We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual food with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove

The Grove
1611 Lamar Street, Houston, TX 77002 (Downtown)
7133377321
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Grove is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #187 of 6,949 Restaurants in Houston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night Food, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Crawford St.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Unusual food with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I loved the location and the service at the Grove. This place has a beautiful view of Discovery Green, and it is in a great location between the convention center and several of the downtown hotels. I enjoyed the food. The field greens salad was quite good, and the chicken was roasted to perfection. However, be warned that the menu features dishes with spices that you might not be used to eating.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    129
    59
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a revelation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

I was told that I couldn't go wrong eating lunch at The Grove. Boy, was that an understatement. My grilled chicken breast with roasted corn was s-o-o-o good. The chicken BLT that a dining companion had was equally enjoyed. I enjoyed the food so much that I wished I had a few more days in Houston just to eat again at The Grove!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Super delicious coastal fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Had the shrimp and grits and shared a few apps - the macaroni and cheese, the broccoli rabe(?), the meatballs - and then shared dessert - peanut butter cake, maybe? Everything was delicious and the ambiance was perfect. Lovely setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Bartender”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a coupe of drink the first time and the bartender was awesome. Very nice and good sense of humor.
We ate there the next time and I was surprised how excellent the food was. I was weary about ordering steak but the hanger steak was to die for! Unbelievable flavorful and tender. The Latino biscuit and the chili on top was excellent. So much so that am actually going out of my way to bring my wife to dinner next trip to Houston. It can get to premium on the prices but I didn't think it was over the top and a nice selection of food and beverages.
The Shiraz they had was a Washington grape and so good, price was right as well. I will say the service a little slow at first but it was fairly busy. I highly recommend The Grove.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Atmosphere...Not so great Entrees”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I dined here on Valentine's Day Eve and while our waiter was excellent, the food was just mediocre. I ordered the flattened chicken because the description had lime juice and corn (two of my favorite things in life). The chicken was so dry that I decided to leave it on the plate. The corn was excellent and so were the two sides that we ordered ( the roasted cauliflower and the wild mushroom mac n cheese). I would return to this place strictly for the atmosphere and side dishes. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grove also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.