We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever experienced!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Hillsboro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Hillsboro to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Hillsboro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1515 Old Brandon Rd, Hillsboro, TX 76645 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hillsboro
BRYAN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst place ever experienced!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Traveling through the area, I was reading reviews on the hotels, and came across this one. The reviews were good, and a really good price, well I should have known! I went into the room, and right away the dog smell hit me. There were spots on the sheets, white stains all around the bed, on the floor. It was filthy! Even the bathroom was dirty. I walked out, went to the desk and asked for my money back, all within 5 minutes. The young girl at the desk told me they don't do refunds. Then she tried calling someone, and told me again they do not give refunds. I told her either call the owner, or I would cancel my card, she started yelling at me! I couldn't believe what I just went through. Obviously she had experienced this before. I called my bank and canceled. Don't go here! It's nasty!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jjprime, General Manager at Econo Lodge Hillsboro, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are extremley sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel and rest assure we will take proper action in resolving your issue and to make sure this does not happen again. We strive for 110% customer satisfacton and will do our very best to make that happen. I encourage you and everyone reading this reivew not to strive away for our hotel base on this incident. Mistakes happen and we will fix it. Please look at the past reviews on our service and cleanliness. Thank you, Management..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stopped here on my way to San Antonio. Found cheaper rate online so I called hotel and they said they would honor that rate. Hotel was very nice and very clean and for the rate I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Super nice staff! They went above and beyond to meet our request. Traveling by mc with another couple, they changed our rooms so we could be on the bottom floor and side by side. Rooms were clean and very comfortable with cold ac. Standard waffle breakfast with the usual continental items. Great value in a great location along our way to San Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Friendly and courteous staff made this motel a cozy choice after a long day on the road. The room was extra clean and very quiet. Internet access was speedy. Even the other guests were friendly! Thanks, Carrie.

Room Tip: Ask for the Winter Texan side of the building. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here on the way to Austin and for the price (below $50) it exceeded our expectations for comfort ,friendliness of staff ,and easy on and off the freeway. The bed was as comfortable as any high priced hotel and the room was spotless .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

The rooms have outside doors that's is great for hauling my gear in. Had business center. Plenty of hot water for the shower. Nice people at the front desk. Easy off an on to the I-10. An a 10% discount at local eating places.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floresville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Room was clean. Saw one mosquito once but that was the only bug seen (and we checked carefully). Shower worked well with plenty of pressure but needed three towels. My wife points out that a lady needs a seperate towel for her hair after a shower. Curtains allowed too much light into the room. Air conditioner was extremely noisy. My wife is pretty sure it woke her up every time it came on. It worked well but was really loud. It was even too loud for me and I tend to be a more sound sleeper than my wife. The bed was hard and the TV was pretty archaic with a flaky remote.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Hillsboro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Hillsboro

Address: 1515 Old Brandon Rd, Hillsboro, TX 76645 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Hillsboro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Hillsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Hillsboro 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econo Lodge Hillsboro Texas near Hill College, Prime Outlets, and Lake Whitney. Located right off Interstate I-35 just 30 minutes from Waco & Baylor University, 1 hour from Dallas/Forth Worth, and DFW Airport. Hotel Features: FREE Full Breakfast w/HOT Waffle - FREE Wire/Wireless Internet - FREE Local/Long Distance Calls - FREE HBO/ESPN/Disney w/Extended Cable - Business Center - Outdoor Swimming Pool - Guest Laundry - Non-Smoking/Smoking Rooms - Handicap/Ground Floor Rooms - Pet Friendly (extra charge)- Large Truck/RV Parking - Accept Corporate Lodging - LOW Weekly Rates. All rooms have: Microwave/Fridge, Iron & Ironing board, Hair Dryer,and Alarm Clock w/ Radio. Shopping and Restaurants within walking distance. Come visit us and experience our friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Hillsboro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsboro Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Hillsboro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Hillsboro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.