We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ms. Satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest to your Saves list
Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5454 Hollister Street, Houston, TX 77040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #274 of 468 Hotels in Houston
1 review
“Ms. Satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very nice staff and excellent service & hotel I would definitely return for another stay. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends. It was very impressive to have such a comfortable atmosphere. The convenience of having different stores to shop at around the hotel area was a plus also. I think that the manager & staff members must work hand in hand to keep this hotel such an wonderful place. Home away from home

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    5
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
6
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a great hotel i will stay here again and also recommend it to friends and family. The staff or great peoples and latoya have been got to me since I checked making sure I have everything I need.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel for three days and could not take it anymore and left. I didn't even stay the whole night my last night there. There where huge roaches in the hall, and my room had fleas and roaches. This place must be a hot spot for drugs, cause they have major traffic coming and going all hours of the night. My room was near the side doors on the first floor, that is how I know people where making show much noise coming and going. Beer cans where being used to keep the doors propped open. I was only in my room at night, so when i would go to the front desk nobody was ever there. When I finally talked to the front desk person they told me there was security on property. What a joke the guard stays in his car all night sleeping. The place really smells like wet dog and mold. Then the so called grab and go breakfast was a joke. Sorry to leave such a bad report, but after the stay I had you would understand I have been generous in my critiques.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.
Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We are halfway through our stay and, thus far, our overall experience at ESA has been excellent.The location is convenient to our daughter's home, and to all of the locations we want to visit in Houston. The staff is always helpful, and is always quick to respond to our requests. LaTonya, the hotel manager, is always available to help us. The front desk personnel - Breanna, Daizha and Sal, are always couteous and helpful, and always greet us with a smile. Eric, the maintenance man, is always quick to respond to our needs, and he always is able to solve our problem. We are also very satisfid with our chamber maid (we haven't learned her name), who does a good job, and occasionally does some helpful things that we didn't expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful things about your experience. Our hotel is totally committed to the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours; it tells us that we are delivering on that commitment. Our business is one in which the staff gets to know our guests, who sometimes stay with us for weeks or months. We believe that building a professional, courteous, and accommodating relationship with our customers will continue to bring them back for future stays.

Once again, I and the entire staff at our hotel thank you for your very kind words, and we'd love to see you here again. Please don't hesitate to call on me for your future stays here or at any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I'm not big on extended stay hotels. Got this hotel on Priceline for a good rate and it was 2.5 stars with high ratings so I took it. Certainly don't think it deserves the high ratings that it has. Funky smell in the hallway (think nursing home) and even the smell of weed as we came in at nite in the hallway - this was ok in my college days but don't have the same appreciation today....but this is to be expected at a discount hotel with discount minded clientele. We had a single bed - Queen bed with cheap mattress - once again I had to remind myself I was at discount hotel not Hilton. Overall hotel was clean so give them credit where credit is due. Definitely need to clean carpets though more frequently. If you are on a tight budget an use to staying in cheap hotels you will like this hotel because it is the Ritz Carlton of cheap hotels....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. You have my most sincere apologies that your stay wasn't totally enjoyable.

We understand that you have many lodging options, so we strive to set ourselves apart from the competition by offering clean, comfortable suites at an affordable price. We know that a comfortable bed is our guest's most valued amenity, which is why we poll our guests on their satisfaction with our bedding. Although our company regularly invests in bedding upgrades, including pillow top mattresses, to respond to customer preferences, we need to keep getting feedback like yours in order to steer us in the right direction. I assure you that my hotel and all Extended Stay Hotels will continue to invest in our guest's comfort.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just stayed here for three days and it was horrible. My wife and I where on the first floor and for three days there was so many people going in and out of the room above us. All night and all day dirty looking people coming in and out. There was so much noise coming from the lobby, I guess there was a football party. I tried to complain at the front desk, but I guess everyone goes home after midnight. There where drunk guys grilling by the pool, and urinating in the bushes. The gym equipment was dirty and wet. The girl at the desk gave me a card with the supervisors number, and I left her many messages and she never called back. This was the first time my company has used them, and it will be the last.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

I am eager to respond to your issue. Please know that we strive to provide our guests with a relaxing home away from home experience. In your case, we recognize that we failed to operate according to our standard practices, which caused the disturbance to last longer that it should have.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me at this hotel or to our guest relations team directly by visiting our website and clicking the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Been here since June 2012. Staff is very friendly and goes out of the way to make sure my stay is pleasant. First impressions are important and the cleanliness of the outside and inside are always kept up. I just can't say enough about the whole staff. You can tell by their upbeat attitude that they truly enjoy coming to work

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints01Houston, Manager at Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that the staff have made your Extended Stay enjoyable. We know that first impressions are very important and we are glad that we have made a good one on you. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest

Address: 5454 Hollister Street, Houston, TX 77040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Deluxe Houston-Northwest Hotel Houston
Extended Stay Houston
Houston Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Houston - Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.