We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria to your Saves list
Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 McCue Street, Houston, TX 77056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Children's Musuem Package
Ranked #70 of 455 Hotels in Houston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Alesund, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quite acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

OK rooms, not new but well maintained and clean. Good size room, including a kitchen nook that I had absolutely no use for (staying one night).
Took the SuperShuttle from the airport, a good deal at USD 25 for the trip.
Sheltered/locked parking, if you have any use for that.
I guess it is OK if you want to go to the Galleria mall, which is across the street.
Good value for money, at USD 130 including breakfast.
No restaurant in the building, but I guess there are several in the area. No chance to check that right now; leaving for Lousiana in one hour...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear bjornarhuse,

We thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!
Event though your stay was short, we are glad to hear you enjoyed our facilities as well as our location.
The Galleria area is one of the best places to be when in Houston, as you can walk everywhere, shop till you drop and experience fine dining.

We hope you come back to see us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    12
    16
    2
See reviews for
28
14
11
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice Ca
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an old facility, at least the room we stayed in was - 212.
The bathroom both in size and condition would have been acceptable maybe for a very low end budget motel but at over $320 a night (including all the taxes) and being a Marriott I would have expected way better.
There was only warm water (they were having trouble with one of the boilers) the toilet seat was not screwed to the base properly, the bath, although clean, was heavily stained and grubby looking as was the corking around it. The carpet in the unit was heavily stained in parts and there was staining on the couch in the sitting room.
The staff was excellent and apologized but it's time for the owners to spend some money on the property if they want to be charging that kind of money for a night's stay.
Excellent staff very disappointing and poor property.

Room Tip: Not recommended for those with discerning taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Theflattireguide,


Thank you for making us aware of your most recent experience here at the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room during your stay. We value and appreciate your feedback and will use this as a training tool to improve the overall experience we provide our guests.

We know you have a number of hotels to choose from in the Houston area and hope you accept our sincere apologies.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed there while my daughter attended a dance convention at the Galleria. It was very convenient to the Galleria. We literally drove half a block from the hotel right into the parking garage at the Galleria. The room was clean and neat. The staff was friendly and hospitable. Breakfast had great variety and plenty to choose from. The only minor inconvenience was that there was only one trash can in the suite. It was in the kitchen, so we had to walk a few extra steps if we needed to throw anything away. Other than that, it was quiet and relaxing and much more reasonably priced than the hotel in the Galleria where the dance convention was being held. My daughter is attending another dance convention at the Galleria in March, and I have already made my reservations for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Sabrina S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We were excited to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel as well as our wonderful surroundings!
Our Residence Inn is only 500 ft from the Galleria which makes it very convenient and accessible at anytime.
We are looking forward to seeing you again in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruidoso
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Checked in to this older motel now converted to a so called Residence Inn. Staff promptly tried to put me in a room that was for handicapped folks. Shower head would not stay up over 4 to 5 feet above the ground. Never mind the fact I made my reservation over a month earlier, staff tried to sell me on the idea the room was an "upgrade". I asked to be moved and I was......to a regular room that was in disrepair, loud and the room stunk from not being cleaned properly. I checked out the next morning and went elsewhere for the balance of my stay in Houston. When in the Galleria area, there are many choices far superior to this rather poorly maintained and expensive flee bag.

I was very disappointed as I usually love Marriott Properties. This place is not a good one.....very disappointing to say the least.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for making us aware of your current experience here at the hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experience at the time of your arrival and with your room during your stay. We value and appreciate your feedback and will use this as a training tool to improve the overall experience we provide our guests.

We know you have a number of hotels to choose from in the Houston area and hope you accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This was my second time to the hotel. Everything was excellent again. Good breakfast, parking lot, rooms are excellent, people that work there are all the time checking if everything is ok. Really recommend it!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back.... building 6 or 7... preferably 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear tjamaranhao,

Thank you for telling us about your great experience here at the Residence Inn Galleria. Our passion is to provide excellent guest services and satisfaction and we are touched to hear your experiences have brought you to our hotel time and again. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you for any future visits you have to the Galleria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week whilst on a business trip to the USA (office in the galleria), so this hotel was seen to be convenient after having been recommended by a colleague.

From start to finish the staff were more than helpful and could not do enough for you, I was surprised that the pictures of the hotel didn't really do it justice! It's a lovely building and reception area and rooms are much nicer when seen for real!

My room was spacious comfortable and very clean, also cleaned to a high standard every day.

Breakfast was nice with plenty selection from eggs, to fruit and waffles, also the facility to take items away was useful for business guests.

I'd highly recommend staying here and would definitely return.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear saramathers22,

We are truly thankful to hear such kind words from you. Our entire team puts in 110% to create the best experience possible from start to finish for our valued guests. Our back of the house and front of the house team consistently go above and beyond to exceed expectations and will be delighted to hear the compliments you have sent to them. We hope to have the opportunity to host you anytime you are in Houston and serve as your 'Home away from Home!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross, GA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I booked a group rate at this hotel so that I could attend my college graduation. From start to finish I had a GREAT experience. Noor the sales manager was great at following up with me and made sure that everything was in place and went smoothly with the event. The hotel is seriously in walking distance of the Galleria which is great you don't even need a car. The rooms are nice size itch the menu ties of the full size fridge and microwave. Breakfast was good and there was a variety of items to choose from and the waffles are shaped like TEXAS! I will definitely stay at this hotel again and I have recommended it to several others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanna C, General Manager at Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Thequeencole,

Congratulations on completing your collegiate studies! We are honored to have hosted you for such a special occasion.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay. We strive to provide the best guest services and accommodations for all of our guests and are delighted to hear you and your loved ones had such a great experience. We appreciate you recommending us to your family and friends; I assure you, they will be well taken care of. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future. If you are ever passing through Houston, please be sure to stop by for a Texas sized waffle!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria

Address: 2500 McCue Street, Houston, TX 77056
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Houston
#48 Business Hotel in Houston
#85 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Residence Inn Houston by the Galleria is ideally located off I-610, just west of downtown. This great location provides easy access to Houston's top destinations including the Museum District and NRG Stadium, while being within walking distance of the Galleria Mall. The pet-friendly suites are 50% larger than standard hotel rooms, and feature flat-screen TVs with premium cable, free WiFi, plush bedding, and fully-equipped kitchens. Guests will enjoy starting their day off right with a free breakfast buffet, and they can relax in the afternoons by the outdoor pool. Maintain your workout routine in the 24-hour fitness center, or pick up a game of basketball on the outdoor SportCourt. The Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria offers a prime location and newly-renovated amenities to make it one of the top hotels near the Galleria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Houston By The Galleria Hotel Houston
Houston Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Houston by The Galleria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.