We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accommodating motel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2145 FM 1488 Rd/Highway 290, Hempstead, TX 77445 (Formerly Best Hempstead Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hempstead
Port A
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very accommodating motel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed during week of Oct. 10th. Room was clean and cool A/C. Towels need updating is my only complaint. Staff was great and the rate was good too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
6
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The exterior of this hotel gave the impression of a hotel you would want to avoid at all costs. However, once inside I was greeted with a large, clean, and comfy room. After checking in to my room, the manager even stopped by to make sure everything was to my liking.

By no means was this place perfect. It has some image issues. The paint on the inside is being redone but it is splotchy and imrpoperly coated. The door to the restroom did not stay closed all the way (but I was alone in the room so it didnt matter.)

Besides image issues, this place is kind of a diamond in the rough. Great treatment by the hotel staff and a great room for dirt cheap.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisianna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Our room was quite large with a nice frige & microwave. Very clean with confortable bed &
pillows. The staff was helpful and reccomened restraunts that would give dicounts to there
guest. The mexican restrut we chose was great.
We will try more of Americas Best Value based on our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Really enjoyed this motel. Clean rooms, very nice and accomodating staff and management.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

We were attending a Student Orientation at Prairie View A&M for our daughter.
The hotel was five minutes from the University. The room was more than comfortable and the service was excellent. There is a Sonic, McDonald's, and Denny's all in walking distance from the hotel. It was great.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This hotel is not very nice at all they have bugs crawling in the beds bugs all over the floor you cant really see them because they blend in with the carpet and bedspread. SO BE CAREFUL IF YOU SLEEP HERE IT IS VERY NASTYY. Yea the rooms are cheap, but who wants to sleep with bugs?? I told some guy name Harry about it and he said he was the owner and couldn''t do anything about it. VERRY RUDE PERSON. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN AND I WOULD RECOMMEND FOR NOBODY ELSE TO EITHER.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaleish, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2011
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your experience at our property. Critical feedback is a great way for us to improve guest satisfaction. We apologize for any negative experiences you had with your guest room. We believe these corrective measures will enhance the overall experience at our hotel. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We were in Hempstead for an early Thanksgiving with friends. They did not have a hotel recommendation, so I picked based on fewest negative comments in the reviews, and it’s location. When we arrived, the desk clerk said he did not have a suite room as I reserved – I did not reserve a suite. We got what we wanted –- a regular king. They have a very loud and irritating chime on the office door, good for them I guess, that seemed to go on forever.

The room was rather stark and had a noticeable unpleasant sweet odor. It was clean however. The only chair was the desk chair. The safety instructions say to double lock the door, but there was no deadbolt mechanism. The TV remote did not work, but was fixed promptly. It was VERY noisy, no room-to-room sound proofing, well into the early morning hours. They advertised high speed internet, but there was no clue in the room and it would have disturbed my wife at the time I wanted to use it to ask for help. Couldn’t get dial-up to work.

We prefer something a little better than this and will have to come up with something different if we come back next year. I had lower expectations based on the price, but I was still disappointed. I kept telling myself that it was okay for one night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2145 FM 1488 Rd/Highway 290, Hempstead, TX 77445 (Formerly Best Hempstead Inn)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Hempstead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Hempstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.