We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Houston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton University of Houston to your Saves list
Hilton University of Houston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Plano, United States
1 review
“Will definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The room was very nice The food was excellent (breakfast at the restaurant, lunch at the conference), excellent service, friendly staff. Everything was very clean. Parking garage was clean and well-lit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    64
    22
    16
    8
See reviews for
44
20
9
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New London, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel one night every week during fall and spring semesters for about two years. I find the hotel to be excellent overall. I have become aware that a very large portion of the staff are students of the College of Hotel and Restaurant Management. They do a great job, often better than experienced professionals I've encountered at other hotels. The hotel always has a refreshing smell but I cannot get any of the staff to tell me the secret! Seeing it every week has allowed me to see some occasional problems, such as a broken elevator to the parking garages, but this lasted only a week or so and was not the fault of the staff. I suggest that if you have business at UH, do not consider any other place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the city. The view is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hilton University of Houston is an OK hotel. The room are clean and reasonably sized, but somewhat dated and there is nothing special about the hotel or the rooms, so the price at over $300 for a regular room is too high.
The hotel caters primarily to the University of Houston, so unless you trip centers on that par of town, it is not a good location.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators as the hotel has a large amount of sports teams and others staying that can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Construction in the area made accessing the facility difficult. There was also a festival that further blocked visibility.

It was difficult to understand the front desk staff.

My concerns about accurate billing were not addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

very nice clean modern rooms. understaffed and poorly managed staff. parking was a ripoff, parking garage elevator broken. Room service messed up on breakfast order. poorly run Hilton property. noboy that worked at the hotel cared. i would NOT stay at this hotel the next time i was in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to this hotel for a conference, and it was very nice. I think it is staffed mostly by students who are studying restaurant and hotel management at the University of Houston. For the most part, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is your run of the mill hotel restaurant, but not bad, and the prices were fair compared to other hotel restaurants. All-in-all, it was comfortable, the catered conference meals were good, and the hotel is very clean.

I'm not sure I would stay here if on vacation as it is quite out of the way from anything besides UH. But for a football game, conference, or to visit students, it is a great, convenient place.

There is no free breakfast, but the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The problem we had was with the meeting room. In 2012 we had a workshop of 40 participants, who needed to use their computers and there was not one plug in the room. After much complaining, there was an electrical unit that was brought to the room for which they wanted to charge us $500.00.
We did return for another training on March 2013 hoping that all would be fine this time, but our training room was freezing and people brought blankets. We complained for over two days and nothing was done. In the meantime two people became ill and one had to leave the training.
We also had terrible problems with the internet, but that was solved rapidly with land lines. The internet should be checked and assure that it is in working order prior to renting meeting space at $2,500. The problem is that once we pay for the training room, there is little if any help that follows.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Houston
#45 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#55 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.