We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027 (Great Uptown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 456 Hotels in Houston
Woodstock
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This room had a king size bed, flat screen TV, recliner, nice desk and chair, and free wi fi.
The foyer had a close at the entrance, frig, and microwave. It was very clean. Anthony at the front desk was very nice and friendly. My room overlooked the courthard which is very inviting. I didnt use the pool but it looked clean. Typical LQ breakfast. Close to Galleria and shopping. A little noisy during the day but okay at night. I will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    87
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
84
29
19
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel is in a good location & the courtyard is beautiful, the breakfast is great. The rooms are clean & spacious & the rate was very reasonable. The staff was very couteous. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have to remind myself to be impressed when I stay at a La quinta; I have yet to stay at a bad hotel in this hotel chain. This one is clean, well managed, and the rooms were very nice and I say that without considering the price.

There is a pool and hot tub and sizeable grounds/courtyard with grass for a hotel of this price and location.

This breakfast was a bit weak if you're hungry. There was the usual bananas, bagel, coffee, waffle maker, and boiled eggs. Eating options in the galleria are close enough to either grab a bite for dinner or in the morning a starbucks coffee. However, if you're in the mood for something outside of the places you are used back home then you may need to drive a bit further.

The location was safe, albeit it is close to the highway. I did not have any problems with parking or my car. However be smart and keep valuables with you and hide any items.

Overall, this hotel held up the reputation of La Quinta. It was reasonably priced, the location was close to where I needed to go, and it was clean and the rooms were more than I expected.

Room Tip: Tip: stay in a room overlooking the pool. If traveling with pets, ask the front desk whether there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my fiancé. I have very mixed reviews about this hotel because it was the little things during our stay that led to my low rating.

Pros: very clean, great service, friendly staff, comfortable room, free parking, decent breakfast selection.

Cons: toilets flush very loudly so you can hear all your neighbors when they use the bathroom throughout the night, the doors have no door closers resulting in all doors slamming whenever someone enters/leaves their room (this would wake us up at 2-3am everyday), during our stay there was landscaping to the grounds which resulted in the potent aroma of manure every time we stepped outside, our room (421) seemed crammed with the positioning of the furniture, there was no control to the AC which constantly made the room warm then cold throughout the evening, and our room was cleaned even with the "do not disturb sign" on the door (this led to feeling a slight invasion of privacy since we did not want anyone in our room).

Again, it was the small things that seemed to keep building which has resulted in my review. I will most likely not stay here again. Its a good deal for the price but there are other hotels right next door that offer the same accommodations for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at the La Quinta when my usual hotel was full. I was pleasantly surprised. It is in a convenient location and is generally quiet considering its proximity to the highway. The parking is also free. The overall atmosphere is pleasant. The rooms are clean but smell a little funny. The breakfast is good but the staff is not always on top of keeping the buffet items full. The front desk kept getting my check out time wrong so my key kept getting deactivated. However, they were always quick to remedy the sitation. This is a good place to stay if you are on a budget. Just don't expect everything to be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburndale, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We were coming from FL and was going to be in at 5 am I called the front desk at 3am telling the agent I was going to be in at 5am. Got no greeting just rude. So when we got in. The agenthad a bad attitude. After working in the hotel industry for many years at the front desk. I was very disappointed. After checking out I contacted management and they were very understanding about my needs.

As far as the room it was great size. King with sofa sleeper. Awesome for parents with 1 child. Sofa is a twin. Only thing that needs to be reconsidered is moving the tv. In all rooms it is to the side of the bed. Other than that a great stay. Breakfast was great.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area

Address: 1625 West Loop South, Houston, TX 77027
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston > Great Uptown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Houston
#124 Business Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Houston Galleria Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area Hotel Houston
La Quinta Houston
Houston La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Houston Galleria Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.