We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has the basics and is clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center to your Saves list
Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1025 Swanson St, Houston, TX 77030   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Houston
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It has the basics and is clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel is located on a small side street in the medical center area with close proximity to Reliant Stadium. Only Luby's is within walking distance as far as restaurants go. The room was clean. The television was small. The plastic cable guide stuck to the top of the TV did not correspond to any channels. The in room a/c unit would never cool down cold enough. Thank goodness for the fan in the room . The front desk is completely closed off by glass. I am assuming this is not the best part of town. The drive up entrance to the hotel is very small it makes it a bit of a challenge to stop and unload. Overall it is a decent basic hotel. The entrance to the parking lot with key card, and to use the elevator is a bit of a pain, but understood if this is a high crime area. This was not an extended stay for me, I may consider the Hampton Inn for short stays

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Hotels in Houston are expensive and frequently booked up so I tried the Lexington in an attempt to save some money. This property is for the traveler looking for an extended stay particularly if the need is to be close to one of the many medical centers. It is not designed for the one night business traveler. The rooms are large and have almost a full kitchen with a large fridge, microwave, dishes, classes cutlery and a dishwasher. The rooms decor was okay and the level of cleanliness seemed high. The parking situation was different as it was directly across the street in a locked and well lit lot. Entering always required a key card even to walk to your car but the added security was a plus. The complimentary breakfast "forget about it" and seek another option. Also, the front desk wasn't manned until after 9:00 a.m. So if you need an extended stay then the Lexington may be a good choice. For a one night stay I recommend considering options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If you are coming to the Houston Medical Center area, I would recommend you stay at Lexington Hotel. Especially if your stay is longer than a week. MD Anderson is .7 miles away from the hotel. The hotel provides free shuttle service to the Medical Center or if you feel up to it, you can walk. The rooms at Lexington are large and all have a small kitchen. A two burner stove, fridge, dishwasher, toaster oven, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, pots and all the things you need to bring a bit of home into your stay. The ability to have some tea, make a sandwich or some soup after a day at the Medical Center is very comforting. Sometimes you just don't feel like going to a restaurant. The hotel even provides shuttle service to the local Kroger and Super Target so you can buy the foods you like to put together a meal. The hotel provides free parking in a secure lot. They have a small pool, small exercise room. The beds are comfortable and they have daily maid service. Free wifi, laundry room, gift shop, cable and access to a computer for printing out boarding passes. The room rates are reasonable. Lexington Hotel is quiet. They have great maid service. The water pressure is good and the towels big and fluffy. The hotel is not a luxurious hotel, but is clean and comfortable. Most of all, the staff at the hotel are kind and very helpful. They will drive you and pick you up from the hospital at the times you need them to do so. Even late at night. Sarah, Jose and Tony and are wonderful people who care about their guests and work very hard to make the guest comfortable. My husband and I are very happy with our two week stay at Lexington Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I was at the hotel for nearly 2 weeks. I needed to be close to the medical center and I didn't want to rely on a shuttle service. I had no car and parking is expensive.

The room was probably 300 square feet with 2 queen beds. There were 2 tables, one in the living area and one in the kitchen area. All the usual dishes and silverware were there. The refrigerator, toaster oven, range, and microwave all worked fine.

Security to the parking area was excellent- controlled by your magnetic room key. I thought there would be a way in out w/o the card (the gate closed before I got out and left). But no, you have to use the card and open the main gate. This is probably better security.

As others have commented the breakfast is not extensive. A small room off the lobby with juice, milk coffee sweet rolls and toast. One of the cereal dispensers had animal crackers in it- a first for me. Remember you have a nice kitchen in your room with a coffeemaker and they provide the little packets of coffee. I just used the breakfast area once.

The hotel will transport you to the medical center or Kroger (grocery 0.4 miles) and on weekends they will go to the Super Target 1.2 miles.

My only disappointment was the wifi. It is unlocked (no password) but was quite weak at times. I had a lot of dropped signal problems and resorted to making Skype calls from the doors in front of the lobby.

I did laundry on site which was very convenient (but took a lot of quarters) lost a key card (they replaced it for free) and had other occasion to ask for help from the staff. They were great.

I would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree Corners, GA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Lexington Hotel at the Houston Medical Center is really a great place for an extended stay. The rooms are large and have a nice kitchen area with a regrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, range top and dishwasher. The table can easily seat 5 and includes all required dishes. The beds were very comfortable with a pillow top. The only complaint that I had were the continental breakfasts. There were cereals, including coco puffs, suger frosted flakes, and fruit loops. There were oatmeal pies, pieces of cake and cookies. Not my idea of a healthy breakfast in the fattest city in the US. There was fruit (although sometimes the bananas were green) and applesauce--but for a gluten free person, breakfast just didn't do it.

Room Tip: The top floor is the best to keep from hearing your upstairs neighbors--the second night, my neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We were going to a concert in the Houston downtown area. I booked this place based on positive reviews here and the affordable price. We only stayed for one night but I was really impressed with the value for your money hear. You get a room that is not quite a suite but does have a little kitchenette and is larger than your standard 2 queen bed hotel room. The hotel was clean and the parking area is well lit and gated (although the gate was not closed). This place is not brand new but you can tell is was remodeled in the last 5 years or so. This place is only 10 minutes from the downtown area and I got my room for $70 less than some of the other chain suite hotels were charging. We will stay here again if the need ever arises.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The room was set up almost like a studio apartment, with kitchen area, dining table, chairs, & of course 2 big beds. Everything was clean and comfortable. There isn't much of a lobby area, and no associated breakfast area. My only criticism is that the advertised free breakfast barely meets that definition, with coffee, canned juice, some prepackaged snacks, some individual cereal boxes, and a few pieces of fruit. Nothing hot. If your goal is to do your own meals in your room, it should be ok for you. No outside noise was a pleasant surprise, since the hotel is not on the freeway like many others.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center

Address: 1025 Swanson St, Houston, TX 77030
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lexington Hotel Houston Medical Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.