We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price gouging during bad winter weather?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Hillsboro

Motel 6 Hillsboro
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Hillsboro to your Saves list
Motel 6 Hillsboro
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1506 Hillview Drive, I-35 at S.R. 171/22, Exit #368-A, Hillsboro, TX 76645   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Hillsboro
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“price gouging during bad winter weather?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A friend's wife was traveling home with four small kids and got stranded because of the icy winter weather conditions. I got online and tried to find a hotel room in Hillsboro for them. The price listed for this Motel 6 was $399 through hotels.com. After taxes and fees, it was more than $450. This sure appears to be price-gouging by hotels.com. If so, it is VERY disappointing. I would expect better from a company with ads that portray this company as consumer-friendly. There may be more to the story, but I sure can tell you what it looks like to me at this point.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
3
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This was very unexpected for a hotel with such an inexpensive price. Our room was definitely the cleanest room i've ever had. Thanks, motel 6!! I had a great trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 via mobile

For $39.99, it was a decent place to stay. The rooms were kind of small, much like a room in a house with an attached restroom, but for just a place to stay a couple nights it wasn't bad. Its very close to all the restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

Weren't sure what to expect for the price but were pleased to find a nice, clean motel with interior entry doors. Room with two double beds is surprisingly spacious and has tv, fridge, micro and good sized bathroom. Desk + plenty of room to put clothes, bags, etc. No extra charge for a pet friendly room and, unlike a lot of places we've stayed, they offered a non-smoking pet friendly room. The mattresses are pretty bouncy but overall very nice for $55 including tax for two adults. Front desk stayed that you can get 10% off at three local restaurants by showing your room key...cannot personally confirm.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
172 hotel reviews
Reviews in 265 cities Reviews in 265 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

In may ways this is a nice enough place, but unfortunately they gave us a room facing the truck parking lot for a business next door. Very noisy all night long.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

I don't know what the other two people are talking about. This place was a DUMP! The sheets looked like they hadn't been changed and the towels were damp and covered in nasty stains, however, they were folded neatly as if they were clean. This place was TERRIBLE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

I usually won't stay in a Motel 6, but this trip was on a tight budget, so I couldn't pass up the deal. Luckily, this is probably the nicest Motel 6 in Texas.

The building and rooms seem to have been updated recently. Everything is clean and works. The front desk clerk was very nice and helpful, and she even gave us a goodie bag with snacks when we checked in! The room is small, as would be expected, but has everything you need and a really nice shower. The wireless internet is fast and there is even a business computer in the lobby, or you can rent a laptop from the front desk. Several of the local restaurants offer discounts if you show your Motel 6 key, which is a nice bonus.

Keep in mind, though, that it is a Motel 6, so there are minimal amenities, i.e. bring your own shampoo.

Oh, and it's actually not a motel. It's a hotel - doors on the inside.

I will definitely stay here if I'm ever in Hillsboro again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Hillsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Hillsboro

Address: 1506 Hillview Drive, I-35 at S.R. 171/22, Exit #368-A, Hillsboro, TX 76645
Location: United States > Texas > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Hillsboro 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel 6 Hillsboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Hillsboro
Hillsboro Motel Six
Hillsboro Motel 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Hillsboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.