We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOLD ON WALL, MOLDY GARBAGE UNDER MOLDY MATTRESS” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #239 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“MOLD ON WALL, MOLDY GARBAGE UNDER MOLDY MATTRESS”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Dear Sirs,

I am Assistant Director of a language academy in Denver (30+ employees). My business booked late (end of June 2012) for a NAFSA (educators') Conference and Howard Johnson Inn Katy Freeway was the only place with available rooms. When I arrived I noticed the room smelled musty, but since it was late I just went to bed. When I returned from the conference the next evening, I noticed mold in the corner of my room and determined to leave first thing the next day because of the hour. However, while in bed something bit me and I decided to check under the mattress (between the mattress and box spring). There I found moldy garbage: a plastic bag with some mystery material inside wrapped in paper towels as well as a mold filled serving tray which had permeated the mattress above with mold. I took photos of all this with the night manager present. I left that same evening for another hotel. The next day I was treated very rudely and sarcasticly when I called to talk about the matter. As a client I was sickened. Any hotel that allows the premises to deteriorate to the condition this hotel is in despises and resents their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that the location was a good one for you.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The front desk received additional training in the courteous, helpful manner in which they are to treat you, our valued guest.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    14
    10
    15
See reviews for
17
4
10
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, TX
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The room appeared to have been recently painted and was very clean. It was missing one light bulb but that was taken care of promptly. Parking would be aproblem if all the rooms were occupied but we had no problem. Breakfast didn't match what we have found at Best Westerns but it was adequate. Staff was friendly and responded to every request promptly. Major problem was the construction going on the access road and that's not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Get a good map. The access road for I10 does not always get you there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received our commendation for the level of cleanliness they maintain as our employees.

• Housekeeping received my personal commendation for the level of cleanliness they maintain as our employees.

• Staff received our commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest. Their promptness was especially commended.

• Staff received my personal commendation for the courteous, friendly manner in which they treated you, our valued guest. Their promptness was especially commended.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This place is excellent. The only thing bad is the city/state construction on I10 in front of the hotel. The rooms all very clean and well furnished. I always try to stay here when i'm in Houston. I recommend it to everyone. No pool or restaurant on premises, but who cares.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, i just prefer ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick La
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This motel is having to deal with major feeder expansion by the city of Houston. It is a small facility which is close to downtown and the Galleria area. It has been remodeled with new furnishings, etc. Each time I return I see different improvements. They have a full complimentary breakfast.
( Pastries, etc. and Hot foods ) I have stayed at the facility three times in the last six months. I would recommend this facility to any traveler. No frills, ( pool, etc. ) but it meets my needs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This is the second time my family and I stayed at this property. Although, the first time was a bit unpleasant, the second time was much better. The front desk clerk was very was nice; He made jokes and really seemed like he enjoyed us staying there. The bath towels were thin, but other than that, there were no problems with the room. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and I do plan on staying here again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

We checked into the hotel around 7PM and was given a nonsmoking room. Upon entering, the first thing we noticed was the smell of fresh paint, not bad. Wanted to turn on some heat, one of knobs was missing. Called manager who brought us another one to use. Room was clean and heat/air worked fine. There is free internet if you bring your own laptop but did not feel safe about leaving it in the room. We only had 2 thin bath towels so we had to go ask the manager for a couple more. There is a microwave and small refrigerator in room that worked fine. Also a 4 cup coffee maker but after the first day no coffee was left. Upon going to bed, there was no mattress cover over mattress, sheets were very thin and the bottom sheet was a flat sheet, not fitted, not even tucked in so all night the bottom sheet was tangled but the bed itself is very comfortable as well as the pillows. You can hear trains at night and the highway out front. The next morning we went down for the contential breakfast which consisted of fruit, cereal, powered donuts, bread and whole milk. Asked for skim milk and was told they didn't have any. We stayed 3 nights and each morning when we went for breakfast the same woman working at the desk did not even greet us or acknowledge we were even there. Completely ignored us like she could care less if we were staying at her establishment. She was walking around in the lobby and outside bear footed!! We stayed here because my husband had a conference at the convention center downtown and it was easy to get to. Will we stay here again, probably not. Did not like the way we were ignored, no mattress cover over the mattress is just gross and I want to sleep in a bed with fitted sheets that are not so thin you can see thru them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that it was a good location for your husband’s conference.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The manager received our commendation for the courteous manner in which he treated you, our valued guests, in personally bringing you a knob for the heating unit.

• The manager received my personal commendation for the courteous manner in which he treated you, our valued guests.

• The woman working at the desk received additional training in professional dress while working. Bare feet are not appropriate.

• The woman working at the desk received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guests, are to be treated.

• Housekeeping was approached about the possibility of fitted sheets being used. Also the room being kept supplied with coffee was discussed.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio,tx
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

I recommend not staying at this hotel...we got there 20 minutes before check in and the manager placed us on the second floor facing a wall in the corner. There were only 2 cars and we ask to change room; he was rude and sarcastic stating that we are lucky we had a room and would not give our money back even though we were unsatified. Bad customer service! when we went to the hotel room there was a horrible ordor! We called corporate and got our money back...if you looking for a hotel I recommended staying at the Comfort Inn down the block. Be recommended that this is not the safest looking area in Houston.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohoustontx, Webmaster at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear chino eyez

Thank you for attempting to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston during your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The manager received additional training in the courteous manner in which you, our valued guests are to be treated.

• The odor you encountered was discussed with the manager.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Howard Johnson Express Inn – Houston. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown

Address: 4602 Katy Freeway/I-10, Houston, TX 77007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 457 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold Medal Hotel for 5 straight years. For Budget Hotel in Houston, we are the best choice for both. We are consistently rated as a Top Luxury Hotel in Houston by our satisfied guests. We are the most appropriate TX Budget Hotel, to make your stay enjoyable at a low-cost. Some of our guests who have stayed with us in Houston, have informed us that they have made a good choice by selecting our Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Houston
Houston Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Inn - Houston Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.