We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Horseshoe Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Hi Circle North, Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657 (Formerly Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Horseshoe Bay
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Horseshoe Bay for one night, on a Sunday. I was expecting extraordinary but it was just ordinary. It is not on the water and our lake view room wasn't what I expected as there are many buildings in between you and the lake and a view of the power plant. The staff is excellent, the room was very clean but the bed wasn't super comfortable and the choice of pillow was either flat or quadruple stuffed - neither of which was comfortable. We were excited to go to the yacht club pool and beach, hoping to take in happy hour on the lake, but when we arrived, the cabana was closed (6:00 p.m.). Maybe because it was Sunday? Anyway, only one restaurant was open - the one in the hotel - and it was pretty pricey with a limited menu. Also maybe this was because it was Sunday. No maps of the grounds were available, which was odd because this place is spread out and we had no idea how to get to the yacht club or where to find the various swimming pools. The main hotel swimming pool wasn't a 'resort' pool, in my opinion. It was average in size and full of way too many loud little kids. The yacht club pool was about the same. The "Beach" area was minuscule. Apparently there is an 'adults only' pool - but that is for members only. The acoustics are terrible and it sounded like there was a basketball game being played in the suite upstairs. Kids running around in the rooms and up and down the hallway. So bring a white noise machine for sure. If you are someone who loves to golf and play tennis, and to whom money is no object and you can afford fancy spa services, this place may be more to your liking. The one thing that was great was the pontoon boat rental - we had a great time on the lake! But, you can rent those other places. I don't think we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: We had a lake view on the 5th floor by the elevators. The view was underwhelming and it was very no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    14
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
24
2
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trophy Club, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed Thurs -Sat and had a fabulous time. Room was clean and well stocked. The lounge staff was attentive and timely. Breakfest meeting was well laid out and Robert was very friendly and attentive. Asked for directions from a Maintenance Man and he didn't just point but lead us to our destination. Your bikes could use some TLC but the staff was nice about the selection process. Dinner at the Yatch Club was great ,the Steak selection fantastic and the wait staff (led by Robert from breakfest) top notch. Sat thru a talk on Parrots, your Aviary man has a true passion for his birds; perhaps HRB should invest in his formal education!
Thanks for everything and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear BriannDawn,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took good care of you. Thank you for recognizing Robert and Staton, our Aviary Coordinator for their delivery of great customer service. Our staff always strive to go above and beyond for our guests so we will be sure to pass your comments on to them. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It sucks when you pay over 400 bucks per night and 19 bucks for a buffet and they keep you waiting plus run out of food....parking is an extra charge not advertised and a extra resort charge that showed up on the bill

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Robert D:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Horseshoe Bay Resort. I would request you email me directly to further detail the nature of your stay. Parking is complimentary, but a charge is accrued only if you valet your vehicle. A resort fee is included with your stay and detailed in each and every confirmation letter we send to our guest. You can contact me directly at mjeffrey@hsbresort.com and I would be delighted to discuss your experience at our AAA four-diamond resort so we can further understand your experience during you time at Horseshoe Bay Resort on lake LBJ.

