We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton University of Houston

Save Saved
You added Hilton University of Houston to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton University of Houston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 451 hotels in Houston
Sulphur, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Wow, what a surprise! I was not expecting such a nice hotel on a University campus. Thanks to HHonors, we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite for a minimal fee, which was very comfortable and spacious. The bed was amazingly comfortable, which is always a plus.

The only complaints are that we requested breakfast by hanging the tag on the door, and it was never retrieved, and several of the staff speak very broken English and had a hard time understanding our requests.

Overall, however, very good hotel.

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors to qualify for upgrades at a fraction of the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    54
    20
    14
    8
See reviews for
34
15
9
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

I will admit that I stumbled upon this hotel and sure glad that I did! Hilton created a partnership with the College of Hospitality at the University of Houston and as a result the hotel is both a teaching ground as well as a platform of perfection. The rooms are some of the best appointed that I have come in contact with. The rooms are immaculate. The staff is incredibly attentive and the area is wonderfully quiet. Located just a few exits from downtown the hotel is amazingly easy to access on and off hwy 45. There is not a question that I will be staying at this hotel every visit to Houston I have!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel while on a business trip in Houston. I wasn't expecting much from a university hotel and was worried about noise... I was surprised. Located on the campus, it is a very nice hotel, with specious modern room, and young, friendly staff.
Room was very nice, light, with good bed and no noise. Internet worked flawless. I ordered room service and really enjoyed it. Breakfast in the morning was promptly served and good.
Questions, requests, everything was answered and addressed right away.
I have yet another trip to Hourston next month. I know which hotel to book now.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Campus hotels are a little unpredictable, but this one is a star. The rooms look to have been recently redone, and are attractive and comfortable. I had dinner in the restaurant and service and food were flawless. Some renovation was ongoing in the area containing offices/meeting rooms, and our meeting room was nothing special, so maybe they are working to update that part of the hotel next. If you have business at or near the University of Houston, this is a very good place to stay. The hotel wireless didn't work well for me, but the University's wireless network was a perfect substitute. Both are free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malakoff, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was booked at this property by accident, and I am now a repeat customer. The staff are mostly students in training for hospitality management, but each of them had a gracious smile on his/her face. Rooms are spacious and housekeeping even folded my dirty clothes and placed a folded laundry bag on top for easy access. Parking is very cheap and the hotel is extremely secure. Thank you all for such a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a nice hotel in the area to stay for my Grandmother's funeral. We didn't want to have to drive into downtown, so we found this hotel by googling hotels closest to where we would need to be for the services. The location was perfect, it is in the middle of the U of H campus, but had easy parking in the parking garage. Our check-in was very quick and we were given a clean, modern, and lovely room. After checking in, we were tired and hungry, so we found the restaurant downstairs which was still open. Our food was very good, so good that we decided to go back the next morning for the breakfast buffet. The buffet was exceptional as well, with a large variety of options. My husband needed help with tying his tie and the wonderful staff at the front desk were happy to help. :-) All in all, would recommend this hotel for not only those associated with the UH campus, but for any travelers who want a nice place to stay for a reasonable amount of money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our second time at this property.One of our favorite hotels.Very clean,staff is very friendly.Most important thing,I would say in 60% property is run by students.They attend Conrad Hilton School of Hotel and Restaurant Management which is located at the campus.Melisa at the front desk was very helpful, gave us all info we needed.Room was great,lots of room,bathroom is very nicely done,very clean.Parking you have to pay $15 per 24Hrs.Only thing that is inconvenient ,is pool and exercise room.But for this inconvenience you have a chance to walk and use their Wellness Center.You have to see it to believe it .It is huge.I don't think that there is a lot of hotels that can offer that kind of facility.
Eric's Restaurant is also run mostly by students.Service is great,fast,food taste very good.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton University of Houston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton University of Houston

Address: 4800 Calhoun Rd, Houston, TX 77004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Business Hotel in Houston
#68 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton University of Houston 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on campus at the University of Houston and home to the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management, Hilton University of Houston is minutes away from the downtown Houston business district. Just 10 minutes from William P. Hobby Airport (HOU), 40 minutes from George Bush Intercontinental Airport (IAH), and with 25,000 sq. ft. of meeting and event space, the hotel is perfect for business Guests. Our University of Houston hotel is conveniently located for Houston attractions such as Reliant Stadium, Toyota Center, and Minute Maid Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton University of Houston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton University Of Houston Hotel Houston
Hilton University Houston
Hilton Houston
Houston Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton University of Houston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.