We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very secluded for city folks but for country folks, not what looking for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkins
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort
1823 S Fm 2869, Hawkins, TX 75765   |  
Hotel amenities
Palo Pinto, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very secluded for city folks but for country folks, not what looking for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you live in the city, it's a great getaway. But when you live in the country or on a lake, just not what we expected. People were very gracious. Food of Saturday night at the Activity Center was good, priced okay, and the karaoke was good fun! Enjoyed the swimming pool area.

Room Tip: This is part of Silverleaf Resorts so you must own into Silverleaf before you can get a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Pros
Remote area great for R&R. The grounds are beautiful and cozy. It wasnt crowded. Barbecue pit on front porch and the kitchen was well equipt for dinner for 4. Large swimming pool. There are 2 sides of the lake. Visit both. Boat n kayak rental were 6 per hour. Great deal.

Cons
When i made the reservation i was told check in was at 3. I arrived at 3 and was told check in wasnt until 5. My room was ready at 6. Please keep in mind that check out is at 10am sharp. Upon entering the room the small welcome card stated the room wss cleaned 2 days prior.
The rooms are very dated, dirty, nasty carpet. Old school tv except in livingroom. No tv in master bedroom. The rooms appeared to be 10x10 or 11. No door to bathroom in master bedroom. Everything is wide open, no privacy. It was dusty in everyroom and the ac unit needs to be replaced. There were also several small bugs in the unit. The lake was nice but very very small...closer to pond than lake
Staff- friendly at check in but they were scarce at the activity center. The activity center was also the resturant. . It was all dated as well.

Food was below average.

For what pp pay, I expected nicer amenities. I will not return. Im new silverleaf member and it was my 1st time using bonus time. What a waste

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hawkins hotels

Parker, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The resort is on the old side of things but pretty well kept. You are really out in the country so if you want a nice quite place this might work. Had one of the older cabins 2 bd 2 bath but only one shower as bigger bath only has jetted tub. Played golf twice and it's and very good set up. Enjoyed the golf course. They do a double shotgun each day,

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

While looking for a retirement home to purchase we followed the listings and the local buzz at Holly Lake Ranch. Honestly, thought the prices on homes were far to good and it could never live up to what it looked like online. After deliberation we decided to pack a bag and check it out. We rented a wonderful duplex on the PGA golf course and every morning we were joined by deer on the patio for coffee. I'm a country girl and loved the wildlife! Gary had never seen a Cardinal and joked it would be a good omen if one showed up. We saw many along with many other wonderfully colored birds. The entire resort was spotlessly clean, the food in the restraurant was good and very inexpensive. Breakfast for two with coffee averaged $11. We watched the golfers, hit some balls at the range, went visiting to the neighboring town of Tyler and had an informative visit to the Tiger Sanctuary that we found very interesting. We took many walks around the resort and talked with numerous property owners that called it "Paradise" and we totally agreed with their conclusion! We took the time to check out local attractions and the Italian food and live music at a nearby restraurant named "Taste of Italy by the Lake" it was so relaxing we had to return again on our trip for more good eating. Yes, it can be quiet, but like most places you must be involved to have a good time. Holly Realty was a dream stop for us as they found us the perfect home to purchase. We are in escrow now and frankly....we are thrilled!!! Our retirement will be pontoon boats, golf, friends and wildlife and I think that sounds pretty terrific. I believe anyone on vacation wanting a slower pace with quiet relaxation and golf would like love this spot. But it probaby is not for those seeking the quick pace and the attractions of city resorts!

Room Tip: We booked a nice golf course duplex through Holly Realty rather than another form of housing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed in one of the new units, so perhaps that explains why we didn't have any of the issues others have reported (we were here on a timeshare exchange). Our accommodations were clean and modern, everything worked well and the staff were very welcoming and accommodating. It is very remote, relaxing location, great walks and enjoying the outdoors, but you MUST have a car. Only an hour from Dallas and Shreveport, with many interesting locations between such as Tyler and Canton. The on-site cafe closes very early, so be sure to stop for dinner or groceries before you arrive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

As others have explained, this resort is very remote. The condo was in good condition and clean. We found plenty to do in Tyler and other surrounding towns. The tiger sanctuary is a good visit and is a short drive from the resort. There is a full grocery in Hawkins which is a short 10 minute drive away. My only complaint was the lack of a computer with printer to print boarding passes for our return home. I would return again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well, this resort was not a resort! We are used to staying at much nicer places like Marriott and Sheraton resorts! We knew that this was going to be a downgrade, but we did not anticipate such a colossal crash down. The fishing was horrible, we were told it is not fishing season......huh? When is it ever not fishing season? The condos are extremely small and in need of a major facelift. The bathroom smelled like fish water and there was no television in the master bedroom. The food at the activity center is way overpriced, because they know that they are the mst convenient. The staff was overly concerned about the ages of the kids and everywhere you go, there are signs about no kids under 16 without adult supervision. Don't think they won't come and hunt you down if u leave ur 15 year old to go to the restroom, because they will. I was NOT impressed. Definitely staying away from Silverleaf from now on!

Room Tip: Condo has more space and is closer to pool and activity center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort

Address: 1823 S Fm 2869, Hawkins, TX 75765
Location: United States > Texas > Hawkins
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Hawkins
Also Known As:
Silverleaf`s Holly Lake Ranch Hotel Hawkins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Silverleaf's Holly Lake Ranch Resort to your Saves list