We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #37 of 452 Hotels in Houston
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I was back again in Houston for Business and as usual checked into the Crowne Plaza. This has now become like a second home for me and I always get a really warm welcome back. I am greeted wherever I go in the hotel. I keep coming back because they are consistent in the quality of their service. Everything goes smoothly for me and it is very centrally located. My family can go and shop at the Galleria whilst I attend to my business.
They cater to all my needs and the well equipped business center is really crucial to my stay. This is my third stay at the Hotel now.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: I stayed in various rooms at various times and they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your repeat business and for telling others about us. We're so glad that we meet all of your travel and business needs and offer you the consistent quality service that keeps you coming back. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Hope to see you and the family soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    75
    22
    13
    12
See reviews for
106
58
42
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

this was just a one night get away for us. we're only about 45 minutes away. This is an excellent hotel to stay at. everything from the rooms to the pool to the free breakfast were amazing. check in went smoothly; they spoke to me using my name and answered all my questions before i even asked. we are a family who loves playing in the pool. i have a 16 and 19 year old and even they enjoyed the pool; deep enough for my 6'10'' son to enjoy. the hot tub was nice and toasty and very relaxing. we picked up pizza from the restaurant and didn't think we'd need plates. found out differently and the kitchen quickly brought up real plates and silverware for us. we wanted some extra pool time the next morning and requested late checkout and they were very accommodating. all around great experience!!! will stay again...and soon too, even thought i'm a local.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed a nice local getaway! Sometimes exploring your very own surroundings can be as much fun (and cheaper) than traveling far. Be sure to check out the various packages that we offer so you and the fam get the best value! Hope to see you all soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

During OTC week, I enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza! The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room was impeccable... I really felt so comfortable that it felt just like home. I dined at the restaurant and I must say that the food & desserts are delicious!!! There is no longer any other choices for me than Crowne Plaza when I visit Houston!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is beautiful, extremely clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was bright and clean and the bed was super comfy. Asked for extra towels and received the within minutes! Also like the easy access to Highway 59 and all the amenities within 10 to 15 minutes. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain City, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Loved the suites and hotel. Very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Very nice suites and the price was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

As always, made reservations at Crowne Plaza. I found this gem, about 10 minutes away from OTC several years ago. Great prices, good service, large rooms, clean rooms, exercise room, swimming pool and a nice bar to relax at end of the day. Everything is close by, nice restaurants a couple of minutes away, recommend Tradicao Brazilian Steakhouse. Free shuttle took us to Tradicao when we didn't feel like driving. A few minutes from Galleria with another million other places to go. It's located in a major Freeway in the Houston area, making it easy to get to and easy to go everywhere.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger corner rooms facing downtown Houston. They go fast but if you reserve well in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Check in was easy and painless-- showed ID, credit card, initial by room rate and no smoking policy. Stayed in a HUGE executive suite in a corner of the hotel-- bathroom with double vanity, garden tub, separate stall shower, toilet in its own room. The room with the toilet smelled like someone had been smoking marijuana in it, which was not pleasant, but the smell eventually dissipated.

The workout room is next to the pool and has 2 treadmills, a bike, and a broken elliptical, as well as a couple weight machines and free weights.

I preordered breakfast to be delivered between 7 am and 7:15 am and it arrived at 7:25 am. And the order was wrong-- they brought cranberry juice instead of grapefruit.

These problems won't prevent me from returning, but it did leave me with the impression that someone isn't paying attention.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIG110, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Traveler,

We're so sorry that we weren't able to exceed your expectations during your recent visit. We definitely understand that the difference between a god stay and an outstanding stay is the attention to detail and it sounds like we missed the mark. We appreciate your candid comments and will make improvements based on your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future so we can show you what an awesome hotel we can be!

Until next time, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land

Address: 9090 Southwest Freeway, Houston, TX 77074
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Houston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Houston
#51 Family Hotel in Houston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Houston Suites is a smoke free facility and is the best value for premium oversized luxury suite accommodations. This all suites hotel features, two 32” flat screen TVs, luxury linens, plush bedding, microwave, refrigerator, wet bar, marble & granite counter tops, balconies, modern furniture & fixtures and superior amenity package throughout the 440 sq. ft. guest suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Suites Houston Southwest Hotel Houston
Crowne Plaza Houston
Houston Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Suites Houston - Near Sugar Land, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.