We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Exceptional Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 North Highway 6, Houston, TX 77079   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
261 helpful votes 261 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Exceptional Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

I used Sidestep to find the best rate for this hotel and paid $75 per night. Although there is construction in the area, I didn't experience any issues with driving to the hotel or finding parking.

Check-in was quick and efficient. Since this was my first stay at a Drury hotel, the receptionist provided information about the great services offered: free internet, free long distance call for one hour and breakfast. Apparently, I missed the free food and beverages offered earlier in the evening.

Hotel does have a laundry room with one washer and one dryer. Currently, it costs a $1.00 per load. Detergents and softener were available for .75 each. Front desk has change available for the machines.

Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Like the rest of the room, the microwave and refrigerator were both clean. Great variety of channels available on the television. A small coffee maker is available in the room. The luggage rack was located in the closet.

Since kids stay free, there were several families staying at the hotel. Fortunately, the rooms are soundproof. Although there was a lot of commotion in the hallways, I couldn't hear any of it while in the room.

For breakfast, as mentioned in the previous reviews, eggs, sausages, cereals, fruit and biscuits with gravy are available. There are two belgian waffle makers available. Since there was a crowd of children surrounding both waffle makers, I didn't feel like waiting to make waffles.

Checkout was just as efficient as the check-in process. Check-in was at 3:00 PM. Checkout was at 11:00 AM.

When visiting Houston, I'll definitely stay again. Great hotel.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
17
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Tx
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2008

Stayed here for my second trip to Houston (business) in a month - I had stayed at another hotel last time, and the Drury is much better value all around.

The good:

- Nice decor & atmosphere
- Good sized room (king sized bed with large desk area)
- Complete set of toiletries
- - Good continental breakfast time
- Great location for visiting downtown clients
- Free wired Internet in the room and wireless in the lobby

  • Liked — Location and Service
  • Disliked — Amenities
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2007

Great clean, quiet room. Loved hot breakfast, free phone and internet. Pet friendly.

  • Liked — No pet fee.
  • Disliked — Road construction blocks access
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2007

"Wow!" Is the best word to describe this hotel, the staff, and our stay at the Drury Inn-West Houston. I contacted the hotel directly to book as we were flying in from Norway at the last minute due to a death in the family. The manager I spoke with (Abraham) was VERY kind and sympathetic to our situation and was kind enough to give us a very nice rate which was a blessing considering the ridiculous amount of cash we had to fork over for airfare (apparently bereavement fares are a myth and don't exist!!!) We requested a crib in the room and for you parents out there who have traveled with small children, you know what a relief it is to not only ACTUALLY have the crib ready and waiting for you in the room but the crib not to be a death trap! The crib was CLEAN, sturdy, well assembled and already made. Happy baby. Bliss! The room was cleaned spotless everyday. Bed was SUPER comfy. PLENTY of fresh towels daily. Husband and baby enjoyed the indoor pool which was quite large for a property of this size. Room had microwave and fridge. TV had LOTS of channels to choose from. Wireless internet in the room was good and free. Coffee/Tea service in room was nice. Breakfast was quite tasty! Not just cereal (they had that too) but sausage patties, scrambled eggs (typical pre-packaged, but at least they HAD eggs), breads including bagels, make your own waffles, milk, juice, coffee, fruit, etc. Location is great. Right off of I-10 on Highway 6. No restaurant in the hotel, but there's a so-so steakhouse next door (OK if you want to grab a burger) and some menus are in the room of a few places that will deliver to your room. Only tsmall complaint I could make is that there's not much in the way of storage in the room we had (a king room). Only a desk with 2 small drawers and one closet that could hold only one of our suitcases. More drawer space would be nice. The staff was great! So super friendly and helpful! I have to thank Haji, Abraham, Sunshine, and Reana- the Breakfastroom Lady who was so friendly and fell in love with our little baby girl. For a moderate price hotel, it REALLY is the best value for the money with the best service. Staying at the Drury Inn really is like staying with family...only much, much better and no drama! :-)

  • Liked — The staff and breakfast
  • Disliked — not enough drawer space
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

This hotel chain is wonderful !!! I can't say enough about the service, the staff, the rooms, the food, the free drinks!! I have stayed in Drury's in San Antonio, Houston, Dallas , New Orleans, St Louis and probably a few I can't remember. Most of the guys on our road crew smoke and Drury still offers smoking rooms on their top floor. Finally a hotel chain figured out that smoke rises! We all love the food, the staff are wonderful, even if some don't speak English they still try to understand what we want or find someone to help. The guys love the free food, and drinks at night and breakfast in the morning is wonderful. Our only complaint is the eggs and that is pretty much all hotel chains across America. The best Drury I have stayed in is San Antonio where they have a chef who makes you cooked to order eggs and the evening snacks are practically dinner! Baked potato's with all the trimmings, hot dogs with chili, salad bar, chips and the never ending supply of popcorn. Dallas also offers the extended evening snacks/meal but sadly the eggs are still that gross liquid from a carton. When I enquired why some were different I was told it is because those hotels are test markets to see if it is feasible to add to all their hotels. I sure hope they do this because we love the Drury's. It is also located within walking distance to a Wal-Mart, movie theater, other restaurants and shopping on the other side of the freeway. We hit Dallas and Houston every 6 weeks and they now give us a great Corp Group Rate and are always willing to work with us.

  • Liked — Free food, CLEAN!
  • Disliked — Eggs, only one washer and dryer
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

We had driven all day (a Sunday) from Pensacola. The inn looked interesting and never heard anything negative about the chain so we booked a room and had no regrets. Nicest thing for us was it was on the west side and did not have to contend with the Monday morning commute traffic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Effingham, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2006

We stayed at Drury after leaving another hotel. It was wonderful. Staff was understanding. Very comfortable. Beautiful large suite. This just saved our visit to Houston.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor

Address: 1000 North Highway 6, Houston, TX 77079
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Houston
#54 Romantic Hotel in Houston
#137 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. With easy access to all that the big city of Houston has to offer, the Drury Inn & Suites Houston West is just a short drive from downtown. The hotel team will welcome you with Texas charm, clean rooms and free hot food every morning and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn And Suites Houston West
Drury Inn & Suites Houston West Hotel Houston
Drury Inn Houston
Drury Houston
Houston Drury Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Houston West/Energy Corridor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.