We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good value nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had a layover in Houston a few weeks ago and stayed at this motel.
I thought the place was nice for the price. Shuttle driver was very helpful and friendly. The room was real nice. Bathroom was superclean. Breakfast ok. Standard muffin coffee etc.. Gas station a few steps away if you want to get soda, sandwich etc. I would reccomend for a nights layover. staff very nice. In the morning another shuttle driver who was just as nice as the 1st.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    5
    9
    28
See reviews for
8
8
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thanks to the front desk staff for helping to make our stay pleasant and affordable after a terrible experience with econo lodge. Harry & his wife were terrific & made sure we didn't miss our early morning flight (& even though we were short on cash) we didn't have to spend the night in the airport after unforeseen circumstances in a bind. Shuttle service to & from hotel was helpful, prompt and courteous. Front desk were staff friendly, accommodating & made us feel at home. We knew if there was anything we needed they would help. That made us feel comfortable in an unfamiliar city. Thanks America's Best!

Room Tip: Front desk staff will help you choose the best room based on your needs and wants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As a 5 star first class traveler, I was disappointed with United's pick on hotels. The hotel is not as bad as it seems and at least the beds felt clean and comfortable.

The wifi doesn't work. The free breakfast is horrible. The ladies at the front desk is a 5 star rating. After a long situation, Adela and Linda went out of there way to help us out. The 2 Ladies were very accommodating and even made a few calls for us (she can see that we were very tired). 2 Stars for the hotel, 5 stars for the ladies!

You can never truly tell how good the service is until a bad situation arises. Thanks Adela and Linda for going up and beyond.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the rooms that you have to enter from the outside. Lots of noise and smokers in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for youe recent feedback we love to hear back from our guest we are working in the process of upgrading our breakfast to a hot not continental breakfast we take all our feedback very seriosly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed here recently due to a flight delay/missing our connecting flight through Houston. United provided vouchers to stay here. There is not much positive to say about the place itself: it is old, dirty, sketchy, and located in a bad neighborhood. The place just makes you feel gross and United should be ashamed to direct their customers to stay at this inn. The only positive to say about the place is the staff: they do try their best, and they are certainly as helpful as they can be - they attempt to make a bad situation a little bit better, and they should be complimented for that. However, I would encourage an United senior executive to stay at this establishment so they can see firsthand where they are sending their customers - HORRIBLE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
First we would like to thank for staying at our hotel. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced at our hotel. We check our rooms thoroughly and daily by three hotel officials. We do take your comments very seriously and we are looking into the situation. We hope that the next time you are in the Houston, we can make this up to you and show you the quality we are known for. Please accept a 15% discount on your next stay.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge City, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Recent flight cancellation by KLM resulted in voucher to this hotel.
The van driver tried to give us all a positive attitude as all the KLM passengers had waited 3 hours for the vouchers to hotels near the airport.
The van to the hotel was in sad shape, but check-in was quick and the receptionist had a great attitude even though we were all tired and grouchy.
KLM directed us to be back at the airport the next morning at 9 am.
They weren't set up for all to go to the airport at the same time (van couldn't hold all the passengers and luggage.) but did the best they could and added another trip.
The bathrooms and linens were clean, the bed was adequate, but the sofa was stained and worn. The southwest wall borders were from 1980's. It was better than sleeping at the airport, however.
No restaurant was on site, but they directed us to a few take out menus, pizza and chinese delivery that accepted our KLM vouchers.
They did have some food out for breakfast the next morning, but the hotel wasn't up to the same standards at holiday inn express and the competition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

first of all i will like to apologize about any inconvinience you expirence in the Hotel we know its a difficult sitiation to have and have a cancelled flight we strive to give all our guest a great expirence and will love to have the chance to give ou a 15% off your next stay here with us we are in the process of making many improvements to stay updated.

Thank you,
Joseph K
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here after United cancelled my flight. The reception people were ok, not hotel friendly (as it should be), but not rude/bad. The shuttle driver was so sweet, kind, and friendly. I was sick and tired and this individual made my day! He was chatty, but not an annoying type of chatty just awesome! He was careful about making sure he picked everyone up from the airport. What a nice guy! I don't remember his name, but he said he lived there in the hotel.

The room was clean enough. Towels were not good. Their bathroom mats are the kind that are not washed/replaced and that's just gross. My bed was not super comfy, but not horrid. As far as cleanliness goes, not bad...at least in my room. My friends, who also stayed there due to our flight cancellation, said their bed sheets had a blood stain on them.

An odd thing happened, some random dude walked into my room...with his key! He was surprised and apologized. Apparently, they assigned keys to the same room to different people. Not cool!

If I am not mistaken, the rooms at this hotel run around $140 a night...I would have been upset had I been the one that had to pay that. United paid and I was only there for a night so whatever. If I were booking on my own accord, I would not have stayed here based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

Would I stay here again?...if my flight was cancelled and this is what they gave me, yes.

p.s. Every hotel should have a shuttle driver like the one this hotel has!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
First of all i will like to apologize about any inconvinience you expirence in the Hotel we know its a difficult situation to have a cancelled flight we strive to give all our guest a great expirence and will love to have the chance to give you a 15% off your next stay here with us we are in the process of making many improvements to stay updated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifrton
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is absolutely disgusting. Dirty, smelly, and rude staff. Please do not go there for your own sake. Was sent there by United Airlines after a delayed flight. United should be ashamed to send people tom a place like this. IO would rather have slept on the floor of the terminal which would certainly have been cleaner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Fist of all i will like to apologize about the unpleasent stay you had we take all our customer complaints very seriously we are in the process of renovating our rooms and are sorry if they are not up to your standards we make sure our front desk staff is friendly and always in a professional manner we will like to offer you a 15% off your next visit and make up for any inconvinience you had.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes

Address: 702 N Sam Houston Parkway East, Houston, TX 77060 (Formerly Hawthorn Suites LTD Houston / Sam Houston / Airport West)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 452 Hotels in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes 2*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodley Hotel Houston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Bush Int'l Airport Wes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.