We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reservation Fail, Smoky Room, Had to Flee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 North Highway 6, Houston, TX 77079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 457 Hotels in Houston
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reservation Fail, Smoky Room, Had to Flee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I don't understand these great reviews. Then again, I didn't stay here very long. I specifically requested a nonsmoking room in the reservation. After checking in, we found the room to be very smoky. Called down to the front desk. The clerk said the hotel was sold out and that she would contact the manager and call back. After about 15 minutes and no call back, went down to the front desk to find out what was going on. She had not heard from the manager and had no other rooms to move us to. While she was pleasant and offered to comp us for the night, this was not acceptable to us. We requested a nonsmoking room for health reasons. We then spent the next hour on our laptop looking for another hotel nearby. As it turns out, this was not an easy task as every place in the area was also sold out. We finally found another place and canceled our stay with Drury. The room, btw, was quite large, with a sitting area separate from the bedroom. But the fixtures felt a bit old. And after being in the room for just an hour, we smelled of smoke and had to launder our clothes. FAIL.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of the problem with your reservation. I know how frustrating reservation problems can be and apologize for the inconvenience. You can be confident that we will follow-up on your concerns so that others are not disappointed as you were.

Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please try us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Sincerely,
Timothy Rosenberger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
17
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had rather middle expectations for this hotel, but it turned out to be a very nice stay! Nice room, very friendly and exceedingly helpful staff (mgr. and behind the counter). Breakfast could be better, but still friendly lady.
Good, convenient parking, and there is an Avis within walking distance.
Several restaurants within walking distance.
A nice sleep.

Room Tip: one side (the one we were on) is near the freeway, but it was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Loved the feeling that I could shower and come out squeaky clean and sparkling after a long road trip! I loved Drury Inn so much on my most recent business trip, I had to find another one, and man it's like a religious experience! What nice rooms. I feel like heaven on earth in those sheets. Laid back perfectly against those pillows and slept til morning! It was awesome. Highly recommended!! Clean place and comfy beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANSFIELD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Very friendly staff! This whole area everyone was very nice. The grass was a little too wet in the morning to walk my dogs, but that was the only bad thing I could say about this place.

They had a great breakfast each morning and then at 5:30pm they served a warm snack and drinks. It was good and it was plenty to be a meal if you didn't have time to go out.

We were here for a dog show, very close to the show site.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We've never been disappointed at a Drury Inn and this one is excellent. Beautiful, comfortable room, good service, well priced, convenient location and pet friendly. Very clean and new looking bathroom fixtures. Good hot breakfast served in the morning at no extra cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice, clean hotel. If I'd read more closely when I booked, I would not have been surprised by the free drinks and free food in the evening! That was a nice touch. The staff were friendly and helpful. Not far the children's hospital in Katy.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Location is great. Right at I10 & Hwy 6 intersection. Next door to Wyndam hotel. We were given a great group rate. Joe McCoy was overseeing the complimentary food and drink hours available in dining area. He was a prime example ofhow great customer service will have our team return. Joe was outgoing and helpful. Across the street are both a Brother'd Pizza and Quizno's. Both I recommend and also had great service. Our room was so spacious and clean. And we were able to get a 1 pm check out. The free breakfast was good and we had same great service by the sweetest lady. She was just adorable and treated everyone like family. We will for sure book here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor

Address: 1000 North Highway 6, Houston, TX 77079
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Houston
#55 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#137 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. With easy access to all that the big city of Houston has to offer, the Drury Inn & Suites Houston West is just a short drive from downtown. The hotel team will welcome you with Texas charm, clean rooms and free hot food every morning and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Houston West
Drury Inn & Suites Houston West Hotel Houston
Drury Inn Houston
Drury Houston
Houston Drury Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.