We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Horseshoe Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Horseshoe Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horseshoe Bay Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   200 Hi Circle North, Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657 (Formerly Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Horseshoe Bay
Arlington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Going down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Have stayed at this property multiple times, last time came for Thanksgiving 2013 and planned to have fun for 5 nights, turn around and left 2 nights later. This property leaving Marriott and looks like I know why. Bad service at the bar, girls running around and not noticing customers, before offering you menu asking for the room number or membership number (new thing for this independent property) and then you need to wait and wait just to get a drink. Made reservation at Lantana grill and were not on a list upon arrival, got a room service and received steak and french fries in to go sealed containers as a result soggy and cold food, with incorrectly filled order. Made reservations for spa and massage 2 weeks before arrival for birthday and received phone call 2 hrs before that workers did not come to work and we will not be able to get massage together but one after another ( No, thanks). Rude coffee shop workers making fun of our daughter for making "too many" purchases. Anyway, it was a place for vacations for us for years, but it was our last trip, sad to see this place to go down, but at least I see why Marriott pulling out.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Cherie G.,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Horseshoe Bay Resort. As a repeat customer, I am sorry to hear that your experience was not met with the award-winning standards we strive to show to our guests, and you experienced during your previous stays at Horseshoe Bay Resort. Even though we were sold out over the Thanksgiving holiday, this is no reason for you to have had less than exceptional service. To better understand your experience, I would like to invite you to email me directly at mjeffrey@hsbresort.com so I may fully understand the breakdowns in service you experienced and correct for future stays. As a point of clarification, ownership chose to move forward as a independent property in conjunction with our future vision for the Resort. We are very excited about the new plans and new look of Horseshoe Bay Resort and hope to see you return as a repeat guest in 2014.

Best regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Horsehsoe Bay Resort
mjeffrey@hsbresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    14
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
21
22
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was an amazing getaway that left me wanting to stay longer. The staff was very courteous and the amenities were awesome. There is an area for children if you want to leave and escape to enjoy the jet-ski's or a nice spa treatment. Ask for the drink recipe book. They are delicious. This trip was one that left me wanting to come back for more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Rubi G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. I am glad to hear you were so pleased with the resort. As an award-winning resort, we strive to perfect the guest-experience. It is wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of so many of the amenities. I hope to welcome you back to the resort soon!

Kind regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Loved our stay at this hotel. We were in town for a wedding at a nearby ranch, but stayed for two nights at Horseshoe Bay. The resort fee is a bit steep when you're not going to use the amenities (no swimming in November), etc., but overall it was a great stay. The grounds are gorgeous and the rooms were clean and large. The bar and restaurant downstairs were high quality, a bit on the pricey side, but that was expected. Would love to come back and spend the weekend without a wedding itinerary.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and didn't get any kind of a view, so would likely request a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HorseshoeBayResort, General Manager at Horseshoe Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Vealaw1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Horseshoe Bay Resort. I appreciate writing your praises about several resort aspects that we do pride ourselves on: cleanliness, food and drink quality and customer service. As a resort we always try to offer the finest amenities to our guests year round. I hope to welcome you back in the future to enjoy everything we have to offer here at the resort!

Kind regards,

Mark Jeffrey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Horseshoe Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horseshoe Bay Resort

Address: 200 Hi Circle North, Horseshoe Bay, TX 78657 (Formerly Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Horseshoe Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Horseshoe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Horseshoe Bay Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Texas' Premier Golf and Lake Resort located 45-minutes west of Austin in the heart of the Texas Wine Region. Horseshoe Bay Resort features 385 guest rooms, three Robert Trent Jones Sr. Golf Courses, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Course, a full service marina and spa, and seven dining outlets including two on the waterfront on the shores of Lake LBJ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Horseshoe Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horseshoe Bay Resort Marriott Hotel Horseshoe Bay
Marriott Horseshoe Bay Hotel
Horseshoe Bay Marriott
Horseshoe Bay Resort Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horseshoe Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.