We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for Extended Stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston Westchase

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston Westchase to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston Westchase
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9965 Westheimer @ Elmside, Houston, TX 77042 (Westchase)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #211 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Choice for Extended Stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was on a business trip in Houston for 2 weeks, and stayed at the Residence Inn Houston Westchase. The room was sufficiently furnished with a kitchen, living area, and study table, and the hotel staff were always alert to my questions. The gym is a little small but decently equipped. I did not get to try to the pool as it was far too cold for a swim. It is very conveniently located next to Kroger. I appreciated the daily breakfasts, and was pleasantly surprised by the social hour from Mon - Thur. This is probably the only hotel I know that provides meals in the evenings. If you are looking for an extended stay hotel that feels homely and warm, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Pick higher floors, with room windows facing away from the carpark as you can hear people talk and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our daily complimentary breakfast and our complimentary evening socials Monday through Thursday nights. We hope the next time your travels bring you to Houston you will be able to relax with a swim in the pool area!

Thank you,
Jayson Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    8
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
5
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks for work and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful - Anna at the front desk in particular. Some were not as skilled / experienced, but everyone was very friendly and willing to assist. The rooms are a bit dated and there were signs everywhere announcing the renovation, but I would would say it's perfectly fine even without the renovation.

The property has a nice pool area with lots of chairs, big BBQ's for guests to use and outdoor seating that we used a few times. They have breakfast (the typical stuff) and a beer/wine/light dinner reception a few days a week. The food isn't fantastic, but if you're busy working it's very convenient to just grab a snack and a glass of wine. I really loved having a grocery store literally right next door. It's wonderful to be able to grab something and is one of the major benefits of this hotel.

There is a free shuttle within a couple mile radius, but we found it hard to use / difficult to schedule. It is Houston afterall so you really need a car to get anywhere.

The rooms are probably slightly below your average Residence Inn, but they seem to be taking care of that. When I am headed back to Houston for my annual business trip next year I'll really look forward to our stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with this very valuable feedback. It is always great when we can recgonize an associate such as Anna for taking care of our guests! We have just completed our renovations which greatly improved our gatehouse and all of our guest rooms. We will be looking forward to your return next year!

Thank you,
Jayson Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My family and a friends family stayed here a week ago for a week. I read the reviews and was very skeptical of staying here. VERY skeptical. Well Needless to say we had a fantastic experience. The hotel is being renovated and we stayed in a suie that was not. BUT it was clean and comfortable. The front desk gave us the BEST customer service I've ever experienced, and I use to be a front desk clerk. The breakfast was great and Monday-Thursday they serve dinner with soft drinks, beer and wine. I couldn't have asked for a better property. I will DEFINITELY stay there again and I recommend that you do too!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with this great feedback. We are always working to continue to improve our hotel and our service and it is great to be able to share wonderful experiences such as yours with our team.

Jayson Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

I read below someone had called this hotel "not a good example of the brand". I wish I had read that before I booked here because that describes this hotel to a T. The one bedroom "suite" is actually a studio, though it's large, it's misrepresented. Just like the tennis court- which is a laughable tenth of the size of a tennis court. Completely unusable. The pool is murky, the laundry machines are in need of repair. The room itself is greatly outdated and the bed is not comfortable. This is supposed to be a Residence Inn, a Marriott, a three star hotel and it carries a price that reflects those characteristics. Unfortunately the hotel itself is barely comparable with a 2 star. Save your money and stay somewhere else, if you've ever been to a Residence Inn before, this location is a great disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
We are very sorry that your stay was not the experience you expected from a Residence Inn. We will be completely renovating the entire hotel from June 18th through August and we are confident the end result will be a huge improvement. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide this valuable feedback and hope if your travels bring you back to our area that you will consider staying with us again and seeing the improvements we making this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

In fairness, I should begin by noting that there IS, in fact, a sign on the check-in desk promising that the entire property will be renovated over the next few months...that does not, however, excuse poor housekeeping in one of the most dismal and depressing hotels I've stayed in for some time! Even the poor lizard decomposing on the back of our sofa had apparently given up the will to live after a night there...seriously...and that was AFTER the room had been "serviced" for our arrival.
Drawers, tables and kitchen area were stained and chipped. The bath was ridiculously slippy - to the point that my husband was ready to go ask them for a mat to place into it, if I hadn't insisted that we simply leave.
We have stayed here before, and the staff are always pleasant...but there's only so much they can do in the face of such miserable surroundings. We had booked for a week - but could only stand three days. With other brand new hotels - cheaper - in the same area, Marriott cannot refurbish this place any too soon. Right now, it doesn't deserve the name, and is an embarrassment to the brand.
The renovation of the pool does suggest that the hotel could be good again in the near future - just wait until the work is done before you book!

Room Tip: Wait until renovations have been finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We value all feedback and appreciate that you have brought your experience to our attention. We are very sorry that your stay with us was well below your expectations and we will definitely share your experience with our staff to ensure we continue to improve our housekeeping services. If your travels bring you back to Houston I hope that will give us another opportunity. Thank you again for your feedback.

Thank you,
Jayson Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Great service. The house cleaners were very attentive. The front desk was always there to address any problem. The swimming pool was relaxing and therapeutic. We had a great stay and look forward to our return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIWestchase, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston Westchase, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Jayson Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Good sized clean room. Somewhat tired equipment. Great breakfast. Good location. Friendly staff. Handy Supermarket next door. DIY Laundry. Very efficient Chambermaids. Shame about the quality of American TV, but you can't have everything !! Slamming doors and wooden floors a bit of a distraction.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Houston Westchase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston Westchase

Address: 9965 Westheimer @ Elmside, Houston, TX 77042
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Westchase
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston Westchase 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Houston Westchase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston Westchase, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.