We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alas, not longer in business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dots

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dots
1118 Austin Street, Hempstead, TX 77445
979-826-3000
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 24 Restaurants in Hempstead
Price range: $1 - $7
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast
Hempstead, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Alas, not longer in business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Dot's was a bakery/cafe/ice cream parlor. Unfortunately, it didn't make it. Spot currently occuppied by small family run TexMex spot

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dots ----- Is No Longer Open Folks !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Really WAS a fun place but unfortunately is has closed for business. And since the reviews must be 100 characters in length I'll just add that I had hoped it would be a go for downtown Hempstead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place to spend an hour at the weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Food good and well priced. Interesting place and very friendly people - both staff and cistomers

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston & Crested Butte
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A nice addition to dreary Hempstead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Found Dot's on TripAdvisor and had to check it out. It's an upbeat little place, open for breakfast and lunch. The breakfast was good, and a fine value, with cheerful service. It's nice to have a place "downtown" around the square, and I will certainly support them.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

I recently moved to Hempstead and stumbled upon Dots in historic downtown...seems like all there is around here is fried and mexican food, but Dots is the exception. I had a chicken salad wrap and it was DELICIOUS. Since my first visit I try to stop by once a week. Linda and Alice provide excellent customer service. I'm stopping by tonight for Lasagna Friday and then catching a movie right around the corner at the theater. The prices are always just right and the baked goods are fresh and delicious!

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dots also viewed

 
Hempstead, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dots, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.