We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding venue with style, history and elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stanbrook Abbey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stanbrook Abbey to your Saves list
Stanbrook Abbey
Jennet Tree Lane, Callow End WR2 4TY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Suffolk
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding venue with style, history and elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I attended a wedding albeit a small one with 20 guests, the sat nav took us straight to the venue. The location was picture perfect, the interiors are simply breathtaking. The wedding took place in the sitting room, we had the run of the abbey and was taken around it and to the bedrooms that can be hired as part of a wedding package. We had cakes and champagne, we were not hurried out but as they close the gate,they offered the groom the keyfob so guests could stay.
The only areas for improvement would be the parking which is not signposted and before the wedding, the guests were asked to wait in the kitchen but we had no other instruction. Being the last to arrive 15 minutes before the allocated time we were kept hanging around. Everyone remained standing and too fearful to move or touch anything. I would suggest that it might be an opportune time to have something for people to look at to explain the history, the venue, the opportunities and the future to encourage people to return and to talk about it.
The bride and groom had a great time as did I and my fellow guests.
I am absolutely thrilled that you are keeping a wonderful historic venue in use and protected for the future. Good luck with your plans, I do hope to visit again from Felixtowe Suffolk, especially as my neice said she would like to get married there herself one day!

Room Tip: Go and see it, the photos could not do it justice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    14
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What an amazing day at this incredible venue. When we arrived we were greated by canapes and champagne in the piano lounge before being taken on a tour of the abbey which was not only interesting to hear the history but also the very comprehensive plans for the future, which made a very nice change to the ordinary Sunday outing for lunch. The food was truly a delight, beautiful presentation and full of flavour, from the homemade bread to begin, right through to the delicate petit fours to round it off. A very memorable afternoon well spent.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs.,England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Thought we would treat ourselves to Sunday lunch having been recommended here by a friend. The building is spectacular, and although the renovations are ongoing you do not see any of this. The entrance, piano bar, cloisters and church are atmospheric and you can feel the history as you walk around. Steve the host/manager is really informative as you get the tour around and the bridal suite is really cosy and stylish.
Canapes and champagne in the old church followed by ample lunch, while the menu is currently limited the food was excellent although the lack of vegetables on the table to compliment the main course is the only negative comment. No shortage of your wine glass getting topped up though!!
Makes a change to be able to sit and eat without the usual screaming kids and dining room being treated like a playground.
Piano bar really cosy, shame we needed to get away so did not sit and spend some time there.
The Abbey is only recently opened, the owners have great plans for the place, with 40+ rooms and a spa, good luck to them.

Room Tip: If the rooms are as well finished as the bridal suite then will be amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Bill & Ben!!!!

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for Stanbrook Abbey.

I'm delighted that you found the tour informative and I hope that you will be regulary guests of ours here at the Abbey.

So I'll make sure there's plenty of extra vegetables available, if you make sure you leave enough time to sit and enjoy the open fire place in the Piano Lounge!

Thank you, again.


Steve Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

With high expectations, adverts for a gourmet lunch, and arriving at a stunning location, we felt badly let down by a very below par Sunday lunch. The food was very ordinary, tired, and frankly disppointing. The service was inadequate, naive, and lacking any understanding of a fine dining experience. Apart from the location I find it difficult to offer any positives.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

I'm sorry to read about your dissapointment at Stanbrook Abbey.

I wondered if you had the time to contact me at the Abbey with more details so that I can investigate your issues fully.


Many thanks


Steve Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went to the Stanbrook abbey for a Xmas party night. The place itself is really nice The bar was a joke They were serving bitter in cans no draught facility. Bottles of larger were ok but the price was ridiculous £4.00 for a bottle which you had to queue for a eternity. If it was a proper bar then ok but it was just a makeshift bench in a room with the all important TILL.
The dinning room was a long walk to the other side of the building , the food was ok i would not go back again as i could have had the same at witherspoons or a toby carvery for a 1/4 of the price. They had a casino night "Complete waste of time no money could be put over the tables would have suited a child's party than adults Then the disco was over the other side of the building so if some people were happy to chat after dinner & others wanted to dance the place was feeling empty. The cost of this evening was £45.00 per head NOT VALUE FOR MONEY buy a long shot. I think that when the place has been finished & they can cater & cook good quality food then it may be worth visiting, until then i dont think ill be going back nor a lot of other people i spoke to that evening.....

Room Tip: the hotel is still under construction so only 5 bed suite is available for £700.00 per night.. (i do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, General Manager at Stanbrook Abbey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Sir,

Many thanks for taking the time to review Stanbrook Abbey.

I am sorry that we failed to meet your expectations on this occassion, as you mentioned, we are a new business and the party you joined was our first opportunity to try something different at our incredible venue.

Our fun casino was never intended to operate as a fully functioning casino as we didnt want to encourage monetary gambling within the Abbey, so I again apologise if you were expecting something else.

I have shared your comments on the food with our chef and we have now tweaked the menu and the service delivery in order to truly reflect the quality offer we wish to deliver.

For your information, the £700 cost for accomodation you mentioned, is actually the cost to take exclusive use of a stunning 5, en-suite bedroom, Georgian Manor house, which at £120 per room, is great value.

We will continue to learn about our venue and develop our offer through feedback from valued guests like yourself and I would be delighted to welcome you back to Stanbrook Abbey in the very near future in order for us to have the opportunity to showcase what we can do and exceed your expectations.

Please feel free to contact me at Stanbrook Abbey should you wish to discuss your issues in more detail.

Yours

Steve Hamilton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Brides Manor house and felt like millionaires. We played croquet on the front lawn, well our version of croquet anyway and then drank cognac in front of the roaring log fire. We don't play croquet, or drink cognac, but just felt we had to!!!

The next day we had afternoon tea in the Abbey. Everything was superb, but the chefs homemade marshmallow served with rich chocolate fondue, was totally indulgent and made our day, even washed it down with a glass of fizz.

If you get the chance, try the Silver Tips white tea, apparently it's picked during a specific two hours on the mornings of just two weeks each year. A lot of effort for a cup of tea, but hey, I'm worth it.

The Church at the Abbey is absolutely stunning and as you walk around the old corridors, nooks and crannies, you get a real sense of what it must have like for the nuns.

A great experience, the friendliest of staff that seem incredibly proud to be looking after the Abbey and great food all served up with a healthy dose of tongue in cheek humour (visit the gents loo and look at the photos of the nuns!!!!).

We will be back, even if its just to get another fix of the chocolate fondue and marshmallow.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanbrook Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanbrook Abbey

Address: Jennet Tree Lane, Callow End WR2 4TY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Callow End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Callow End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled beneath the green ridge of the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire, Stanbrook Abbey is a beautifully restored former monastery. It has been sympathetically refurbished to create a stunning and striking architectural masterpiece boasting 50 luxurious bedroom suites in the main building (completed 2014) and a further five bedroom suites in Bride's Manor, a Georgian manor house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Stanbrook Abbey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanbrook Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.