We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Older Crown Plaza,But still nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #46 of 451 Hotels in Houston
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An Older Crown Plaza,But still nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here during a road trip as my dad is a news reporter and speaks around the country and also traveled with some other family members....we checked in to find a similar look like Embassy Suite hotels with the exterior in the interior corridor thing.The staff was helpful and kind,when we go to the room it was clean though very invisible stains on the wall and some broken corners,I could tell the hotel was old but it was still nice and the sheets were clean!.Would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    73
    22
    13
    12
See reviews for
103
56
42
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We arrived late. On the road for several hours with a 1 year old and a 3 year old. The only thing we wanted to do was rest.

Walking in you can tell the age of the hotel. It was obvious it was a converted Embassy Suites. OK.

Check in was welcoming. They helped us right away. Very friendly.

Now one of the reasons I chose this hotel was the breakfast buffet -- very helpful when traveling with the family. Especially a 1 year old who eats like a full grown man!

This could have been my mistake but I thought I booked the room rate with Breakfast included. Apparently not. Mistakes happen.

Take note: The front desk confirmed the rate I booked online at the Crown Plaza website was the same cost as the rate with breakfast included, but for some reason it was not the included. They couldn't change my rate because I booked from their website but said they'd look in to it. OK, thats fine.

Another note: If you buy at a cheaper rate online, you can add breakfast at check in for a discount. I paid for breakfast the first 2 days.

Yet another note: I eventually figured it out myself. Cancelled my reservation via the 1-800 number, and made a new reservation that included breakfast. Maybe someone at the front desk could have made that suggestion. But now I know for next time.

Just tired from travels I wanted to get up to the room and start the hectic process of putting two kids down for bed before finally laying our heads to sleep.

It's a suite. That's another reason why we chose the hotel. We were staying for 5 or 6 days so we wanted the space. And we were very familiar with the layout considering it's an old Embassy suites.

So we got the kids set up, all tucked in.

Then noticed the door didn't lock. Not cool.

Called down the front desk. After some hustle they got us a new room on the same floor.

OK, understand that happens -- just not great timing.

(Did I mention we were traveling for about 20 days and had a ton of stuff with us for a family of 4.)

If you book at this hotel and arrive at your room you'll notice the age.

Few things... bugs. Mostly spiders. Our chair was broken. Remote didn't work. There was a door to a cabinet that was broken and not attached. A lot of things that added up.

We eventual cancelled the rest of our stay and moved to a different hotel for the rest of our time in Houston.

Sorry -- but can't say we'll be back.

Room Tip: Older hotel so be prepared. It shows is age. The rooms to the front of the hotel face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank You for your feedback of our hotel. We certainly value your concerns and will use your comments to improve our internal operations. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in reference to bugs in your room, chair leg broken, remote not working, and door to cabinet not working. We are appalled to hear of such numerous problems during your stay. I would not be happy either if I had to experience these problems. We have copied each of our departments in order to eliminate these issues from happening again, We have also spoken to our Front Desk in reference to the breakfast issue to resolve this in a much better fashion. We know you have several options when traveling but we feel confident these issues have been resolved and will not occur again. We hope you will give us another shot and I'm sure you will not be disappointed. Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again in the near future.


Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Front staff and environmental staff was nice to deal with. The room was clean. We stayed in a room with two rooms. It had a living room and a bedroom. The bathroom was small. The breakfast was amazing. It had a buffet and then you could get a fresh waffle or made to order omelet. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such kind comments regarding your stay with us. We encourage all of our guests to share their experience of their stay at the Crowne Plaza Suites Houston near Sugar land. We will certainly share your comments with our entire staff. We hope to serve you again.

Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy Springs, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is a crown plaza that can always set an example on customer services in houston. They have everything that you will need for a great stay. I like the front desk agents and how personal they are with there guest. This is a good place to stay whenever you are around that area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing comments of your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and will share your comments with our amazing staff. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice welcome from the front desk, easy check-in, and pleased to be given a room on the 7th floor, which is designated as a quiet floor for the hotel. Very nice lobby and public spaces, and a nice room. Comfortable furnishings and bed, and easy to control thermostat. Moderate noise from freeway in bedroom. Dined off the Asian menu, and it was good, and reasonably priced. Good business center, and wireless was adequate in room. Area around hotel is not great, but security seemed adequate. So... what's the "but"? At around 5:30 p.m., I was taping a presentation, and was interrupted by dogs barking loudly in the room next door. This is a "pet-friendly" hotel, and the website states that animals are limited to first floor rooms, and I certainly did not expect them on the "quiet" Executive Level floor. I called the front desk, and they were apologetic, and said it would be handled immediately. I left the hotel for a dinner appointment, and was surprised/disappointed when I returned a couple of hours later and (again, while trying to tape part of a presentation) was interrupted by the dogs again. Fortunately, they stopped, but clearly the situation had not been handled by the front desk. Either the pet policy is not being followed, or it is not being enforced. The only other issue during my stay was an overhead vent outside the bathroom which dripped periodically (I assume from either the heavy thunderstorms, or AC condensation). Nice hotel, and good value, but disappointing handling of the dog/noice issue.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from freeway. It is noticable in sleeping area of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We certainly apologize for the inconvenience you were caused due to dog barking in the quiet zone of the hotel. We do not allow pets on this floor and have retrained our associates to prevent this from happening again. We hope to become your hotel of choice and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We were in Houston for a wedding and this hotel was suggested and we were very pleased. We were surprised by the size of the room and the look. It was our very first time staying with this chain.The staff and service was excellent. We would definitely stay again. We enjoyed the shopping area, that was walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and any floor would be fine. It's a great hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you soon on your next visit.

Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I haven't been here in awhile. I have to say, things are looking beautiful! Some new paint, and the lobby smells wonderful!
The Staff is so amazing! I always feel right at home here! The front desk has made some changes since my last visit, and just like the previous managers, the new managers are absolutely wonderful! Kareem trains them well! Kudos to you Kareem!
The bed was comfortable, as usual. The room immaculate! The food delicious! The lounge very calming! This trip I was greeted by a LOBBY MANAGER! He gave me a drink ticket so that I could relax after my long drive...all I can say to this is WOW! Just when you think this place has Customer Service Mastered, they shock you with even MORE wonderful Customer Service! Thank you John Paul for the awesome lobby greeting!
I know I have reviewed this Crowne Plaza in the past, I am compelled to write a new review with each visit, as this is by far the very best hotel I have ever visited, and my visits just keep getting better!
Thank you once again, Crowne Plaza! Michael, Kareem, John Paul, Jackie, Rebecca, and the rest of your staff, for providing a safe, comfortable, home sweet home environment to your customers, I for one GREATLY appreciate it! I am checking out today and am looking forward to my survey! I LOVE MY CROWNE PLAZA!

Room Tip: Any room on the 8th floor, which is the designated quiet zone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
WOW!! Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We certainly will share your comments with our entire staff! We love to hear our guests enjoying and sharing their experiences with us. We hope to see you soon on your next visit. We look forward to serving you in the near future.


Front Office Manager
Kareem Settles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Address: 9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Houston
#57 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Suites is a smoke free facility and is the best value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. This all suites hotel features, two 32” flat screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble & granite counter tops, balconies, modern furniture & fixtures and superior amenity package throughout the 440 sq. ft. guest suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.