We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 455 Hotels in Houston
HIGHLAND PARK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We were visiting friends and the central location of this La Quinta is a real plus. Our room was large and very comfortable. The breakfast was very mundane and they serve the hideous Nestle (not quite instant) coffee. The Galleria is 2 blocks away and there are many good restaurants near by. One hint: always exit out the back; don't go out the freeway access side. The Houston traffic is so terrible, the rear access puts you on a side street and makes it much easier to get around. Lot of business people stay here; so, the rates jump during the week.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    87
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
29
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed with my wife and other family members at this hotel because it was a hop skip and jump away from Minute Maid Park. The first room we stayed in, the air conditioning was out of order and smelled mildewy as Houston is a pretty humid city. They moved us into another room that was smaller than the first one. Usually when a hotel moves you out of a room because of their negligence, you get some sort of upgrade. No dice here. We were downgraded. Nevertheless, the room was decent, and had working air conditioning. My wife went out at 10:00pm to use the pool only to be told (pretty rudely I might add) that the pool was closed and we couldn't go near it. When I informed her that we were adults and had swam in the pool at night during our previous stay and wanted to sit by the pool, we were told that we couldn't and if we tried, they would call security to get us out. We were bummed. They could have been a lot more cordial to us and were not. They also did not have enough seating in the breakfast area and my elderly mother had to stand for 20 minutes until a table opened up. The rooms were clean and the location is great, but these guys seem to have trouble with the details. Don't use the word "guest" to describe your customers, if you're not going to treat us like guests. So overall, it was okay. Not thrilling, just okay.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the thermostat to make sure the rooms are cool during the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

La Quinta - West Loop is in an ideal location. Our room was comfortable and well attended by housekeeping. The front desk staff was attentive and clearly placed great importance on providing quality customer service. We look forward to staying at La Quinta - West Loop again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from the elevator and lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very nice room quiet and good breakfast! Short stay for business in Houston 3 days here and found it very nice and they accommodate smokers! large common meeting area WIFI and dinning room perfect for my needs while in the galleria area of Houston.
Small store in lobby for late night sweet raids this place gets a thumbs up from me!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We were visiting Houston for 2 nights following a 2 week trip around Texas, we wanted a hotel in a good spot that was easily accessible to restaurants, the space centre and the airport.
After reading a number old reviews we decided on this La Quinta, after reading some mixed reviews we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. We were greeted with great customer service from the staff who were very helpful with local knowledge and directions, our room was on the 3rd floor, quite a large room,there was soon road noise, but never kept us awake and really you'd probably expect this being in a city so close to the freeway. The room and hotel was very clean and we had no issues with the housekeeping.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to uptown park and 20 minutes to the galleria mall, we felt safe with convienance stores on the way.
Considering what we paid compared to other hotels in very close proximity we would highly recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Grove, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful landscape & spacious room. Pet friendly and close to popular retail stores and restaurants. Front desk personnel very friendly and great guides to great places in Houston, Texas. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Houston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel is good including house keeping, but, La Quinta Returns system is terrible and unacceptable!!
I (P09561699) have stayed La Quinta for 90 days (in Katy + Galleria) in this year and got certain La Quinta Returns point. I requested a coupon (to buy something in TARGET) in web site, then, my point was withdrawn immediately. However, although three weeks have passed, I do not received the coupon. Since I am alien, I must receive the coupon within this visit in USA because the coupon cannot be used outside USA.
I recommend management of La Quinta Inn to quite this poor reward system now and the cost for the system should be used for daily room rate discount.

Room Tip: Elevator is very slow. If you stay long time, 2nd floor is recommended because laundry machine is av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Address: 1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Houston
#123 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Houston Galleria Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area Hotel Houston
La Quinta Houston
Houston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.