Sincerely,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We conducted our company's annual strategic planning session at the resort and want to rave about the resort and the incredible personal service we received. Cesar & his team (especially Rachel) took care of us from the moment we arrived and were attentive to every detail. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate the service we received a 12.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Fran M,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are delighted to hear you chose the resort for your strategic planning and that our staff met your expectations. We will be sure to pass your comments on to Cesar and Rachel, especially your generous rating of 12! Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming your group back to the resort soon.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath condo in the Waters at Horseshoe Bay. We normally rent a private home, but we wanted access to the amenities. My husband had great experiences at Apple Rock and Slick Rock. I took advantage of the spa. While the services were fabulous, the facilities are a little dated. I believe the prices are a little high considering the facility. We.arrived on Monday after the Fourth of July. My daughter and I headed to the pool on Tuesday morning. The resort was pretty quiet and we were looking forward to having slushy drinks and lunch by the pool. We were out of luck. The bar was open, but they had not restocked most items because of the Fourth and the restaurant was closed, so the only food had to be ordered through room service. We rented jet skis through the Marina and had a fabulous experience. Our condo was relatively clean and nice. A few things started popping up. The ice maker had not been turned on and it took 2 days to make ice. The Wi-fi wasn't. working, there were several burned out light bulbs, 2 tv's were not working well. The telephones stopped.working as well. While the wi-fi and phones were eventually fixed, it took 4 days. We were told we would be credited 3 days of resorts fees and an additional $50, I'm still waiting for the resort fee credit. There were other little things with the condo and while they were not critical things, it was just annoying to have to keep making phone calls. Again, we love Lake LBJ, but we will stick with the private homes.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room that has an east facing balcony. It gets too hot in afternoon and you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Shaan T,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed many of the resort's amenities including two of our Championship Robert Trent Jones, Sr. golf courses and our full-service marina on Lake LBJ. The Waters condos typically provide a relaxing and luxurious environment in which to enjoy the lake. It's apparent your experience did not model our typical standards. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you'll reconsider staying at the resort again the next time you visit Horseshoe Bay.

Best Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our over all stay was great. We were greeted by one of the most amazing young men Ricky. Ricky was so helpful upon our arrival and our departure. He made sure that my family and I were taken care of. Thank You Ricky! We stayed at The Tower the fourth floor. We were there for the Knights of Columbus convention. On Saturday, While at the swimming pool the waitress never did come around to take our order. I had to go to the bar and grill myself. My 8 year old ordered Chicken strips that he could not eat because they were badly burnt, sad to say so was my chicken sandwich. Then as time went by I finally got a waitress that was on top of the game named Alissa, Thumbs up Alissa! We missed out on the flamingos and the parrot he was never in his cage. By the way we do plan to go back! We were there from July 11-13 2014.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear juanita8717,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and that Ricky and Alissa took good care of you. We will be sure to pass on your comments to them! Our focus on providing top notch service to our guests is extremely important to us so we apologize for the lack of service you received at the pool bar - that is certainly not the norm. Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort soon.

Warmest Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For the fourth year in a row my family visited this resort on the same weekend. Improved since the separation from Marriott

Pros:
1. Personnel: greeted us with a smile, helpful in every way, from the front door to the check in, to the restaurant and bars,
2. Grounds: beautiful grounds. Take the time to stroll and visit the waterfall, the fountains and ponds. The birds are an added attraction.
3. Activities: pools, smores, checkers, running around, little lake beach, the marina. A multitude of activities await you and family.
4. Restaurant: breakfast and dinner buffet are excellent options for abundance and variety. Very affordable. Great personnel!!
5. Marina: rents boats, jet skis,equipment. Make telephone reservation ahead of your arrival.

Cons:
Nothing.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Away from elevators. Lake view. De luxe and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear MOKHouston,

Thank you for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we have to offer, including the marina activities on full-level Lake LBJ and our luscious grounds with unique wildlife. Our associates are always looking for ways to provide top-notch service to our guests so we are happy to hear your experience met your expectations.

We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort next summer...or sooner.

Warmest Regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseshoe Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Resort

Address: 200 Hi Circle North, Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657 (Formerly Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Horseshoe Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Horseshoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horseshoe Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Texas' Premier Golf and Lake Resort located 45-minutes west of Austin in the heart of the Texas Wine Region. Horseshoe Bay Resort features 385 guest rooms, three Robert Trent Jones Sr. Golf Courses, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Course, a full service marina and spa, and seven dining outlets including two on the waterfront on the shores of Lake LBJ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott Hotel Horseshoe Bay
Marriott Horseshoe Bay Hotel
Horseshoe Bay Marriott
Horseshoe Bay Resort Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.