We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where the extras aren't extra...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria to your Saves list
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1615 W. Loop South, Houston, TX 77027   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 455 Hotels in Houston
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Where the extras aren't extra...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is superb value. Every day at 5:30pm we were greeted by an all-you-can-eat supply of Hot Dogs and Cheesy Mac. What more could one want?

Free breakfast, free parking, free long-distance calls, great pool and gym... no need to consider anywhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    46
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
24
7
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern US State
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Once again, the Drury brand has risen to the challenge and MORE than achieved the success it deserves and is recognized for - JD Power and Associates 7 years running! You can associate "luxury" with all sorts of names in the Hotel industry, and quite frankly, none will match the UNFETTERED, consistant results that Drury lives up to.
From the moment you arrive, you have this instant "ahhhh...Home Sweet Home"! That "dated" look so many comment about in my opinion continues that "ahhhh...Home Sweet Home" charm. That unpretentious, warm, welcoming greeting you get from Mary, Christopher, and the rest of Jose's Team enforces that "ahhhh...Home Sweet Home" sense when you arrive.
Check-in is always a breeze, one that says, "hey, hope your travel here was comfortable, and we're glad you're here." That anticipation of when the buttery hot, fresh, popcorn smell will begin to waffe through the lobby, to the "when's dinner - aka - 5:30 Kickback"; tell me, where are you going to get THAT feeling, and all at an incredible value?
I actually appreciate the room, it's layout, and amenities. It tells me that I've paid a reasonable price, for a safe, clean, quiet roof over my head with all the "trimmings" of a FREE hot breakfast, FREE hot afternoon/evening Kickback, FREE good wireless internet, FREE long-distance phone calls, FREE daily popcorn/soda, FREE parking and amenities like an INDOOR/OUTDOOR pool, indoor hot-tub and exercise room... My roonm is meant for a few hours of shut-eye; not where to spend my day. And so, I don't want to pay a huge price just to say it's chi-chi and ooh-la-la!
Proximatey to the Galleria, downtown Houston, 610, 10, 45, 290, River Oaks, and on and on. It's where to BE if you're going to be in Houston!
Jose...you bet we'll be back. You have a tremendous Team, run a beautifully managed hotel, with Staff who show they enjoy working there. We can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: Except when we're staying, see if you can snag one of the rooms directly above the front Lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We have stayed in several Drury Inns, so we're familiar with and appreciated the standard extras offered at this chain. Traveling as a family, this is part of why we choose a Drury. We enjoyed the hospitality of the staff, who were very accommodating. We appreciated the proximity to the Galleria and free parking. We liked the clean pool! However, we would not stay at this location again unless we knew the beds had been replaced.

The room itself was very clean. However, unlike in our past visits to other Drury Inns, we found that the beds were squishy and left us feeling creaky in the morning. Also, there is a smaller, traditional sink area, instead of a spacious marble counter area as in newer Drurys. The parking lot gate was up when we arrived, and when I inquired I was told that it was put down later in the night, but I wasn't awake to confirm this and it was open by the time we departed. This policy left me feeling a bit misled and nervous about the gated parking. Fortunately, there were no problems. The fitness room provided a nice workout, although it was a bit warm due to poor AC. Anyway, this stay was acceptable, but we'll hope the beds are updated by the next time we visit Houston Galleria area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to the Drury Inn and Suites, Near the Galleria. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comments regarding the beds and have passed it on to our Executive Housekeeper and Property Maintenance Person for a review of the room, bed (frame) and mattress. We are in the planning stages of a rooms renovation, to include the addition of queen beds (replacing doubles) which is tentatively set for the end of the year, going into the new year.

Our parking gates are opened every morning before 7am and then closed in the evening. I will review with our staff and make sure that we are opening and closing the gates according to this schedule.

Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at any time.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Jose Miranda
General Manager
Drury Inn and Suites, Near the Galleria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I always read what hotels say they offer but am always wondering what I will REALLY get when I am there. When I booked this hotel I heard that it was great and lived up to the mottto of "The extras aren't extra" and they were correct!! Free Hot or cold breakfast buffet, happy hour with 3 free drinks and dinner buffet, WOW! It was always stocked, clean and great for my family!! Th pool was an indoor outdoor one that our kids loved!
The only negative was that the hot tub was always breaking down and all the soda machines were out of stock?? Kind of annoying... Overall CLEAN, FRIENDLY AND FREE FOOD AND DRINKS!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, Illinois, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Most of the time when you go to a hotel you can tell whether or not the manager and staff care about pleasing you. This hotel is one where the staff cares. The manager circulated during "happy hour" in the lobby, where 3 free beverages and a good choice of hot foods and chips were served after 5 pm. My room, which was a dog friendly room, was nice, clean, the temperature control worked well, and I slept like a baby. In the morning, both hot and cold foods were offered up for breakfast, all the standard fare. The only reason I gave 4 instead of a 5 rating is that I wouldn't call this hotel EXCEPTIONAL - but it is very very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

My family and I set out on a mini vacation and really enjoy every bit of our stay here. The breakfast was amazing saved so much in eating here morning and night. The staff wad accommodating and friendly. The location was also a big plus and we were able to have our family pet along with us. What more can I say but Can't wait to back here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Brought a Girl Scout group..and had a great time. The pool was clean; the fitness room was in perfect order and the meals were good. The hotel is close to the Galleria without the typical extra charging found in that area..no parking fees at all. The rooms were clean and just as requested despite multiple changes and multiple needs. The staff even called the morning before we arrived to make sure that we had it all straight! GREAT customer service!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria

Address: 1615 W. Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Houston
#81 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, "hot" means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Just a few miles from downtown Houston and located near the popular Galleria Mall, the Drury Inn & Suites is the perfect place to use as home base for business or a big shopping trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria Hotel Houston
Drury Inn And Suites Houston Near The Galleria
Drury Inn Houston
Drury Houston
Houston Drury Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn & Suites Houston Near The Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.