We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Value Place Harlingen, Texas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Value Place Harlingen, Texas to your Saves list
Value Place Harlingen, Texas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3905 South Expressway 77/83, Harlingen, TX 78550   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great Spring Deals
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Harlingen
La Plata, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Affordable Accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were at the Value Place in Harlington, TX for three weeks .. chose this type of facility so that we could prepare some of our meals in the room which had a nice full size frig, stove top, microwave -- took an electric skillet instead of using stove top. The room was a little cramped and small but since we weren't there to stay in the room except to sleep, clean up and eat at least one meal a day we managed. The facility could use some updating as the tile floors in the kitchen/bath area were dingy and the carpet was stained. You had to go to the office each day during office hours to get clean linens and they were closed on Sundays. The laundry facility was awesome .. very clean and nice washers/dryers. There were some families obviously living there and the room above us had small children that must have been bouncing off the walls several nights and early mornings. Also, the exhaust fan in the bath didn't work and after shower the room was very damp. The facility was very secure and had nice parking lot for exercising. One main draw back is that the internet is ethernet and NOT wireless therefore you are restricted to sitting at the desk and only using one laptop. For the money, it was a bargain for around $30 a day but needs some updating .. the facilty was being inspected while we were there so hopefully by the time we return some of the above mentioned items will be resolved. Jessica at the front office was most helpful prior to our arrival in making phone reservation and she did try to accomodate us with our needs.

Room Tip: For extended stay at a value price ... this facility is a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
6
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harlingen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Everytime I entered my room I was enveloped by an odor that took about an hour to get used to anything other than the room itself requires an additional payment. I paid an additional 10 dollars for high speed internet (I've never had to pay an internet charge at any other hotel.) and the internet was in no way high speed. The internet will not even be fast enough to run a simple flash game. I have an i7 processor so it's not my laptop so if your job requires you to run any type of web based programs then I wouldn't count on this helping you. Even during their business hours the front office is mostly manned by only a telephone which will connect you to a reception that may or may no be on site. They charge a 100 dollar deposit that you won't get in full unless you return a form the day before you checkout. This place is total crap there's no restaurant or even a lobby, absolutely no ammenities whatsoever, besides the two towels and 1 bar of handsoap they give you. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

I have stayed at Value Place Hotels numerous times in various cities across the nation and have never had a bad experience. I have had outstanding interaction with staff and other residents and have never experienced uncleanliness, noise, lack of security or lack of attention to detail on the part of management. All appliances have always worked perfectly and they make an extended stay much less restrictive than at a motel which only sometimes furnishes a tiny fridge and small microwave.

The Harlingen, Texas Value Place was no exception and our stay found us welcomed and attended to by the friendly and courteous staff. We found this location to be on a par with all other Value Place properties we have utilized.

We will continue to utilize Value Place properties when our stays exceed more than a day or two. The cost of one week at Value Place is the equivalent of 2-3 days at another facility.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Manager at Value Place Harlingen, Texas, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
We are so excited to hear that you've enjoyed all of Value Place experiences! No matter what brings you to Value Place, you can count on a respectful, helpful and friendly team dedicated to keeping the Value Place promise to our guests.We appreciate you staying with us and wish you well in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Very bad it nasty need new management soon

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlingen
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

room smells terrible, bad customer service, haven't refunded my damage deposit of $100 yet, its been 3 weeks now. told me it would take about 3 days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

This hotel is not worth staying as the hotel management will nickle and dime you to death. Almost everything you do is charged to your account. Why Cheapticket has this hotel on their site is beyond me.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Under new management and apparently wants to kick out its previous occupants who have stayed there and paid on time. No issue with logistics, it's the staff who are not professional and are not properly trained on dealing with its customers civilly.

Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Value Place Harlingen, Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place Harlingen, Texas

Address: 3905 South Expressway 77/83, Harlingen, TX 78550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Harlingen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Harlingen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Place Harlingen, Texas 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place is a much better place Before you decide to stay at Value Place, we want you to be prepared—prepared for a better guest experience. What that means to us is a truly affordable, incredibly clean, safer, simple, flexible experience. And this is more than just a nice idea—it’s the Value Place promise. So how do we do it? By combining all the convenience of a hotel and all the essentials of an apartment. We’re a hybrid—and that makes us better than a hotel, an apartment or any other short-term or long-term housing accommodations you’ll find. Think about it—no extras padded into our price, no hidden fees. No lease to sign, no utilities to set up. And that’s just for starters. Find out how we’re different and what to expect when you’re here. What to expect when you arrive After a brief room tour, you’ll register, pay for the week plus a refundable $100 deposit, and agree to our house rules—which basically come down to common-sense policies that protect the privacy and security of each and every guest. Value Place is a family-friendly place, and children 17 and under stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Value Place Harlingen, Texas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Harlingen Hotel Harlingen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Value Place Harlingen, Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.