We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what you might think” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 455 Hotels in Houston
El Campo, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not at all what you might think”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is at first thought convenient to almost everything. Everything that is except somewhere to eat perhaps when you are finished with a long day. Nothing around after 10pm. So be prepared for that and stop before you get close to the hotel on your return for the evening if it is late. Comfortable, yes .. if you find running up and down the stairs comfortable .. its either that or wait forever for an elevator.

Room Tip: Just be nice to the people and pray they are nice to you, don't even think about asking if the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    87
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
29
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was traveling on business and ended up spending two nights at this location. The traffic getting to and from the property can be a little rough, but it is worth it. The staff was amazingly friendly. My room was clean. The free breakfast is more substantial than what a lot of other hotels offer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Iberia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Over the last few years, we have stayed at least five times at the La Quinta near the Galleria in Houston, Tx. On previous stays I would have given a 5 star rating, but this time we were very disappointed. Our 6th floor room had two double beds that were as hard as the floor. The beds visibly sagged in the middle. Most La Quinta Suites have a soft, medium and firm pillow on each bed. We each had 3 firm pillows. Neither of us was able to sleep well. Our medium sized room was clean and bright and the Wi fi worked well. Breakfast was adequate, but, for the price, you would expect some hot/protein items. The location is great with plenty of restaurants and shopping near by and easy access to loop 610.

When I mentioned the hard mattresses to the desk clerk, at check out, he said the motel had recently replaced many of it's beds. We evidently got a room with that had not been updated. I wish I would have checked the beds firmness before we unpacked and got ready for bed.

Room Tip: Check your beds before you unpack and ask to change rooms if the pillow top is flat and hard. Be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a well located, and very clean facility. It seems as though about all major restaurant chains are within a few blocks. There is a Sonic Drive-inn in the same retail area. Highway access is right there, but no highway noise. The rooms have been recently been updated. The staff is very friendly, and the area seems very secure. The bed was very comfortable, and the TV is a new flat screen.

I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Friendly front desk staff. When using the hotel's business center to print out some tickets for an event we were attending, the FD would not allow me to print on a coffee stained page. :)
The same FD girl friendly greeted our 3 four-legged kids we traveled with (1 Pit Bull, 2 Huskies).
When my companion arrived before I did, after verification they allowed him to check-in for the both of us.

Nice little cardio room, could use some free weights (just a suggestion).

La Quinta is ALWAYS our 1st choice because there are plenty of locations & it is Pet Friendly; regardless of the pet size and/or quantity. Best of all NO Pet Deposit per pet!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed here eight nights on business. I was originally given a room on the 5th floor. I quickly learned that the elevator is probably the slowest one I have ever used. If you value your time, you will try to get a room on the main floor. After two nights I was able to move but had to accept a handicapped room. The first morning there, the shower would only dispense hot water. Interesting situation to get soaped up and have only very hot water available to rinse. This was corrected the same day.
The breakfast was ok but carb heavy. I would have appreciated another protein choice besides boiled eggs and yogurt. The coffee is not brewed but seems to be a form of instant. I made my own coffee in my room.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The beds are ultra-comfy. A generous variety of TV channels is offered and Wifi is strong and reliable. Parking is adequate and handy. The location was exactly what I needed for my purpose.

Room Tip: If you value your time, you will ask for a room on the first floor so as not have to deal with the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Address: 1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Houston
#113 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Houston Galleria Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area Hotel Houston
La Quinta Houston
Houston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.