We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #61 of 468 Hotels in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Caracas, Venezuela
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The room was big and confortable, 2 queen beds and 2 TVs, in the living room area a sofa bed, desk, a little sink, microwave and a mini fridge. Great amenities. Nice and helpful staff. The bussiness center was open 24 hours a day, and had good computers and printer. The pool and fitness center were good. The only thing i have to complain is that they offer only two breakfast tickets per day and we were 6 persons in the room, that doesn't make any sense.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We're glad to hear that your group enjoyed the spacious room and amenties. I'm sorry that the complimentaty breakfast coupons didn't meet all of your needs during this trip. We hope you will stay again and look forward to seeing you during future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    84
    31
    17
    13
See reviews for
117
63
44
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wow, so I was on a trip to TEXAS to see my grandchildren before they went back to school. Drove all the way from Montrose, PA. My husband did most of the driving. And we stopped many many times to see attractions along the way. It took us a few days but it was much more exciting.
They live just down in Sugarland which wasn't that far away. We wanted a suite in case the kids wanted to hang out with Mammi and Pappy at the hotel. I couldn't believe the price! I expected a small little suite and here was this great big old room. I remember telling Bill (my husband) that I think we had an apartment this size once, he agreed. We got there late but the staff didn't skip a beat. They welcomed us, asked me if I was a priority member. I responded that I think I was not but that I should be, did it cost extra. The girl at the counter responded with a great big smile that it was free and came with many benefits. We stayed at 2 Holiday Inn hotels along the way and were never offered this but now I can get points and be a "priority".
We had such a blast in the pool with the grand kids and went all over the city. Ben (bellman/concierge) suggested a few places we should go and even offered to take us.
Every person we met seemed so genuinely friendly. We met a tall bald manager that greeted us in the restaurant and talked to us for a bit. The breakfast staff was so nice and helpful. And every time I had a question the girls at the front desk would help.
We hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: Sign up to be a priority. Later check out times, plus cookies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Travelers,

We're thrilled to hear that you and your grandkids enjoyed the hotel and all of the perks and amenities that we offer. It sounds like you made some wonderful family memories and we're so proud that our team made your stay so special.

Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Our daughter is attending HBU. Not only is this hotel super close, its one of the best rooms we have ever stayed at...especially at $100.00. Our room was a two queen suite. Its like an apartment! A small living area...NICE, with a seperate bedroom. Way better than what we expected. Love the lay out of the room and the overall hotel. Friendly staff. If you're in the Houston Baptist University area, this should be your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're thrilled that we've earned your business while traveling near Houston. We're happy to be of service and glad that you found our spacious suites so cozy ( we think they're pretty cozy too! )We hope your daughter does well at HBU and hope you'll be visiting often.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Crowne Plaza is the closest Hotel to Sugar Land without having to pay for Sugar Land prices. I come to Houston an average of 5 to 6 times a year. I used to stay at hotels in the Sugar Land area but their prices were going through the roof. I am glad we found Crowne Plaza because now I can stay only a few miles away and pay 1/2 the price. There are a lot of ammenities around, Sugar Land shopping, Galleria only 10 minutes away, Hillcroft with a lot of International restaurants ( mostly Indian and Middle Eastern), shopping, etc. The outside looks outdated, it's a converted Embassy Suites into a CP. The inside is different, they ugraded the place and it looks modern and clean. Large clean rooms, good service on all levels, in house restaurant, pool, etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear traveler,

We're so glad that you found us and that we've made you a return guest. You're absolutely right in that we're the perfect Sugar Land hotel without the absurd Sugar Land rates! We're proud of the value we offer and glad that you enjoyed the amenities and the location. We hope to see you the next time travel brings you to Sugar Land.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for a week while on a work trip. Large suite rooms with all required.Hotel bar very poorly stocked as regards to choice. Evening food ok but buffet breakfast poor. Hotel staff good altough one or two of them seem to have attitude problem. Hotel provide shuttle service to malls and attractions.

Room Tip: I would think rooms at front might be noisey as freeway directly at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're glad that you enjoyed the spacious and well-appointed rooms. We are sorry to hear that the bar and breakfast selections were not to your liking. I hope you voiced your requests with Management so we can look into adding to our offerings. We do listen to our guest's requests and make changes when appropriate so that we can better satisfy our guests and keep you coming back! If you have any specific recommendations, feel free to leave a private message and we'd love to hear your suggestions.

We hope that you'll return in the future so we can satisfy you with one or two of your favorites!

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My experience at this Crowne Plaza has been great. Very comfortable rooms with great service from the hotel staff. The concierge staff are very attentive, always making sure that your needs have been satisfied. The restaurant offers good quality plates at an affordable price. They have a nice indoor pool. They offer you free parking, free hot breakfast, free transportation within a 10 mile radius to the hotel, and free night snacks. Mr. Edgar Vasquez (night manager), Sarai Ramos (day manager) and Emily Zelada ( concierge executive services) have made my stay an excellent one. I will definitely stay again at this hotel when I re-visit the area. It is located in a good safe location close to restaurants within walking distance. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so proud of the glowing review you gave us and our team members. Thank you for taking the time to mention the hotel amenities that you enjoyed and for mentioning the staff members by name. It will truly make their day to know that they made a difference to you . We hope you'll be back to stay with us again soon.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we travel we like to stay in Embassy Suites type rooms because we have a child and it works best for us. Well this hotel used to be an Embassy Suites but we did not have to pay Embassy Suites prices. It was in a good location for us. Easy to get to wherever we needed to go. The staff was very nice and attentive. Breakfast was good except for the waffle sticks which were awful. There were enough choices so it didn't matter to us. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant one day and it was really good. The beds were comfortable and there were plenty of pillows. I love the fact that they don't have a bedspread that we would remove anyway. Just takes up more space. The indoor pool was really nice and clean.

Someone wrote in their review that they had a problem because they were told that breakfast was free but for them it wasn't since a box was not checked off. My suggestion is that you always bring a copy of your most recent e-mail confirmation as proof of what you expect.

I recommend this hotel VERY highly!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us and glad to hear that we were every bit as good as your preferred brand. Thank you for the heads up about the waffles and for the tip about bringing your confirmation with you. That's always a good idea! We hope that we've won you over as the best choice in Houston and that you'll be back soon.

Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Address: 9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Houston
#43 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Suites is a smoke free facility and is the best value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. This all suites hotel features, two 32” flat screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble & granite counter tops, balconies, modern furniture & fixtures and superior amenity package throughout the 440 sq. ft. guest suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.