We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houstonians and Visitors need to make a detour....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orange Show Center for Visionary Art

The Orange Show Center for Visionary Art
2402 Munger Street, East End, Houston, TX 77023
713-926-6368
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 126 Attractions in Houston
Type: Museums
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A celebration of everyone's favorite citric fruit: art and memorabilia of and about the orange.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Houstonians and Visitors need to make a detour....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

...to see the Orange Show, just off the Gulf Freeway. It's a magical place which can inspire anyone to see their world a little bit differently. I wish that we could all be as brave and fun and dedicated as Jeff McKissack, the man who converted his ordinary tract home into a shrine to a healthy fruit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extraordinary Visual Art Vision of an ordinary guy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Jeff McKissack was no ordinary guy, he had exceptional drive for anything and everything orange. For just $2 per person we gazed in awe at the imagination of Mr McKissack who had a dream to make his vision a reality - this man certainly did deliver his creative self-expression. Just a 30 second walk away, make sure you also visit (for free) j Smithers Park which is under construction - this will be a visual treat once it is complete.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quirky Texas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Orange Show is the brainchild of Mr. Jeff McKissack, who spent his life, and his money on this project. He obviously had a special relationship with oranges, but he also liked orange as a color.
He spent about 25 years of his life to build this “house”, that he thought was going to be a great success. He died three months after he opened the house to the public, without seeing his “creature” coming to fame. Someone even said that he died of a broken heart because of the failure of his project. It’s all a different story now, as Mr. Jeff McKissack continues to live through “The Orange Show” and the foundation that has been created after his death, that takes care of eclectic artists from all over the world. The Orange Show is also listed in the National Register of Historic Places designated by the United States Department of the Interior. If you’re really in the mood for something eclectic, pay a visit there, the lady that let us in today was very nice, she gave us two postcards, and a questionnaire with weird questions Mr. McKissack himself formulated. For $1 each, you really have to come see it! Because of all the colors, the place reminded me of a Gaudi project with a strong Picasso influence, I hope you get the feeling!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Funky fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Wonderfully odd! 30 years in the making. Free beer , water and sodas, but you can make a donation. We saw a concert by Mother Falcon there. I don't know what else they have as entertainment. It looks like Dr. Suess crazy metal sculpture/tile artsy. It's in a neighborhood. It puts you in a good mood to be there because its so wild.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You Gotta Love His Enthusiasm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We visited my sister, Monica, in Texas this summer, and she and her husband took us to Houston's Orange Show. With her tongue firmly in her cheek, Monica told us it was someplace she had always wanted to go. Her husband asked “Why???”

Just for fun! (The word quirky comes to mind.)

We had heard about it and watched a little video created by the man who built it. That was enough for our husbands!

My kindred-spirit sister and I dressed in orange for the occasion. Our husbands both rolled their eyes and shook their heads. I think I heard John murmur the word, “Deranged…”

The Orange Show was built by Jeff McKissack, a Houston mail man. It was 1956 when he got the idea, and began to work on this monument to the orange, a fruit he adored. The man was obsessed with oranges for their beauty and nutritional value. He purchased two lots adjoining his own yard at 2401 Munger Street, and proceeded to build...

He said he got the idea from seeing buildings he saw being razed as he walked his mail route. “Roof tiles from the Old Capital Theater, a fire escape at Stowers Furniture, and a miniature of the San Jacinto Monument at The State Hotel”

The Orange Show is hard to explain. It's a garish display of concrete, and tons of brightly painted scrap metal welded together. There's a lot of tile work décor – borders, signs, and slogans. (And we noticed that spelling was not his strong suit.) McKissack was a busy man. His Orange Show covers at least two lots in the quiet neighborhood where he lived. It has multiple levels with decks, balconies and catwalks which are reached by a variety of metal stairways.

I wonder what the neighbors thought. And think...

When we arrived the place was pretty much deserted and we weren't sure what to do. But moments later a lady, apparently the caretaker, walked out of the house across the street and took our admission – a dollar each. She invited us to go on in and explore and have fun. Then she went back into her house and we were on our own to wander and wonder.

A sign tells visitors that “Anticipation of opening day was the fuel that
propelled McKissack to complete The Orange Show. He told people that he figured 80 to 90% of the people in the country would want to see The Orange Show. Of course not all of them would be able to come, but he expected 300,000 or so a year.”

It opened on May 9th 1079 and 150 people came. McKissack himself conducted tours, and described future plans, explaining the use of steam in parts of his display, demonstrating the mechanical parts, and explaining the history and the symbolism of the exhibit. He said, “The show is built around historical events like the wheel. I have 85 of them, all sizes up to five feet in diameter…some of the wheels are over 100 years old.”

The Orange Show didn't live up to Jeff McKissack’s expectations, but every part of it reflects his enthusiasm and optimism. We did not get the impression that he was disappointed in his life’s work.

Since 1980, when Jeff McKissack died, The Orange Show has evolved into a non-profit organization called Orange Show Center for Visionary Art. Art patrons in Houston keep foundation alive, and provide programming for children and adults that includes music, storytelling and hands-on workshops.

It was worth the dollar admission just to walk around and laugh and wonder, and we had to admire Jeff McKissack's enthusiasm for his project! We would not recommend it as a place to take small children and the is no handicap access.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orange Show Center for Visionary Art also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Orange Show Center for Visionary Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orange Show Center for Visionary Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.