We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Houston Grand Opera

Houston Grand Opera
500 Texas Ave, (Wortham Center), Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
713-546-0200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 449 things to do in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opera house in Houston that features opera presentations throughout the year.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I went to the HGO to attend Tristan and Isolde. The entrance and lobby looks like a supermarket or a shopping mail. Probably the most hideous architecture i've never saw. Be aware that there is no coat check, i have a bad experience with my weekend luggage. More the building is ugly, more the personal is nice, helpful and friendly, doing the maximum to assist you. Much appreciated. The performance was amazing.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    10
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth going”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

For those skeptical of opera (as I am), this place is still worth going. Great layout and and quality productions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Opera and Orchestra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you love opera and you're in the Houston vicinity you'll want to check out the calendar and visit the opera if you can. This is not a modern opera house, but with a wonderful orchestra and singer friendly conductor manages to attract a world class ensemble. I saw Tristan with Nina Stemme and Ben Heppner. She was exceptional. He was straining his voice in parts but it was the last performance of the season so maybe that was the explanation. It was gorgeous, anyway and they have a varied and interesting calendar of performances, including a full Ring cycle next year. In usual US style there's plenty of well regulated parking. I hope to go back.)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yes, in Houston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I finally made it to the Houston Grand Opera, and was not disappointed. Despite the uninformed, parochial title of another review, I know HGO has been doing international level work for many decades. But I hadn't seen it myself. The il Trovatore in May 2013 was tremendous. But what I was very pleased by was the fine hall filled with well behaved, properly dressed, and knowledgable opera patrons, and on a Wedsnesday night. My East coast city should be so lucky. Go and enjoy!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Tristan and Isolde”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

HGO continues to impress. They are truly world class. Saw last performance of Wagner's T&I and were very impressed. Great performance, great decor.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houston Grand Opera also viewed

 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Houston Grand Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houston Grand Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.