17
    8
See reviews for
53
22
9
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Park
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

Although I didn't need to be near the hotel I was worried that the campus would pose a problem but it didn't. The night I arrived it was pouring rain and visiblity was poor. I was thrilled to have underground parking which is not always the case in Houston. The hotel staff was very nice and yes there was a lot of students in training. The room was a bit dated but clean. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quite. My only complaints are the fact that the air conditioning could not be set to a certain degree, it was either on freezing or nothing at all. I tried to adjust the thermastat but to no avail. The other issue is the need for a token to exit the parking lot. This meant you were constantly asking the front desk for them. If you forgot it requires a trip back upstairs to the lobby. All in all for the right price (under $125) I would stay again any more and I would have to think twice.

  • Liked — The bed, covered parking
  • Disliked — No controls over the airconditioning
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, TX
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

DATED ROOMS: SCARY PARKING: POOR ROOM SERVICE; CLUELESS FRONT DESK STAFF: NO SECURITY: STAY at the HILTON AMERICA's - it's only five minutes away.... I stayed at the University of Houston Hilton last year (9.2007). I was attending a conference for 5 days. I was sick and I called the front desk SEVERAL times to tell them not to cancel my reservation which was GUARANTEED with a CC because I would be there by 6 a.m. Monday morning instead of Sunday night. The reservation WAS cancelled and the hotel was booked for the entire length of my conference - no apologies at the time. I wrote a letter and finally got a "free romance weekend night" apology. That night was last Friday 8.1.08. First of all, we were given the "murder central" room at the end of the hall by the stairwell where the noise transfers extensively. The only time I have been given this room in the past is when I get a "priceline room" or the "military rate" room. Our romantic strawberries were great. And then, it started - the noise. About 9 p.m. we could hear very loud laughter. We waited to see if it would quit on it's own - I AM NOT A COMPLAINER! really. We complained about the noise twice before 11 p.m. - no apologies or offer to move us to a quieter room. I was awake listening to DOORS SLAM! loud laughter, someone singing in the shower near me, and music. I finally called the front desk around 4 a.m. They said there was nothing they could do and offered to move us. WE LEFT - sleeping in my bed at home with my three dogs and cat was is more romantic! The entire hotel management and especially the front desk manager Michele K. does not have a good handle on the staff or the quality of service. The rooms ARE dated - looks like something Lucy and Dezi would have stayed in on one of their trips to California... Room Service is limited. The bathrooms are tiny with chips falling off the tiles and mold in the air filters. I contacted management again and was told there was nothing they could do about the noise!! and offered me free dinner at the crappy restaurant. I WILL NEVER STEP FOOT INTO THE UNIVERSITY HOUSTON HILTON AGAIN, unless I have to because I do attend conferences there. PLEASE contact me if you need more information....

  • Liked — My night was FREE but it was still a terrible VALUE
  • Disliked — THE NOISE and lack of concern by staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We were visitors at the University of Houston and a department at the school booked us in the hotel.

1. The hotel is a bit more dated then the Trip Advisor review page reveals. The exterior is just okay and the interior lobby is a symphony of green carpet from the 70's.

2. The staff was really nice, helpful. They are students at the University.

3. Hotel hallways were nice - more updated - someone did some renovating here - then you slide the card into your room door - and...well, let's just say it ain't the Hilton! Oh, wait - it was the Hilton!

4. Our room was small and weirdly spaced, there was a weird sliding closet and a giant vent above one of our beds. The TV was tiny - the reviews are right - it was laughable! I laughed.

5. At 3am our neighbor came home. We heard his whole conversation for the next hour. Seriously - it was like he was in the room with us. We determined that the vent was to blame. We mentioned it to the front desk, their response: "We're very sorry"

6. Cold water. Came in to take a shower after a long day - after letting the water run for about 10 minutes the temperature never went from cold to hot. Called the front desk to complain, the response "I never heard that before."

7. The restaurant was questionable...a grand white iceberg salad was delivered with chemical carrot slices, the menu seemed to be aiming at something - but overall was pretty random. The food was just okay...just like everything else at the University of Texas Hilton - just okay...

8. Parking system is kind of dated. Visitors get video game tokens to feed the parking machine. One for every exit.

9. Nice sewing kits though.

  • Liked — Close to my business meetings. Sewing kits.
  • Disliked — Cold Water, Hearing neigbors through the air vent.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I have stayed at the Hilton at the Univ. of Houston about 5 or 6 times since 2006. While the hotel itself is fine - my rooms have always been comfortable and clean, no noise issues for me. My coworkers complained about not enough hot water one morning during our recent stay from March 5-6. I have also eaten at Eric's restaurant in the hotel several times since 2006. The experience at the restaurant has definitely been uneven, especially during this last stay March 5-6, 2008. The service was slow on for both breakfast and dinner. My food at dinner was acceptable, but one of my coworkers returned what she ordered for dinner. A manager should have come out to see what the problem is when a customer returns a meal. At breakfast the next day I discovered a smashed tomato in the carpeting that was left over when the restaurant was not properly cleaned from the night before. This is not a good sanitary procedure.

The hotel is fine, but if you are going to be in Houston for more than a day or two, you might want to explore other dining options than Eric's.

  • Liked — Location near my business meeting, very comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Eric's Restaurant - food and service need improvement
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2007

We booked this hotel thinking it was a Hilton near the University (near where we have business) but instead it is a Hilton ON the University. BIG MISTAKE!
Yeah ok I get the concept they've got to learn somewhere but wow if this is what they are learning lookout Hilton! First impressions mean a lot - pull up out front and the area is all trashy and some kind of muddy sludge. Drag bags up the handicap ramp (about 8 stair steps worth) through the mud and crud. Front desk was ok but the lobby stinks like a sewerline problem - elevator too. Slooooooow elevator. Then get to a Dirty room that hasn't been updated since the early 80's I'd say - it's got PINK furniture and gilded everything. Tiny tv - I'm not kidding like an RV size. Tiny tiny tiny bathroom.... did I mention tiny? Not even the newer curved curtain rods to keep the nasty shower curtain from sticking to you.

No diamond perks outside of the larger room - no dining chits or exec level. No pool. No gym onsite but you can use the one on campus (ah no thanks). $6/day parking which you have to get tokens from the front desk to use.

Very noisy - lots of traffic noise & people milling around outside (oh yeah it's ON the university!).
One and only plus - great Hilton bedding so I'll give them 1 dot for that. Other than that - just not a Hilton.

  • Liked — Hilton bedding
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2006

This hotel is attached to the University of Houston and serves as a training ground for the school of hotel and restaurant management program. I liked the concept.

The room was nice and clean. The style was a little too conservative for my tastes, but it was not overwhelming either.

The staff was good, but not outstanding.

The parking was difficult (required tokens and the gates were having issues).

The walls were REALLY thin. I sneezed and the guy next door said "bless you." I also picked up my phone when his rang (then I heard every word of his conversation).

I was placed right outside the elevator even though I requested a quiet room away from the elevator.

The location is literally on a college campus - positive or negative depending on your personal tastes.

Overall my stay was good, but not outstanding.

  • Liked — The free sewing kit in the bathroom :)
  • Disliked — The noise level!!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a token from the front desk before you try to exit the parking garage.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Houston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#49 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.