We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not honor our tax-exempt status. Almost impossible to follow directions to access the facility due to construction.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Houston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton University of Houston to your Saves list
Hilton University of Houston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKFAST & WI-FI
Ranked #46 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Belton, Texas
1 review
“Did not honor our tax-exempt status. Almost impossible to follow directions to access the facility due to construction.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Construction in the area made accessing the facility difficult. There was also a festival that further blocked visibility.

It was difficult to understand the front desk staff.

My concerns about accurate billing were not addressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    77
    23
    17
    8
See reviews for
53
22
9
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

very nice clean modern rooms. understaffed and poorly managed staff. parking was a ripoff, parking garage elevator broken. Room service messed up on breakfast order. poorly run Hilton property. noboy that worked at the hotel cared. i would NOT stay at this hotel the next time i was in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to this hotel for a conference, and it was very nice. I think it is staffed mostly by students who are studying restaurant and hotel management at the University of Houston. For the most part, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is your run of the mill hotel restaurant, but not bad, and the prices were fair compared to other hotel restaurants. All-in-all, it was comfortable, the catered conference meals were good, and the hotel is very clean.

I'm not sure I would stay here if on vacation as it is quite out of the way from anything besides UH. But for a football game, conference, or to visit students, it is a great, convenient place.

There is no free breakfast, but the breakfast in the hotel restaurant was pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The problem we had was with the meeting room. In 2012 we had a workshop of 40 participants, who needed to use their computers and there was not one plug in the room. After much complaining, there was an electrical unit that was brought to the room for which they wanted to charge us $500.00.
We did return for another training on March 2013 hoping that all would be fine this time, but our training room was freezing and people brought blankets. We complained for over two days and nothing was done. In the meantime two people became ill and one had to leave the training.
We also had terrible problems with the internet, but that was solved rapidly with land lines. The internet should be checked and assure that it is in working order prior to renting meeting space at $2,500. The problem is that once we pay for the training room, there is little if any help that follows.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It was very pretty with a wonderful location, perfect for my stay! My room service was good and not terribly priced. The front desk staff -eh, and it wasn't all of them. They just didn't seem to care. However, the housekeeper was beyond friendly, and one front desk clerk was so kind and greeted me every time I walked by! The room wasn't very sound proof so I heard anytime a door was shut on my hall. My hot water was more warm (and it didn't matter what time I took a shower) instead of hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

University of Houston Hilton - great place to stay when in the area - hotel is warm, rooms are neat and breakfast was great too - meeting rooms where well appointed - lunch for the lube school was done by the hotel and was great

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Make sure all questions you have are answered correctly. Verfy more than once. Too many different customer service representatives at the front desk. If you have a question, going back to the front desk there is always someone else at the desk. Make sure billing is correct and correctly done . I reserved three rooms, billing for two rooms was completed and paid for one week. Total confusion when we arrived. The front desk was very flustered. Understanding English seemed very difficult, Credit cards were charged again when they should not have been. Putting a charge on a credit card is very easy, trying to take off the charge takes a very long time! Very disappointing,.

Room Tip: Make sure you know exactly what your reservations are...if making any prepayments for more than one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Houston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#48 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.